We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque”
Review of Duck Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duck Cove Inn
Reviewed 20 July 2014

First I will say I stayed here forty years ago and it was fabulous. My wife and I chose to stay there this past week and I have to say it hasn't changed much. This is not five star, there is no flat screen television or even a telephone in the room but, wifi is available. If you want clean and a fabulous ambiance with a million dollar view, stay here. The meals are great and the staff more than helpful and friendly. We found staying here gave us an opportunity to travel in either direction of the Cabot Trail and enjoy every nook and cranny.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Property
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was here during a wedding in the end of June and have to say that this place is very cute and love all the little ducks & other little stuffed animals. Now I didn't stay here as a guest but I did partake in the buffet breakfast and have to say that it was very delicious food, staff were very pleasant and very quick to bring coffee & juice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sivinhfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Beautiful location..older decor but spotlessly clean...breakfast very good and service was great...a ll in all a nice quiet place with beautiful views of Margaree River ...pleasant staff who were very helpful..would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked this inn a week prior. Great location, above the highway, we had a nice balcony overlooking the bay. Room was small but functional. This Inn looked like it was designed more for hunters than families. No air conditioning in the room, which was our fault for not verifying, but disappointing anyway. Disappointed that breakfast was not included as it was good, but expensive. All in all, functional, but small, and not well designed for families. Would probably not repeat.

Room Tip: Get a balcony, as really that was the only saving grace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Older motel and lodge overlooking historic salmon river and close to many tourism attractions. Very clean and comfortable room (has been renovated) in the main lodge. Some traffic noise as the property is on the main road to Cheticamp. Restaurant overlooks the river, service there was good, breakfast adequate. Room had no air conditioner but did have a good fan...and who needs AC on the north coast of Cape Breton anyway! Our room did have a fridge, and ice was available in the office.

Room Tip: Balconies on upper level rooms of the main lodge are a plus but some stairs required to access those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guenevere W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed in the outer building where the rooms were older. View was pretty good. Got our own plastic chairs to sit on. Breakfast was not complimentary but there was a restaurant on site. Decent food; poorer service. Owner, Gordon, was quiet but helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had an upstairs room in the main building, adjoining the office and restaurant, and I am sure these must be the best rooms to have - they have balconies with a beautiful view over the river. The room was clean and appeared to have been quite newly decorated although the furniture was old and the beds creaked every time you moved. No fridge or ice machine. We slept with the balcony door open and there was very little noise from the road outside throughout most of the night (although there were some noisy neighbours talking loudly at 1.30am). There was wi-fi but it only worked intermittently in our room, almost the furthest from the office. Had a good meal in the restaurant, but had to be seated by 6.45pm. Nice sandy beach nearby - enjoyed a swim there in the afternoon - near the village grocery store.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaree Harbour
6.8 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salmon Pool Inn
Salmon Pool Inn
#1 of 5 in Margaree Harbour
13 reviews
16.7 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#2 of 7 in Cheticamp
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
0.2 mi away
Margaree Harbour View Inn
Margaree Harbour View Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
17 reviews
31.5 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Cove Inn

Address: 10289 Cabot Trail, Margaree Harbour, Nova Scotia B0E 2B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Harbour
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaree Harbour
Price Range: £76 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duck Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Duck Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duck Cove Inn Margaree Harbour, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing