We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorest experience ever”
Review of Heriot Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heriot Bay Inn
british colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poorest experience ever”
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Apart from the incredibly tiny room, there were nice pillows. The main issue was the poor management of this Inn. We had reservations for dinner and hardly finished a serving due to unsatisfying meals. The parking lot was extremely dangerous due to thick ice, including walkway into hotel. Our veranda room, which we paid extra for, had a veranda covered with snow, unable to even open the door. This is an extreme fire hazard. Hardly any choice for variety of food due to both the dining room and pub sharing the same menu. There were no televisions in the room, nor was there a telephone which we needed when from midnight until four am we were subject to a hoard of young adults galavanting in the hallways, doing drugs, playing horrible guitar, screaming and running down the hallways. I am sure i didn't see this hotel classified as a hostel on their website. There were no management to call or to be seen anywhere during this whole event. Other criticisms include poor water pressure in the shower and temperature, from almost scolding to freezing. One guest said that snow from the roof fell onto her and she had a injury to her face due to it. We write this review while the rowdy guests next door wind down off of their cocaine highs and alcohol induced stupors. In the morning we will be demanding a full refund for both nights stay. Horrible, horrible place...The horror

  • Disliked — poor management
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jennypenny888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    44
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
33
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We stayed at the Heriot Bay for three nights as part of a package booked to go whale and bear watching. We had booked a cabin but were upgraded to a suite above the hotel as soon as we arrived as there was a noisy party going on in the cabin next to the one we had booked. We thought this was really thoughtful of the staff as we hadn't even been to the cabin so hadn't comlained or anything.
The suite was lovely, with a great living/kitchen area that had large picture windows and french doors that led out onto a huge balcony overlooking the bay which was absolutely gorgeous.
Everything was clean and comfy and we enjoyed our time there.
We ate in both the hotel restaurant - which was nice but a bit pricey/fancy - and the bar which was the opposite - plain, simple and down to earth! All in all a great stay.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Little bit dated
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GbKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

My wife and I were planning a trip to see Grizzly Bears and Google led me to the Heriot Bay Inn on Quadra Island. The Grizzly Bear stay and play package is superb with 2 nights accommodation and a seven hour tour. The tour, if booked through the supplier in Campbell River is CAD$329.00 per person. The Heriot Bay Inn charges you CAD$419.00 per person but gives you 2 nights accommodation. We saw bears, seals, and bald eagles on the trip and was the highlight of our stay in Canada.
They have a great range of hotel rooms and 3 cabins - we had a 2 bedroom cabin with full kitchen facilities, which was perfect for our needs. The restaurant and pub food are great, the views over the bay in the evening go perfectly with a local beer. And a wel-stocked supermarket is just a 5 minute walk. I recommend you get to the island early on the first day so that you can explore the many sights on the island.
People who choose to live on Quadra Island have definitely checked out of mainstream society and you meet some fascinating and quirky characters in the pub at the Inn. But they were all so friendly and genuine - and they just adored my 1-year old daughter and she seemed to obtain celebrity status in just 2 days at Heriot Bay.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the owners and residents
  • Disliked — Not the easiest place to get to
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

The patio at the restaurant is beautiful, have a beer, a coke but don't eat the food it's marginal and the service was the worst I've had in years, took forever to get drinks, food and half the stuff we tried to order was out of stock including fish and chips (yes no fish in British Columbia). They kept telling us it was a bad day so like suckers we went back a second time which was worse. Go to one of the other restaurants on the island

  • Liked — location view
  • Disliked — restaurant is awful
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1travellingdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quadra Island hotels

cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

Having stayed in one of the cabins i can honestly say i wanna go back, from the cabin itself to the beautiful setting and the great ( if not slighty odd and eccentric ) patrons, heriot bay is a must if visiting quadra.We had a wonderful time just chilling out in the bar playing pool and sitting on the veranda with the very interesting locals ( think cheech and chong ) who gave us great insight to life on quadra/cortes.We spent 5 nights there as we where also booked on the whale watching and grizzly tours and this was the only problem we encountered there as the boats broke down twice,however staying 5 nights gave the staff there time to rearrange the tours with another company and i must admit a truly magnificent time was had on both tours.Like some people have said it can be a little rough around the edges but for us this only added to its charm,many thanks to those that made our stay such an eventful one,We will be back soon.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheshirekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Heriot Bay Inn for two nights in September (one night before our kayak tour and one night after).

The first night we were in one of the smaller rooms directly above the pub. Yes, the room was very small, but it was clean and you couldn't beat the view. In retrospect I think we should have asked for a different room location due to the noise from the pub below. For some reason the pub seemed to come alive around 11:30 pm and we could hear every footstep and conversation. A little concerning, as we were due to start a four night camping expedition the next day and needed our rest. But, as soon as the noise died down we slept well on the comfy bed.

The second night was a Friday and we had a larger balcony room on the other end of the inn above the restaurant. There was a band that night in the pub, which we enjoyed with our fellow kayak tour group members. It was a lot of fun. The noise was not as bothersome this time, mainly because we stayed up late enjoying the band (along with a few drinks!).

We ate in the restaurant both nights and it was very good.

The best thing about the Heriot Bay, I believe, was the friendliness and good customer service provided by the staff. I accidently left a pile of dirty clothes in the last room we stayed in. I didn't realize it until we got home. Once I contacted them, the Heriot Bay was kind enough to ship me my dirty, stinky clothes all the way to my home in North Carolina. Thanks!!

  • Liked — Location and customer service
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

This is a great little 100 yr old inn with some things you couldn't duplicate no matter how hard you tried.

Ok, it's old but they have upgraded some of the bathrooms and flooring in the rooms. Yes, the stairs and hall carpet needs replaced. They'll get to it later I'm sure.

The steps and staris creak. Get used to it. This isn't the Holiday Inn Express.

Go out on the rooftop deck and look at the harbor with the small BC ferrie, the patio/deck dining, comfy chairs by the waters edge, view of islands and mountains and then try to tell me this isn't one of the prettiest little places you've ever seen.

The bear trip was another story and mayber not all their fault.
They are breaking in a new location and viewing stand where the bears aren't used to people being there. It was warm still, there weren't a huge amount of salmon in the creek yet, just 30-40 of them. If i was a bear I would think that's enough to come down and eat a couple but hey, I'm not a bear so what do I know?

Nature doesn't always cooperate but that was the main reason we came there and it didn't work out.

The locale is beautiful though and I could have just hung out for a day or two and relaxed. Maybe a kakyak trip would have made more sense.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
288 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#1 of 9 in Quadra Island
215 reviews
4.3 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
434 reviews
4.0 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,125 reviews
8.4 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heriot Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heriot Bay Inn

Property: Heriot Bay Inn
Address: Heriot Bay Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heriot Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Heriot Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heriot Bay Inn And Marina Hotel Quadra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing