We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Unique gem by the sea”
Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heron House
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Charming and Unique gem by the sea”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As I walked under an archway made of driftwood with shells and real fisherman's netting hanging off I knew this was going to be a unique experience. Heron house is a cool and funky retreat right on the ocean on Quadra Island. There's a main house and a number of guests houses on the property. My room was in the main house upstairs in the corner with a private bath and deck right above the water. In the morning, before I even got out of bed I could see dolphins swimming by in the bay - amazing. Linda Inrig, the proprietress, is a charming and interesting woman who does tours in Africa during the winters months. I was there for 3 days and two nights and thoroughly enjoyed myself. Peaceful and authentic it was just what I needed to recharge my batteries.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked the Boathouse for our stay but after checking it out and seeing the blustery September weather forecast we upgraded to the cottage. The Cottage was perfect for us and had lots of character. The place has great character and the owner was friendly and accomodating.Great value and a comfortable stay. It is exactly what we hoped for and had a great weekend storm watching and hiking in the rains.

Room Tip: Much of the accomodation on this property would be classified as "fancy camping". The main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Creek, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I went over to Quadra for a get away weekend this labour day. Knowing that Quadra is a very relaxed and laid back community, we expected to find a very earthy and simple place. What we found was extremely interesting and genuine. This cute little property is very organic with all of it's homemade type accessories, simplicities in technology ( but necessities for cooking etc) The décor of the place was one that reflected the life style of remote west coast islands, lots of sea items, pottery, rocks, shells, drift wood and the need to feel able to simply relax from all of the haywire paths that life throws at us on a daily high tech basis.

We brought our boat, we fished, prawned, came home and cooked up our homegrown seafood feasts, sat back with a glass or 4 of wine and relaxed immensely.

This is not a place for those who are looking to be pampered with fine china and pristine accommodation, but rather one to leave that all behind and realize what it is like to simply be quiet and slow down in a time that doesn't over load you with stimulation.

Thank you so much Linda for your accommodation and for always being very frank about defining "rustic or funky" before we arrived. Some of the units were not exactly what we would have enjoyed, but there is much for all to enjoy by different levels of the simple but good life here. Your property was absolutely unique and truly a relaxing get away for us!

Room Tip: Be aware that some units are so natural that there are out houses and patio showers, on the other ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We rented the entire property for the first 2 weeks in August. It was a great place to rent for a large group. It was within walking distance to the grocery store, liquor store, restaurant, pub and marina. The location is primo! The property has an assortment of cabins, each with their own appeal. The view from the deck of the main house is beautiful, looking out at Rebecca Spit and watching the boats going in and out of the harbor. There is a small floating dock you can swim to when the tide is high and sit and enjoy the view. Linda the owner and here daughter Cory were very accommodating and tolerant with our large group ranging in age from 6 to over 70. The perfect spot for a large gathering!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is an eclectic, organic and quirky place consisting of a main house composed of 3 bedrooms/3 bath/2 lofts with a separate room and bath below on the water with gorgeous unobstructed views and direct access to the beach which is filled with clams and oysters. Near the house are several self contained cabins. We have rented many places in the Quadra/ Cortes Island area and this is the best value in the area for the dollar and is a fun and friendly place. Linda the owner and resident artist is lovely, interesting and a bit eccentric and the property has been in her family for 60 years. The proximity to the grocery and liquor store, Herriot Bay Pub & Hotel and Marina makes its location second to none. A previous reviewer commented on the difficulty for older renters however we had no difficulty with the property and I am 60+ and my husband is 70+. I am a bit of a clean freak so I puttered around moving and sorting the assortment of nic nacs in the house but enjoyed the trail of discovery. We had a wonderful stay here with our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I remember this as the worst experience in my life. I am not a demanding traveller, and at that time I was woofing along Canada, so I was not pretending to be in a 5 star and I was used to hostels and rural accomodations. The first thing I thought was that I had mistaken the place. It was a real junkyard. The Jacuzzi you can see on the pictures was lying empty in the garden. We stayed at the boathouse. Dirty, no bath facility, to shower you had to cross the complicated greenery. The wc was a wooden covered hole in front of the house, with no doors or privacy, just in front of the seaside. And most annoyng of all, no one came to greet us (the owner was not there, even though she knew we were arriving) and a guest showed the place to us. And worst, when we had to leave, she was still not there. We searched for her for half an hour to be able to pay and in the end we sent her a cheque via mail some days later. But just because I'm too honest. Ah, and there's absolutely nothing around, completely isolated. The only "good" thing was the ocean and the beautiful nature around us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peachy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

OK- this is a difficult one to review. First of all the location is out of this world and made up for the minor drawbacks. We had a wonderful deck almost on the ocean with the most incredible view. When we booked on line with booking.com we were told we would have a ktchenette in a separate cabin but when we got there we had a room in the main house and use of the communal kitchen.
We did not see the owner but a very nice young couple greeted us and made us fel at home. However it did feel more like we were staying as house guests rather than anything else. The room was nice enough, if a little quirky, with a huge bath actually In the room but felt a little cramped. Also the door didn't shut properly so not very private!
The grounds looked ramshackle at first but we decided they were just full of character.
We felt OK getting our own breakfast in the kitchen, though there wasn't much room for us in the fridge but felt awkward about cooking there or using the sitting room as everyone was about a third of our age! (Not their fault of course but we just felt more comfortable eating out) You can eat out at the Heriot Bay Inn just down the road. It was very dark finding our way back (no lights). On the first night we asked for the fairy lights outside to be left on but on the second night it was completekly dark and we didn't have a torch and there are tricky steps. It was exceptional value for money and if you are young or single and prepared to muck in I think it would be a great place to stay and meet people. It was just a bit unusual for us old conventional types! To sum up: good value, FABULOUS location but be prepared for something out of the ordinary. If you want luxury and a conventional room this may not be for you

Room Tip: Mkae sue you ask which room you are getting and what the facilities are as we were told we had a kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazsudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
4.3 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heriot Bay Inn
Heriot Bay Inn
#5 of 9 in Quadra Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
#3 of 9 in Quadra Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
8.5 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.9 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Property: Heron House
Address: 646 Maple Road, British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing