We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and simple”
Review of Lovin' Oven II

Lovin' Oven II
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$16
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lovin' Oven is a family owned and operated restaurant catering to the locals of the island. Clean, fresh, and simple is the key to our "made from scratch" breads, desserts, pizza dough, sauce, and even the salad dressings. Breakfasts, daily soup, and specials for lunch and dinner are a big hit. We cut fresh potatoes for fries to compliment burgers or sandwiches on our savory dill bread. Jim Moats invented the pizzas back in the 70's and we strive to keep him proud of all his creations and flavor combinations. Our liquor license is from 11 am to well after closing. Custom made to order takes more time than fast food outlets, so please be patient or better yet, pre-order hours ahead of when you want to pick it up. We also have delivery anywhere south of Lakberg Road for $5. Keeping the prices low has it's draw backs for things like esthetic improvements, and we apologize for it is a work in progress. Thanks to local artisans we have something on the walls! Every Summer we try to be open 7 days a week if there's enough staff and we are hopeful again this year. Hope you can give our unique home-style food a try.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quick and simple”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

For a quick basic meal with a limited choice and welcoming service this dies well. They seem to have a local clientele who are known to the management. It is not sophisticated, but we enjoyed our meal

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonnyG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    2
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our take-out was excellent!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My daughter and I were staying on Quadra Island and our room had a lovely view from our balcony. We decided to get something to eat there so we phoned and ordered a California medium pizza with a whole wheat crust from Lovin' Oven. It was excellent. Plenty of toppings, well cooked and more than the two of us could eat. A great alternative to eating out! A very nice discovery!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCDancer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza on Quadra Island!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

While shopping at the local grocery store on Quadra Island we met up with a waitress who works at Lovin' Oven. She told us to stop by for the best pizza we would ever have...we thought we would try it out, and sure enough, it was fantastic. The restaurant is only open until 8 pm so it certainly isn't a place that you can order your late night pizza craving from...we found most places shut down around 8 to 9 pm on the island. It is certainly not a fancy place inside, but was very comfortable for our family to enjoy a good pizza. The service was great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RebinskyFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good pizza with whole-wheat option”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

These pizzas are surprisingly good for such a rural setting as Quadra Island. We appreciated being able to choose whole wheat crust, which they do well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Vicki_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly staff!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had just arrived on Quadra Island (about 7 pm) and were starving. So, we stopped at the Lovin' Oven and were pleasantly surprised with the friendly service and good pizza! As previous posts have found, everything is homemade and they even offer gluten free options! We shared a medium size pizza and it was more than enough for us to finish and the cookies are very yummy too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lovin' Oven II also viewed

Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
Quadra Island, British Columbia
 
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 

Been to Lovin' Oven II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing