We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
April Point Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Whiskey Point Resort(Quathiaski Cove)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harbourside Inn(Campbell River)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Discovery Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town Centre Inn(Campbell River)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Painter's Lodge(Campbell River)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Above Tide Motel(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage River Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Suites(Campbell River)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
199
171
67
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
171
67
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspainters lodgewater taxifishcampbell riverdining roomquadra islandpotatoesget awaydiscovery passageelectric bikesbeautiful locationamazing viewsocean viewsea lionswonderful placeworld classboat ride
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We attended a wedding here this summer. The location is spectacular but they have big problems. We made a reservation for dinner and waited over 2 hours for our food which was good but the presentation was mediocre, not resort fare. The tension among the staff was evident and the service was poor.The linens in the room reeked of fabric softener, using a towel was like using a bounce dryer sheet. The next morning when the staff were cleaning the rooms, you could not even smell the fresh ocean air because of the smell of fabric softener/laundry. We ordered the April Point Breakfast Sandwich for breakfast which comes with hash browns and fruit. After waiting for 45 minutes while listening to the kitchen staff have a big fight, our sandwich had raw egg oozing out of the bottom, unseasoned potatoes and no fruit. Our breakfast cost $45 as we were so disgusted with the service and the stink of laundry in the air we just paid the bill and left. It is too bad, this is a beautiful location but I do not recommend this place at all, the type of service would not be acceptable in a budget location let alone a place calling itself a resort and spa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mother_snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

I’m sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your feedback an have addressed your issues with my staff to assure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent an overnight here on July 21/13 & you would think it would be full but the place was nearly deserted for overnight guests. There was quite a bit of activity with people coming & going by water taxi to Painters' Lodge & also the kayak rentals were popular but overall it was VERY quiet for mid summer. The dining room has a spectacular location however they were out of a few things (oatmeal? Who is ever out of oatmeal?) which seemed to indicate they are not re stocking. The spa was lovely. in fact, the whole place is lovely but it had the feel of "going out of business"!

Room Tip: All rooms have water views
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay at April Point. We try to create a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere and I’m happy everything was to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

For a high end resort ,the meal was a disappointment. The restaurant is nicely situated on the waterfront facing Campbell River. The waitress was very courteous but forgot to tell us about the special. The special was lamb with vegetables and roasted potatoes. It was tender but almost 50% fat, so a little pricey at $34 for what you got. I had salmon which was way overdone with a couple of bok choy and mushrooms and no rice or potato. I sent it back and the next one was cooked properly, however pricey ($30) for a piece of salmon and Chinese vegetables. This was a Sunday night and only a handful of tables so it wasn't busy, maybe for a good reason. The waitress did apologize for the problems and reduced the bill. The manager never even showed his or her face, sort of says it all.
All in all, very disappointing and I would not recommend this restaurant.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skyrider705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

I’m sorry your meal wasn’t satisfactory. We are in the process of making some changes in our kitchen and I promise that your next meal with us will be worth the trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We planned a lovely little get away and booked two nights here with the B&B special which included breakfast each morning. This resort used to be world class accommodation and food, however, there isn't much love put into this place as it used to be. The owner died and OBMG took it over and should maybe stay here for a few nights undercover to feel how this place should bring itself ack up to where it used to be. Avoid the restaurant for sure. The food is horrible and served cold. wait staff are always new and it seems like nobody is training them. The rooms are in neglect. There are definitely signs of previous water damage as the drywall is coming apart from the ceilings. No microwaves in any units. Old tv,s poor wireless, the only sink is the one in the bathroom however there is a small coffee pot that you have to go fill up in the bathroom sink. We went on the sunset cruise which is advertised as a wine tasting and cheese. It was a booze cruise for 2.5 hrs. Toured and saw some sea lions and a cliff the rest of the tour was our boozy guide pointing out rich people's houses and the platters of cheese were only unwrapped when we docked back at the resort. Lots of wine, disappointing to say the least.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank payge2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

A vacation should be something special, so it truly upsets me to hear about your stay with us. I’m so sorry you did not enjoy your time here and I take full responsibility for your disappointment. I’m working overtime addressing the issues that have brought up and I promise that this resort will be up to your standards before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was the second time we stayed at April Point - the first time was about five years ago, and we stayed then in one of the little cabins along the waterfront. This time we stayed in the hotel itself. It's definitely no inexpensive - nearly $200/night, and it falls in the category of "just okay". The place needs some sprucing up in general - the coffee table in our room was full of scratches, the TV was ancient, the windows were really dirty, and the door looked like someone had tried to kick it in at some point. The interior of the room was certainly clean, the beds were fine, lots of towels in the really small bathroom. Generally, if it was $50 to $80 less per night, it would have been perfectly fine.

Dining room - likewise. The dinner menu was also quite pricey, but wouldn't have been out of the norm if the food was "fabulous". The food was, like the room, okay.

We had to ask for housekeeping service on our second day - we were missed because
"Fridays and Saturdays are busy".

Basically, the place is either over-priced for what they're delivering, or under-delivering for what they charge. We would go back on the foot ferry for lunch on the patio some sunny afternoon, but we won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WileyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews