We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ackroyd House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ackroyd House
Ranked #1 of 3 Thurstonland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed 1 night at Ackroyd House on new years eve.
We were greeted by the owner on arrival and helped with carrying luggage upstairs. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated, clean and with good views over countryside. Free hot drinks, port and bottles of water available. Comfortable bed and hot powerful shower. Good quality breakfast and very friendly owners who gave my partner a lift into Holmfirth where we had left our car after attending new years eve party the night before.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
102
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ackroyd House recently for one night. We have had bad experiences before in the past with B and B's, however on this occasion and I am glad to inform that this is not the case. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were looked after with the utmost care, respect and attention. Ackroyd House has been built to a spec that surpasses any other Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed in. The views spectacular, the rooms immaculate and luxurious, the breakfast worth the money alone, and knowing that we were supporting local farms with their produce made all the more delicious. Jane and Andrew could not have done more for us to ensure our stay was perfect. Their attention to detail and friendly, warm manner made us feel like part of the family. In fact even in the short stay we were there and without ever feeling encroached upon we were both sad to leave and are ready to return as soon as possible. Aside of all of this, it is a perfect area to visit, walk, sightsee and eat well. We are fortunate that we have many wonderful memories of travelling staying in some spectacular resorts and hotels under our belt and this trip will firmly rate in one of our most memorable. Thank you Jane and Andrew for your hospitality and kindness, your very friendly dog and your beautiful chickens for giving us our fresh eggs in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This B&B is the best we have stayed in.The area is stunning with fantastic views, local to Holme firth .The room was large and very clean and warm.all the little extras made it a holiday to remember.The breakfast was a typical Yorkshire one, difficult to choose what to eat as you have so much choice, all well cooked to order. Jayne made us welcome and nothing was to much trouble.I have mobility issues but the room is designed to accomadate them and I managed very well.I would recomend a stay at Ackroyd hosue to anyone who wants the visit the area

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We really needed a relaxing break and Ackroyd House was most defiantly the perfect choice! Wow, what a stunning building steeped in history, beautiful grounds and the most mesmerising views to boot. The room was gorgeous and professionally clean; with everything you could ever need from hot water bottles and slippers to delicious sherry, which went down a treat after a long countryside walk! The bed was super comfy and we had the best undisturbed nights sleep and woke up to amazing views from our large arch window. The breakfast was to die for and catered for our every need; to be honest it filled me up for the rest of the day it was that good! Finally I have never ever felt so welcome and received such a friendly and professional service; we felt like we were with old friends chatting at the breakfast table with the owners, who then took us outside and showed us around the gardens and let us take the lovely and well behaved dog out for a small walk. This was then followed by an extra cup of coffee with the owner to warm us up for our journey home...so sweet. We would highly recommend this fine establishment and we will be returning!!! Thank you Ackroyd House :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Beautifully located on the doorstep of Huddersfield but still a stones throw away, this was my second stay here and it will not be my last! Andrew and Jayne are very accommodating and will stop at nothing to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeywainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We recently stayed at Ackroyd House to celebrate my mum's 50th birthday. Andrew & Jayne, the owners of this fine establishment, were the perfect host. We booked both their rooms - the Stable Suite (for myself & three brothers) and the Valley View room for my mum. The Valley View room is perfect its namesake - viewing the valley. The huge arched window gave a breathtaking view out to the world outside. The Stable Suite was big enough to accommodate all four of us, along with a sitting area too. We paid a little extra and Jayne provided my mum with cake, champagne, flowers, birthday balloon & chocolates. A great touch & very well presented!

In the morning Andrew & Jayne provided an excellent breakfast with a huge menu of choices. All food locally sourced either from their own chickens on the land, or from local farms. The food was cooked perfectly.

Andrew & Jayne have a lovely little cat & dog that are both very friendly and enjoy playing around in the garden.

Couldn't ask for much more. An excellent family-run b&b. Definitely would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Rozanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Fantastic experience! Our room was huge and beautifully decorated, more like a combination bedroom plus living room. There were so many extra touches we kept discovering. This was undoubtedly the nicest B&B we stayed in during our four week vacation. We highly recommend it and would choose it anytime we were in "Last of the Summer Wine" country.
(Two fans from the USA)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurstonland
1.8 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#2 of 3 in Thurstonland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
2.0 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackroyd House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackroyd House

Property: Ackroyd House
Address: 13 Top of the Bank, Thurstonland HD4 6XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Thurstonland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thurstonland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ackroyd House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ackroyd House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing