We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home - without the hassle !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ackroyd House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ackroyd House
Ranked #2 of 3 Thurstonland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks., UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from home - without the hassle !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Top o' the Bank and Top o' our list - by a mile. A one-off weekend for a birthday celebration but one which we will repeat even without an 'excuse'. Jayne and Andrew have done the most incredible job of transforming their beautiful home into one which they can share with others. As has been so aptly put before us : "It’s all been said by reading other guests comments. We’ve been thoroughly spoilt." We left feeling as house-guests, not paying guests, as the impression is as far from being the customer of a business as it is possible to get. Truly home from home - except that the views are miles better, the breakfast is better, the beds are as comfortable, the rooms are bigger, the furnishings are stunning - and even the dog is a treasure ! These two lovely people are truly deserving of the accolades they have received - may they continue to make this little corner of Yorkshire truly representative of its reputation for many years to come. A heartfelt thank-you for breaking the monotony of hotel mediocrity staffed in the main by people who couldn't care less. Truly a breath of fresh (Yorkshire) air. M & M.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motorwaymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
102
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

This must be the best place to stay in Yorkshire. The service is 5 star and both Andrew and Jayne could not do enough to make our stay memorable. Such attention to detail and comfort and the sincerity of a lovely couple made our stay so enjoyable. (not forgetting Snoops - for our daily exercise). We were thoroughly spoilt and will certainly be back.

Margaret and Mark
Norfolk

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The house is magnificent, the room is outstanding in every way, the views are second to none, the breakfast is to die for and top that with the most welcoming owners you will ever come across and there my friends, you have Ackroyd House. An experience not to be missed, Why on earth would you stay anywhere else? Trina and Steve, Norfolk.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, both magnificent. Upstairs has the must see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

If you want a great breakfast, and a wonderful garden to relax in then pick Ackroyd House. We stayed in the Valley View Suite which was a lovely room to relax in. We found the accommodation a really serene place to stay. We were going on to a wedding but we could have easily have stayed another day here to unwind. You may think it is hard to find but just keep going up the very top of the road until you can go no further then you reach it. Andrew and Jayne were very accommodating and helpful during our time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Excellent facilities, set in wonderful countryside, with panoramic views. Warm and friendly hosts, nothing too much trouble, and very good breakfasts, all adding up to a wonderful end to our holiday. A very good base to explore both The Peak District and Yorkshire. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Location - wonderful views, beautiful garden

Rooms - Large room, relaxing neutral decor, beautiful wooden furniture, sitting room area, bathroom small but large shower. All extras provided including cotton wool, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel razor etc. Tea, coffee etc. No biscuits though - shame, but there were mints, bottles of water and a sherry decanter.

Breakfast - enormous selection of lovely food.

Beautiful place and whilst very welcoming for children, maybe not ideal for young children as lots of breakable things especially on breakfast table. However they did provide plastic cups and bowls. Travel cot and blankets provided but no high chair. Recommend visiting for a peaceful break away from children.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuji12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed as a couple at the Ackroyd House and we were very impressed with the location and hospitality. The house is at the top of a very steep hill with fabulous views all around the house. The location is very handy to explore both Yorkshire and the Peak District. The house is ideal as it has two purpose built luxury rooms one above the other. The bed is so comfortable and has two leather chairs in the room to sit in and look out at the surrounding countryside. The breakfast is without doubt one of the best we have had. Cooked fresh so takes a bit longer but worth the wait. Jayne is very friendly and happy to chat when you come and go. A local pub the Rose and Crown within walking distance is great with superb food and real ale. Wednesday night quiz night and made to feel very welcome. This place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two rooms both exactly the same but the Valley Room is upstairs and has a better view. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurstonland
1.8 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 3 in Thurstonland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
2.0 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#2 of 25 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackroyd House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackroyd House

Property: Ackroyd House
Address: 13 Top of the Bank, Thurstonland HD4 6XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Thurstonland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thurstonland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ackroyd House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ackroyd House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing