We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort Unforgettable but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
April Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quathiaski Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Resort Unforgettable but......”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My fiancée and I checked in June 29 and checked out July 2.

Firstly, the resort is located on Quadra Island just a short ferry ride from Campbell River. We met friends so there was 8 of us. Check in went very smoothly and the staff was exceptionally helpful and very welcoming. Our rooms were very clean and the view from our deck was spectacular!

The first evening all 8 of us met in the dining room for dinner. How disappointing! many different dishes ordered with appetizers. Everyone agreed the food on top of being a little pricey was totally bland and very forgettable. Not one person has happy with their meal. Be sure to avoid the dining room for dinner! We found a fabulous restaurant just a 10 minute drive away. At Herriot Bay there is a very quaint pub and dining room. All eight of us ordered different meals and appetizers and were so please to find the food bursting with flavor! Price comparable (maybe a little less) to April Springs but taste was out of this world. Breakfasts and lunches at April Springs were just ok.

Our bed was not so comfortable, old, lumpy and squeaky. Time for a new one!

The resort staff to a person was amazing, Always with a smile and would go out of their way to help.

This resort is a gem! Would have rates a 5 id the dining room was better.

Would definitely return but have dinner at Herriot Bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyGuy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay at April Point Resort & Spa. It sounds like the service, the room and the view was all to your liking, which is excellent. I hope you also got a chance to try the many activities we have to offer as well, including fishing, wildlife tours and kayak rentals.

I do apologize for your experience in the dining room. We strive for very a very high quality of food, both in presentation and taste, and I’m disappointed to hear those standards weren’t met. I will be speaking with my chef and sampling the food myself to ensure our dishes maintain the high standards I set for them.

Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Christine Fleming
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    150
    49
    16
    4
See reviews for
107
193
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our group of eight people spent an amazing four days at April Point. The location and resort were spectacular. We stayed in an ocean front suite that was exceptionally clean and spacious and provided us with a beautiful large deck overlooking the ocean. Everyone in our group was extremely pleased with the resort and especially appreciated the friendly, very helpful staff that worked on the docks, cleaning, packing and freezing all the salmon we caught!
The resort has a beautiful outside patio overlooking the ocean and we really enjoyed sitting there sipping on a drink while we watched the seals and otters just below us. There is a spa housed in a separate building jutting out over the ocean that offers a large selection of services. We tried to reserve some, but they were all booked up. So I suggest that you book these early!
The dining area and bar is large, and breakfast and lunch were enjoyable. Our first (and last) dinner at the restaurant was a little disappointing. Everyone in our group felt that the small menu was rather boring and the food was "just ok" for the price that was charged. The great service and amazing views made up for this, but we went elsewhere for dinners.
We did have one bad experience, and that came from one of the spa staff. We were having a break from fishing, and sitting out on our deck laughing and talking. The spa was located close to our unit, and a staff member approached our group and told us we were being too noisy. We were all quite shocked, as we had no music on, no one was intoxicated or vulgar... we were just enjoying the afternoon, talking and laughing. Being all adults, we were all a bit embarrassed to receive this scolding, and this did ruin the rest of the afternoon.
I would highly recommend this resort, just make sure you book your room away from the spa if you plan on spending time with friends on your deck.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I’m so happy you enjoyed your vacation at April Point Resort & Spa. We are so fortunate to have our resort located in such a beautiful area. I’m thrilled you enjoyed all of the beautiful scenery and wildlife our location has to offer. And thank you so much for all of the compliments regarding our service. We work extremely hard to deliver an amazing experience to all of our guests, so I’m excited to hear that all of our hard work is paying off.

I am sorry for the experience you had with one of our spa staff. I will be speaking with my spa staff to see if I can find out what the problem was.

Thank you for your review and I hope you come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Christine Fleming
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

April Point Lodge on Quadra Island is just a short 10-minute BC Ferry or free water taxi shuttle ride from the bustling town of Campbell River. Once there, you immediately feel your stress levels diminish as the helpful staff checks you into one of the waterside cabins. From chairs on your deck or one of the Adirondack chairs set close to the water's edge, you can sip a cold drink while watching the marine traffic and Alaska cruise ships in Discovery Passage…peace and tranquility.

If you feel like it, rent a mountain bike or scooter and explore the many artist's studios, craft shops, museums, and even wineries on Quadra. You have to take in the spectacular views of the mainland while taking a stroll on Rebecca Spit, and end your day with a massage in the resort's spa.

The fishing is good too…with experienced guides shared with Painter's Lodge, you can be fishing in minutes, with a very good chance of landing a salmon, even the occasional halibut, during a four-hour session.

And the resort restaurant is top-notch. Start off with an order of sushi, and continue with seafood…all beautifully plated and perfectly cooked!

April Point Lodge is a great drive-in destination to enjoy an idyllic getaway!

Room Tip: Try to get the "honeymoon" cabin #23. It's located at the very south end of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneWayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review of April Point Resort & Spa. The crew and I have been working extremely hard to maintain our status as one of the premier vacation getaways in British Columbia, so I’m thrilled to hear your stay lived up to those standards. You've perfectly summed up all the reasons why we love this resort. The magnificent views, the fishing and wildlife tours, combined with the ability for guests to also enjoy the amenities and dining at our sister resort, Painter’s Lodge, makes April Point a truly unique vacation experience. Thank you again for your kind words and I eagerly await your next visit.

Sincerely,
Christine Fleming
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta BC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

April Point sits on a promontory very close to the ferry from Campbell River. It is an ideal spot from which to explore Quadra Island. Rooms are well appointed and all have a view over the water. There is a full service restaurant and bar as well as many activities. They have ample parking onsite.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Service in the restaurant is slow, but most of the restaurant staff are eager to please. The overall quality of the food is good - once it arrives.
It is well worth exploring the gardens and enjoying the views from the dock or grassy areas where there are plenty of chairs and picnic tables.
The rest of the island is beautiful and uncrowded with a number of good beaches and parks.
It is definitely worth having a car on the island.
There are a few restaurants and pubs elsewhere on the island - best to drive to them. Best deal for lunch and dinner is to eat in one or other of the pubs.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over to Campbell River have the best views, but also overlooking the harbour is intere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randaDeltaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at April Point. We are truly fortunate to be located in such a beautiful area. Quadra Island is a unique and wonderful place, and I’m so glad you got to experience it. I’m so sorry you found the service in the dining room to be slow. I appreciate your feedback back and will make it a point to ensure the problem is rectified. Also, if it’s pub food you’re looking for I’d recommend trying the Tyee Pub at our sister resort, Painter’s Lodge. It’s just a free water taxi ride away and offers a wide variety pub favourites with a wonderful view of Discovery Passage. Thanks for your comments and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here beginning of June with my family for 2 nights. We got a very deal from Travelzoo which includes breakfast and a kayak or bike rental for 2 hours. The resort is beautiful and very peaceful. What a great place to getaway. The dining room staff we're so nice and accommodating to my 2 kids. From the breakfast staff to dining staff, they made sure we are looked after.The dining room manager even came up and started conversation with my son while waiting for our dinner. Also the guys that runs the kayak rental was so good to us too. We we're able to rent 2 double kayak so the four of us could go all together. It also nice to have that option to go to their sister resort where they have outdoor pool. The kids interactive area though was for older children, not for my 6 and 3 y/o kids. Our room have 1 queen bed and pull out couch.The only thing that i would have like to is to have is an option to have a microwave in the room if you need one. Overall, we are happy and will stay again in the future specially if we found another deal from Travelzoo.
PS... I felt a bit harassed my the oak bay marine group for sending me a bill twice within a week in mail weeks before our schedule to go there. This is the 1st time i encountered something like this of all the places we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meehCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay at April Point. We understand that it can be difficult to organize a family vacation, so we always strive to deliver fun, relaxing and memorable holidays for our guests. I’m thrilled to hear we delivered on our goal and hope you’ll come back to visit us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

April Point sits on a promontory very close to the ferry from Campbell River. It is an ideal spot from which to explore Quadra Island. Rooms are well appointed and all have a view over the water. There is a full service restaurant and bar as well as many activities. They have ample parking onsite.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Service in the restaurant is slow, but most of the restaurant staff are eager to please. The overall quality of the food is good - once it arrives.
It is well worth exploring the gardens and enjoying the views from the dock or grassy areas where there are plenty of chairs and picnic tables.
The rest of the island is beautiful and uncrowded with a number of good beaches and parks.
It is definitely worth having a car on the island.
There are a few restaurants and pubs elsewhere on the island - best to drive to them. Best deal for lunch and dinner is to eat in one or other of the pubs.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over to Campbell River have the best views, but also overlooking the harbour is intere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here before and in error Tripadvisor rated it one star...where we thought it was a 5.
Must have been a typo on the website. The resort is beautiful and the island of Quadra is fun to motor around.
The suites are spacious and our deck in front looked over the water. Good fishing here and many water sports are available.
You can arrange to ride on a seaplane with the mail delivery pilot and that is very cool.
The perspective from the air is terrific.
Across the water is the well known Campbell River Lodge, where fishermen have traveled to for a 100 years.

Room Tip: We liked ground floor with a deck overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at April Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I’m thrilled to hear you had such a lovely vacation at April Point. Yes, the float plane tours certainly offer some breathtaking views. We were happy to arrange that for you. It sounds like you got to experience everything the resort and Quadra Island has to offer, which is wonderful. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quathiaski Cove
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Sonora Resort
Sonora Resort
#1 of 1 in Sonora Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to April Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about April Point Resort & Spa

Property: April Point Resort & Spa
Address: 900 April Point Rd, Quathiaski Cove, British Columbia V0P 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island > Quathiaski Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quathiaski Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — April Point Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront getaways, perfect for romantic weekends, family vacations, girlfriend getaways and more. Packages and specials available. Located on Quadra Island, a short ride from Campbell River on Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your April Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
April Point Resort And Spa
April Point Hotel Quathiaski Cove
April Point Resort & Spa Canada/Quadra Island - Quathiaski Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing