We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”
Review of The Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #1 of 3 Thurstonland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed as we were at a wedding at Denby Dale. Staff couldn't do enough for us, patrons also very friendly. There was a beer festival on the night of our stay and we were called in the week to let us know in case the lie band would disturb us. Breakfast fabulous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    32
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
84
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a proper English pub with the friendliest of northern welcomes - We were instantly made to feel at home in a comfy room and had to sample one of the many cask ales before going out. The village is surrounded by stunning countryside and the views from all approaches take your breath away. We were visiting family in nearby Kirkburton and will definitely be booking again for our next visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you have time to try the beer & food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denman, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Thanks to the staff of the Rose and Crown for a wonderful stay
Richard and his staff made us feel at home and really welcome
Susan cooked the best breakfast any one could wish for-- even her poached eggs were to die for
Recommend any one to pay a visit or to stay. Rooms comfy and real cosy -- price was right as well
The only downside was that we were not able to stay longer -- will definitely be back

2 very happy Aussies

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Rose and Crown. It's an ideal base for touring around this area of Yorkshire and very well supported by the local community which was great to see. There is something going on just about every night to keep locals and guests entertained. Our room was clean and comfortable overlooking the front of the pub with ample tea/coffee and fresh fluffy towels every day. We ate here every night, the food is all freshly cooked to order with killer portions! All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful as were the locals who were all very welcoming including guests in their conversations and offering you a bite of any bar snacks they've ordered. The Full English Breakfast every morning was cooked by Sue and whatever you asked of her was of no trouble at all. If we are ever in the area again we will most certainly return. We'd like to thank Richard and his brilliant team for making our wee break away a relaxing and enjoyable one even though we did get thumped in the pub quiz!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishBt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Ate in the pub whilst staying locally. Very good pub food, cooked to order with large and filling portions. The chips are to die for. Very friendly atmosphere and obviously from the chatter that was going on well used by the local people which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton/Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great little B&B clean and tidy. Friendly staff and tasty breakfast. Had a slight problem with the fact we were looking to arrive back after 12pm as we had been to a wedding reception and we were told they closed 12pm and could not be back any later. We advised we would be back between 12pm and 1230pm the barmaid tried to check with the boss but could not get hold of him on the phone. Kindly she said it should be OK but we were a little nervous about getting back - we got back at 12:120 and the pub appeared to still have customers sat at the bar phew! Paid £45.00 for 1 night via uk.bookings.com. one negative - would have to be the curtains were white and not lined so was awake from pretty much run-rise and it it noisy / creaky being an old pub I guess thats expected

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily_lu2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We discovered the Rose and Crown by chance last autumn when we pulled in for a quick drink, and thought it was the kind of place we'd like to stay sometime.
It's a lovely old pub, full of character, set in a friendly village with some amazing views and good walking countryside.
Our room was clean and comfortable, overlooking the front of the pub. The staff at the Rose are very welcoming - as are the locals in the bar! - and the quality of the food is excellent. (My mouth is watering again at the thought of it!) There was a wide choice of real ales, all very well kept.
Our breakfast was equally good, and served by a lovely lady, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Thank you. We can't wait for an opportunity to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fledge46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurstonland
6.3 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
450 reviews
2.0 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
773 reviews
3.8 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
726 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#2 of 25 in Huddersfield
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ackroyd House
Ackroyd House
#2 of 3 in Thurstonland
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Property: The Rose and Crown
Address: 3 The Village, Thurstonland HD4 6XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Thurstonland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thurstonland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing