We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff”
Review of The Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #1 of 3 Thurstonland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent one night here as a stopover between Cheshire and Yorkshire. We arrived about 7pm on Sunday night and shown our room by a very pleasant member of the bar staff. We were feeling very tired after a long day and were crestfallen to discover that the food service had finished at 6pm. We asked for a reccomendation of where to go at which the young lady said "I'll ask Richard, he may be able to make you a sandwich." The reply came back very promptly that he could make us either fish and chips or scampi and chips. This very kind offer was gratefully taken up and we had a delicious supper. We were so impressed that Richard was prepared to go to that trouble for us.
The pub itself has a friendly atmosphere and most of the customers were locals. The room was very quiet and although a little worn it was clean. The carpet could do with a shampoo and the bath sealant would benefit from some attention, but I am being a bit picky. I also had not noticed that there was a hairdryer in the corridor until we were leaving, as there was none in the room I did not wash my hair, but would have liked to.
Breakfast was well cooked, plentidul and served with a smile, the coffee was only instant as the machine was not working. This was excellent value for money and I would be more than happy to return and reccomend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    32
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
83
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Called into the Rose & Crown for lunch after reading a review published in a local magazine. This place is a little off the beaten track so it’s not really somewhere you’ll stumble across it’s more a place you’ve got to look for…
We arrived early so the place was quiet. It’s a typical English country pub with window boxes and hanging baskets galore. As you’d imagine the bar was well stocked and offered a large selection of cask beers, wines and spirits. The food was the typical selection of “pub grub” offering more or less something for everyone but quality and quantity were definitely above average. The only negative was cold plates… not a big deal but warm plates are always better with hot food.
The Rose & Crown also offer an over 60’s special from noon to 3:00 p.m. that includes a pint of any cask beer or medium house wine plus a main meal from the menu at a much reduced price so, if you qualify, keep an eye out for that.

Room Tip: Look for the specials boards dotted around the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, Wirral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hubbie and I just spent 2 nights here at the Rose and Crown. As others have said the staff really are lovely, very helpful and friendly. The meals we had were very tasty and very filling. Sue cooks a fab breakfast. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The best view we have had for years is the cows going past the pub for milking. They were so quiet and well behaved. How nice to be next door to a working farm. What an enjoyable break in a good location. Easy access to touristy places like Last of the summer wine etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaVyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have just had a wedding reception at the Rose and Crown after getting married at the cute little church around the corner. Nothing was too much trouble, the decorations, food and band were excellent. The pub easily managed the 80 plus wedding party. The staff were organised, friendly and efficient. A group of us stayed in the rooms after the wedding and the rooms were spacious and contemporary. Breakfast was home made and served with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
538 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent a night at The Rose and Crown while visiting the Peaks and some Yorkshire villages. It is a lovely pub with a friendly staff, great food, and comfortable rooms.

We arrived nearly an hour early but were still shown to our room right away, and were allowed to settle in without any further adieu. The room was comfortable, with a large soft bed and basic but functional furniture. The bathroom was large and had a really good shower and a tub. The tub was a little difficult to use as the tabs were beyond the shower screen, but as a whole the arrangement was okay.

The quality of sleep was good with nice pillows, and as noted already, a soft bed. The sheets, towels and surroundings were all clean and fresh smelling.

Coffee, tea and biscuits were provided in the room, and a small television was also at hand.

The noise level from the pub below was not bad, and the room had a very private feel.

They were preparing for a wedding reception during our stay so there was some buzz in the main pub area, with a marquee set up in the car park, and some deliveries coming in, but this didn't detract from the stay, or the "local" atmosphere.

Where The Rose and Crown really excelled was the food. I had fish and chips for the evening meal. The chips were hand cut and chunky and mushy peas which were homemade. The fish portion and the peas were both huge servings. My partner had a steak baguette with caramelised onions served with the same chunky chips. Both meals were very good. The breakfast the next morning was large, well cooked and filling.

This was a really super stay, and for a three room pub accomodation truly outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padreray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Ate in the pub after arriving on Friday at a local B&B (Ackroyd House) and Saturday after walking a route bought for 20p from the pub! Both days the food & the staff were great. The food was cooked to order, with large portions served by friendly staff. Will be back on our next visit for refreshment after another walk!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andybx55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed mid week and it felt like I had intruded on a locals night. The room was also on the chilly side too with no heating but then it was July!! Service improved later on when the bar was quieter. Food was fine, beer good. The breakfast service was much friendlier but choice was limited and the coffee tasted like instant. Shame because I normally enjoy staying in country pubs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurstonland
3.8 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.0 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#2 of 25 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ackroyd House
Ackroyd House
#2 of 3 in Thurstonland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Property: The Rose and Crown
Address: 3 The Village, Thurstonland HD4 6XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Thurstonland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thurstonland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing