We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
April Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quathiaski Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“I love this resort!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I’m in my late 20s and took my bf there for his 40th bday as a surprise. We both fell in love with this resort. It was relaxing, beautiful and serene. It really felt like we “got away from the city”. We rented bikes kayaks, and went for a hike and hung out at the Farmer’s Market and Rebecca’s Spit (beach). We were really impressed with the quality of the food. The price of the food was above average, but affordable considering we were at a resort. It was about $24/entree. We had a good deal on our room - $129/night for a room with two queens + fridge (no sofa). This price included a $15 voucher for breakfast off their menu and 2 free 2 hour kayak or bike rentals. Our room was rustic, but still very clean, and we had a beautiful ocean view.
The service was good. The staff was friendly, attentive, and very hospitable. I would recommend coming back to April Point. I absolutely love Quadra Island and this resort really helped!

Room Tip: April Point has a lot of options. If you're on a budget, call and ask what options are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelOHara, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Belle24,

Thanks for sharing your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore our beautiful island. Hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Michael O'Hara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    160
    58
    23
    9
See reviews for
125
216
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We loved our room. a beautiful little cottage facing the water. nice sitting areas outside. the food in the restaurant was pretty good.
Most of the staff was very friendly and good. but we did have issues. there were loose links in the chain that made our stay less enjoyable.
apon arrival we were informed that our activity plans were changed. we were told, not asked, that they were already rearranged. when we told them that that would not work we were given the choice to take the activity they rescheduled us in, or we could come back another time. we felt we had no choice but to take the rescheduled activity. the next day, we realized that we really could not take the rescheduled activity later in the day, and told them we wanted to take it at a future date. we were then guilted about changing plans, and told that we were lucky they would still take only four people out, because if our not going jepodized the other people's trip then we would loose our credit for the trip. very unprofessional handling or a situation.

Room Tip: cottages over the green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carnivorissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelOHara, Executive Vice President and Chief Operations Officer at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Carnivorissa,

Thanks for your feedback about your experience at April Point Resort & Spa. I’m very sorry that your excursion was rescheduled. I have spoken with a number of April Point managers, including the person you were dealing with while at the resort, about the change that was made. Unfortunately we were under the impression that you had consented to the time change. Our mistake. Ironically, it would have been just as easy to move other guests to the time you had originally scheduled. We had hoped the offer to dog-sit for your small dog while you were out on the excursion would free you up at the alternate time. It’s not an uncommon for us to offer this service for people, but of course we absolutely respect your preference to not have a stranger look after your pet.

We do pride ourselves on our “Yes I Can” service, so it’s a little disappointing to hear that your impression of our service is so poor. My offer to get you up on a future date to enjoy your excursion still stands. I would enjoy the opportunity to speak directly with you in the future. If you like you can contact me at our offices in Victoria (1-800-663-7090.)

Lanny Sawchuk
Executive Vice President and Chief Operations Officer
Oak Bay Marine Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I've reviewed this place before and been ambivalent, especially about the food service, but last week, the whole experience was fantastic - great room, attentive and service oriented staff and most surprising, very good food, nicely presented and reasonably priced.
The location is outstanding and the breakfasts were amazing. We never sampled lunch because the breakfasts carried us through the day. One night we ate on the deck and the next evening we ordered take-out and sat on the lawn in front of our unit watching tug boats and a cruise ship go by. This was followed by the sun setting over the Beaufort range on Vancouver Island. A perfect end to a great day exploring Quadra Island and kayaking in Gowland Harbour, behind the resort.
The website asks you to book through their head office in Victoria but we got much better service and information by booking directly with the resort. Ask for Tabitha who will line you up with the best available accommodation to meet your needs.

Room Tip: If this is a romantic getaway, ask for cabin 23 - fabulous! If not, any of the duplexes along the Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear dmac08,

Thanks for taking the time to write. I'm happy that your most recent stay was 'better than ever' as you mentioned. We can't wait to welcome you once again some day!

Best regards,

Michael O'Hara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

April Point Resort and Lodge is affiliated with Painter's Lodge just north of Campbell River. A handy water taxi shuttles throughout the day across Discovery Passage between the two properties. The area abounds with wildlife and tours are provided from the lodge for anyone who wishes to see orcas, eagles, bears, seals, and even humpback whales. The lodge setting is serene and beautiful, and the restaurant serves quality cuisine with great views of the water from every table.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Dave A,

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Take care,

Michael O'Hara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galiano Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We were on a serendipity type trip with no particular plans. It was off season so we didn't expect anywhere to be full. Painters' Lodge was a possible destination, but they didn't have pet friendly rooms. No matter, the helpful people at the desk told us to take the complimentary water taxi across to April Point and they will have a room for you. We parked at Painters Lodge and took the water taxi. It was a lovely ride. Got a room at April Point. It was a little old and rickety, but that was part of the charm. It was clean and comfortable with a stunning view. We had a lunch at the on site restaurant, and it was okay but not memorable. We took the water taxi over to the mainland for dinner. As we had our car there, we were able to go anywhere in the area. We weren't there to fish or kyak, but we found plenty of nice walks to entertain us and our dog. It was a very nice experience and we'll go back again one day

Room Tip: The pretty private cottages are the nicest rooms but also the most expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelOHara, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear ZLI,

Thanks for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to write.

I'm so happy that our sister resort, Painter's Lodge, sent you our way when their pet friendly rooms were not available. It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage of the free parking and then enjoyed the complimentary water taxi over to April Point. The dock-to-dock boat trip is a fun little escapade! All of our rooms have a view of the ocean and I'm glad you were struck by this view as well. Hopefully you were able to enjoy it while having lunch too.

We look forward to welcoming you again one day.

All the best,
Michael O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbell river
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Been there many times. Nice to just go over on the water taxi have a few drinks or supper. Room are quite nice as well , nice and clean

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davelori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelOHara, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear davelori,

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoy our resort and take advantage of the complimentary water shuttle from Painter's Lodge when you visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Michael O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My sister-in-law and I attended a three day yoga retreat at the resort.A 5-10 minute boat ride from Painters Lodge. The atmosphere at April Point was calming in itself. The view from our balcony was over the marina where the shuttle boat runs back and forth to Painters Lodge. There were eagles soaring overhead and we realized one of the staff was throwing fish up in the air and the eagles would swoop down to fish them out of the bay. The show went on until several viewers all had enough film footage, a good 20 minutes with up to six eagles competing for the prize. The yoga instruction, content and delivery was excellent. The group was 20 women and the room size was just right. There were a couple of times when the noise from the restaurant was a bit distracting. The food in the restaurant was good, the service inconsistent, some good and some slow. The servers were generally enthusiastic though. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. Patrons were welcome to use the swimming pool and restaurant at Painters Lodge. The highlight was a trip to the Spa for a Carribean massage. The service, product, staff, procedure and even the weather on the deck afterward was above excellent. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: This resort is only open from May 3rd to Sept 16th. the harbourside rooms, cabins would be my first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelOHara, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear heatherbike,

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Yoga Retreat! Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experiences with other readers. We are proud of our location and crew, and are always striving to improve our guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you again for a future trip.

Michael O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quathiaski Cove
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
356 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
94 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#1 of 9 in Quadra Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to April Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about April Point Resort & Spa

Property: April Point Resort & Spa
Address: 900 April Point Rd, Quathiaski Cove, British Columbia V0P 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island > Quathiaski Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quathiaski Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — April Point Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront getaways, perfect for romantic weekends, family vacations, girlfriend getaways and more. Packages and specials available. Located on Quadra Island, a short ride from Campbell River on Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your April Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
April Point Resort And Spa
April Point Hotel Quathiaski Cove
April Point Resort & Spa Canada/Quadra Island - Quathiaski Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing