We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heriot Bay Inn”
Review of Heriot Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heriot Bay Inn
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heriot Bay Inn”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We spent 3 nights at the quaint Heriot Bay Inn on Quadra Island. We booked packages for bear watching and boat trip to see whales. The inn is old so expect squeaky floor and can be noisy if band is playing downstairs and you go to bed early. Loved dining in the restaurant while sitting on deck enjoying the views. Our bear watching trip was not successful, however, there is never a guaranteee to see wildlife. The boat trip to see whales was enjoyable. We did not see Orcas but saw humpbacks, Dahl's porpoise and sea lions. While trying to locate Orcas, just seeing the beautiful scenery made the trip out worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler6756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    42
    13
    13
    11
See reviews for
31
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The HBI Pub (or Hibee as the locals say) is the local watering hole. On a Friday night look forward to dancing to a live band amongst some serious local colour. Friendly folk, good beer and good pub food combined with live music and leprechaun stools. Not a chicken-wire-on-the-windows local bar, a fun little hippy islander pub.

The Restaurant is also very good and steps up the class a little more that the pub, but not quite fine dining either.

No experience staying there but the rates are reasonable and there is nice cabins available too. Great place for a wedding and is pretty inexpensive to book the entire place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo_tonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We did not stay here but we did eat here everyday while camping nearby. We also visited the gift shop several times. We enjoyed the food everytime we went and the gift shop is cute :) Next time we visit Quadra we are thinking of skipping the camping and staying here with the family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savesomeoneelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
600 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This hotel is over 100 years old and likely was in the superior category when built. Not much has changed since then. The rooms were small with thin walls and the bathroom was showing it's age with period plumbing. Overall cleanliness was average with stained comforter and stained toilet.

We had a veranda room #106, that provided access to a large private deck with excellent view. The common areas including the bar and dining room was cozy and inviting. There was also a small shop selling interesting items. The attached pub had a lot of character and was frequented by locals, and had live music on the weekend.

We had three breakfasts, one lunch, and one dinner - food quality was good, not outstanding and the prices were relatively high. There was not much dining options other than the hotel. Service at dinner was very slow but the restaurant was quite busy. Most of the staff was friendly but unfortunately we seems to get the one waitress that was constantly in a foul mood and never smiled.

The location is very scenic and the grounds are beautiful with excellent access to the ferry to Cortez Island. There is no cellphone coverage at the hotel, if you walk up to the top of the hill by Tacu Lodge you can get coverage - see picture. The hotel will let you use their land line for free local calls

Overall this is a rustic historic antique hotel in a beautiful setting that offers the basic facilities.

Room Tip: Go for the Veranda rooms that are on the opposite site of the hotel from the pub such as # 105 to #1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed in Heriot Bay Inn during my honeymoon in August 2010 (just before going on a kayaking tour in the wild), and I loved the place! Our room was cosy and nicely furnished and the nearby balcony was a treat - we breakfasted there every day! The food in the place is also stunning - try the Sambuca prawns - they are to die for! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Balcony is a must and of course marine view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

If you like charming, quaint, quirky hotels, you will like the Heriot Bay Inn. It is clean and well located, with beautiful views and friendly staff. The room we stayed in (109) was small, but had everything we needed. The room and furnishings (e.g. clothes wardrobe) were older, but in a charming way, not a tacky or dated way. The bed and bedding, however, were new and comfy. We had a shadier veranda, but anyone can access the hotel's sundeck, and it is a great place to eat breakfast, read a book, or just enjoy the view of the bay.

We could definitely hear faint pub music in our room on the Friday and Saturday night, but it didn't keep us from sleeping. (Weirdly, we could hear the music more clearly in our attached bathroom.) Lighter sleepers should request a room as far from the pub as possible for weekend nights.

One other thing--some reviewers have criticized the prices of the food in the attached restaurant, but in my opinion you definitely get what you pay for. This is some top-quality seafood, creatively cooked and beautifully presented. Not cheap, but well worth it. If your budget is smaller, the more casual pub food is also excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms that are furthest from the pub are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoominTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Once you accept that you haven't signed up, nor are you paying for a 5 star resort and just relax, you may enjoy it. The Inn is reportedly over 100 years old and has some limitations but the bed is clean and comfortable, the bathroom is serviceable and clean and the food is good. The pub and especially the outdoor smokers patio is frequented by locals when they finish work ie about 5 pm and the staff is friendly and accommodating. If you get nice weather, which we did, the outdoor patio (non-smoking) off the dining room is great for breakfast or dinner as you can look over the marina and bay to the islands and the mainland.
If summer ever comes, the rooms may get a little warm as there is no AC, ceiling fan nor cross-ventilation.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 106 as it has direct access to the second floor sun deck with its viw over marina and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
14.1 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#9 of 16 in Campbell River
49 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
202 reviews
4.3 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
395 reviews
4.0 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heron House
Heron House
#6 of 9 in Quadra Island
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heriot Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heriot Bay Inn

Property: Heriot Bay Inn
Address: Heriot Bay Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heriot Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Heriot Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heriot Bay Inn And Marina Hotel Quadra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing