We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Ackroyd House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ackroyd House
Ranked #2 of 3 Thurstonland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Excellent facilities, set in wonderful countryside, with panoramic views. Warm and friendly hosts, nothing too much trouble, and very good breakfasts, all adding up to a wonderful end to our holiday. A very good base to explore both The Peak District and Yorkshire. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Location - wonderful views, beautiful garden

Rooms - Large room, relaxing neutral decor, beautiful wooden furniture, sitting room area, bathroom small but large shower. All extras provided including cotton wool, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel razor etc. Tea, coffee etc. No biscuits though - shame, but there were mints, bottles of water and a sherry decanter.

Breakfast - enormous selection of lovely food.

Beautiful place and whilst very welcoming for children, maybe not ideal for young children as lots of breakable things especially on breakfast table. However they did provide plastic cups and bowls. Travel cot and blankets provided but no high chair. Recommend visiting for a peaceful break away from children.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuji12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed as a couple at the Ackroyd House and we were very impressed with the location and hospitality. The house is at the top of a very steep hill with fabulous views all around the house. The location is very handy to explore both Yorkshire and the Peak District. The house is ideal as it has two purpose built luxury rooms one above the other. The bed is so comfortable and has two leather chairs in the room to sit in and look out at the surrounding countryside. The breakfast is without doubt one of the best we have had. Cooked fresh so takes a bit longer but worth the wait. Jayne is very friendly and happy to chat when you come and go. A local pub the Rose and Crown within walking distance is great with superb food and real ale. Wednesday night quiz night and made to feel very welcome. This place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two rooms both exactly the same but the Valley Room is upstairs and has a better view. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have stayed at Ackroyd House a few times now. We have a seven year old who is warmly welcomed. The views are amazing, the rooms are lovely and the breakfasts are excellent. Jayne and Andrew are both very friendly and welcoming. It is a really lovely place to stay and in terms of value for money, it's a bit like staying in a really nice hotel but for a third/half the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JILL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and cannot speak highly enough of this place. Located in a stunning setting with 360 degree views, the accommodation is excellent with some of the best breakfasts we have experienced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Just got back from our visit to Ackroyd House - Couldn't recommend it more! STUNNING location - views from the excellent room were phenomenal - very friendly - beautiful breakfast - very peaceful and relaxing!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at Ackroyd House recently and found it to be the best B & B that we have ever stayed in. We booked the 'Valley View' room - an absolutely beautiful view of the valley and beyond and then had an additional night in the 'Stable' room which also had a lovely view of the garden and surrounds. Both rooms were first class with all necessary facilities. The breakfast menu was amazing - such a variety was available. Fresh local produce, Andrew's home made bread and Jayne's cooking were unbeatable. We sincerely recommend Ackroyd House to anyone looking for friendly perfection. Ackroyd House is absolutely first class in accommodation, location and hospitality.

Room Tip: Both rooms excellent but 'Valley View' room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurstonland
1.8 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
839 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
5.1 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 3 in Thurstonland
156 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
227 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackroyd House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackroyd House

Address: 13 Top of the Bank, Thurstonland HD4 6XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Thurstonland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thurstonland
Price Range: £78 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ackroyd House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ackroyd House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing