We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely slow service in restaurent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell River, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely slow service in restaurent”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I had two separate experiences, one for breakfast and one for dinner, both were bad. A 45 minute wait for a simple breakfast, then a few days later 2 hours and 12 minutes wait after being seated for dinner until the main course arrived. There were two couples who got up and left because of a similar waiting time. The food was average at best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    73
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
37
116
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My Mom and I just spent two days at the Lodge and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The area is magical with the open vista of the water and eagles soaring around. It is so peaceful. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The food is outstanding and plentiful but most importantly we were impressed with the staff. Everyone was so helpful and friendly and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. For example, the extra touch of substituting fresh fruit from our breakfast because neither one of us eat bacon or sausage. Quadra is a treasure trove of amazing places to hike and to explore. Our favourite was Rebecca Spit. We can't wait to come back again soon.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main floor of lodge. Tremendous view of the beach. Very relaxing and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman_007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Hotel Location
Ocean front, with each room having an ocean view. Two eagles spent a lot of time in a tree on the property, lots of great eagle photos right from our balcony. You can watch the cruise ships go by, tugs pulling barges, and always a lot of fishing boats out on the water for your viewing pleasure. The property itself is beautifully maintained with lovely landscaping, and walking paths, all well tended. A short walk to a lighthouse, passing the cabins available for rent. Also further down past the lighthouse is the RV park again with lovely ocean views.
The hotel has an incredible lobby with wonderful art everywhere. We enjoyed the artwork throughout the hotel. Also located in the lobby is a small gift shop selection-native art, seemingly all local BC artists. A great selection of items for sale. We enjoyed our room and the private balcony. We were on the second story and there is no elevator, so pack light, or ask for ground floor. The room itself was very clean with a vaulted ceiling. The bed was comfortable, we had no concerns. We ate at the restaurant twice for dinner, twice for breakfast. We thought the food was great and the service was really good too. On all occasions the people serving us were charming and professional, with helpful hints on what to do and see. The desk clerks were also very friendly and knowledgeable. We stayed for two nights and wished we stayed longer. We would definitely return. We may try a cabin next time-they looked great. Either way, we will be back.
What we did on our first visit to Quadra Island:
Walked around the grounds on the hotel a lot-the pathways are well maintained. Walking on the beach is not an easy stroll, lots of rock, but incredibly beautiful. Drove to Rebecca Spit.-beautiful views, picnic sites, walking trails, lovely. Drove up to Main Lake. You will hit some gravel roads but they are well maintained. This beautiful lake is worth the visit. We visited the Southend Farm and Vineyards, and loved their wine so much, we bought one of everything. We also had lunch at the Heriot Bay Inn, and again lunch was delicious and the service excellent. Great views from the sundeck.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyesiamtrish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Tsa Kwa Luten is a great combination of ocean view rooms with comfy beds, a good menu with some great sea food dishes. Below the main building their are well equipped cabins available too for bigger or family parties visiting. This was my 7th or maybe 8th visit and didn't disappoint. At slack tide the Alaskan bound cruise ships glide by, and viewed at night are quite the spectacle to see with all their lights glittering. It's fun to watch the small charter fish boats drifting with the tides most days. The main building is a 2 storey with no elevator for guests so make a note of that. Watch out for their 'specials' for your stay, they are amazing value. Just sitting outside your room in the quiet of the evening the neighbourhood eagles can be seen perching in the trees, or on watch for that big fish they just might catch for dinner. It's always a pleasure to stay at Tsa Kwa Luten. Thank you.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a ground floor room if you have difficulty with stairs, there are no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

A group of about 30 us have just spent 2 nights here to celebrate our 55th High School Reunion. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and seemed pleased to have us here. The view from all the rooms is amazing, overlooking the water. At night you can see the cruise ships going past on their way to Alaska. Our room was very clean with a nice bathroom, great bedding and a very comfortable king sized bed. The atmosphere in the great room itself is cozy although the room is massive. There is a nice little gift shop but no high pressure sales. Generally we were very happy with the way everything went. For golfers, there is a nice little 9 hole golf course quite near that received excellent reviews from the golfers in our group. Quadra Island is a very laid back island which was a perfect match with our group. I would not hesitate in recommending this lodge for anyone in need of a peaceful, stress-free getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, BC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a beautiful spot on Quadra Island. Each room has a beautiful ocean view and the rooms are very clean and lovely. However, before booking you should know that there are NO elevators so if you are a senior or have mobility issues as we did, make sure you get a room on the ground floor. Also, there is NO TV in the room and may be an issue for some as well. As beautiful as the property is, there is nothing around for miles so you need to come prepared. Wifi is not free in the rooms either. The food in the restaurant was very good, but the service was pretty bad. It looked like the majority of their servers were clueless teenagers. They spilled water all over the place with no apologies, they were disorganized and did not provide enough for the buffets for our group meals (we were part of a bus tour). For example, we had a group of 38, but they put out 15 muffins for breakfast. Yes, they brought out more in the end, but we shouldn't have to ask. It also took forever to get a cup of coffee. Overall, a beautiful property if you like peace and quiet, but needs some work on their restaurant organization and staffing.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a place for a quick getaway. Amazing building and grounds. The meals were fine, well presented and well prepared. The outstanding memory is the staff. We have nothing but good things to say about them all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
277 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
411 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
93 reviews
5.4 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge

Property: Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road | P.O. BOX 460, British Columbia V0P 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront nature based resort offering privacy and seclusion on Quadra Island, a 10-minute ferry ride from Campbell River. Deluxe main lodge or beachfront cottage accommodation featuring ocean views of Discovery Passage. Savor west coast seafood cuisine in the casual atmosphere of the Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing