We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pender Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shangri-La Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The view was amazing and we had a quiet and peaceful time. The hot tub and kitchen was a bonus. The breakfast was 5 star. I would highly recommend. Rooms had TV , gas fireplaces and outside decks with hot tub.

Room Tip: West side has more of a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertGilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Deciding at the last minute to go to Pender Island with my husband and parents for New Years, I settled on the Shangri La B&B. What a great decision! The home is spacious and the rooms are furnished with king sized beds as well as small fridge and microwave (a bonus). There was a hot tub with each room and we took full advantage. The best feature is the view. Amazing!! Janet, our host, was gracious and very helpful. Her breakfasts were to die for. It was so quiet and peaceful even if it rained we hardly noticed.

Room Tip: Choose the Galaxy room as it is very large and has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseVanBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed for three nights in the Lost in Space room. The Owner, Janet is very friendly and easy going making your stay comfortable and relaxing. The location is 900 feet overlooking the Sound. Breathtaking! The room is adequate and a little strange if you don't like sleeping in a solar system. An artist painted the room as the solar system and did a great job. Another wall is painted in the house with space theme. Great room is enjoyable for lounging and sink helps with preparing and cleaning up for a meal if desired. Each room has a private hot tub and gas grill. Tables in and outside accommodate enjoying a meal at the sky high location. Road to get up to the location is gravel, dusty and bumpy. So if location is your priority as well as privacy this is the spot.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The views at this B&B are beyond compare. The view makes the price of this accommodation worth every penny and more. Relaxing in the jacuzzi on our deck that overlooked the ocean was an surreal experience. The rooms are plain but comfortable and relaxing. Our host Janet was extremely welcoming, and very helpful. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Island view room, and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I took my wife here for her birthday in May. The B&B is situated on a cliff overlooking the ocean, with views of Vancouver Island, Saltsping Island and many of the smaller islands.we stayed 3 nights in a beautiful hotel style room, with private bath, private deck and hot tub and incredible views. We are not big breakfast people so took advantage of the discount offered and declined the breakfast. Janet, the owner was very helpful, very nice and very informative. She recommended the Hope Bay Cafe for my wife's birthday dinner, which was amazing, (see review).
The room was nicely furnished, the shower had great water pressure and the bed was super comfortable.
We will definitely be back. Thank you Janet.

Room Tip: We chose the islands view room which is one of two facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmelanso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights for her birthday, and we were thoroughly impressed. The view was incredible! The view alone was worth the money, but the service was excellent and breakfast was great both days. Our hostess recommended a local pub which was top notch, and we kayaked around incredible scenery between the islands. We watched a meteor shower from our hot tub overlooking the ocean on our last night and couldn't believe how lucky we were to be staying there. We were very happy with our stay and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just had the most relaxing 3 days at Shangri-La Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast. Stayed in the Baker Room which is clean, self contained with a fridge and microwave and the added bonus, a huge, deck with my own hot tub. This B & B is a home from home, a place to relax and recharge your batteries. The views are spectacular and the silence ..... golden. Janet, the owner, is a wonderful, warm person who makes you feel at home. So if you need to really slow things down and experience a little bit of Island paradise, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pender Island
1.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salmonberry Inn
Salmonberry Inn
#4 of 9 in Pender Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast

Property: Shangri-La Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5909 Pirates Rd, British Columbia V0N 2M2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pender Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on top of Oaks Bluff where the view is unlike any on the Gulf Islands, the Shangri-La offers 360 degree views of the Ocean, Olympic Mountains, San Juan Islands, Vancouver Island, North Shore Mountains, White Rock, Point Roberts and beyond. This Bed and Breakfast offers you a place where time stops and peace and relaxation abound. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing