We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot for family or other group break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quadra Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taku Resort and Marina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Duncan B.C.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for family or other group break”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our hiking group has visited Taku for a long weekend each year for the last 6 years or so.It is close to Heriot Bay. View over Drew Harbour to Rebecca Spit is glorious with Cortez Island and Coastal Mountains of the mainland in the distance. This is a glorious spot with waterfront fully equipped cabins. Plenty of very good demanding hikes and less demanding walks. Kayaking , canoeing and bikke rentals available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi Andrew
It's been fantastic to have your hiking group up for the past six years. The month of June is getting more popular as others have realized how the weather doesn't affect how much there's to do on Quadra. As you mentioned, the views are also spectacular, we are lucky to call this our office.
We look forward to your group's next visit and we appreciate the review you posted.
Thank you,
Elizabeth Wong
Taku Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Taku Resort has been a favourite spot for our family for the past 13 years. As soon as you drive onto Quadra Island you can feel the calm serenity that awaits you. From the Taku dock, the beautiful view of Drew Harbour and Rebecca Spit are pure Canadian paradise at its best. Whether we're there with family or friends, there's always another adventure waiting for the next time we visit. Play tennis, shoot hoops, beachcomb or check out the artists studios around the island. You may even see some deer on the property, Harbour Seals bathing on the dock or if you're lucky, dolphins swimming in the ocean. One of our favourite past times is feeding the Bald Eagles nesting in the nearby islands. These are just a few of the things we've experiences while vacationing at Taku Resort. If you're looking for a place to unwind, this is definitely IT!!

Room Tip: The large and spacious Beach House (Upper or Lower) has the BEST view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Hello dbst09
We've equally enjoyed getting to know your family from babies to Grand Parents. Thank you for your patronage over the past 13 years. You have definitely been one of our most loyal guests coming more than once a year at times. It is spot prawn season now, maybe we will see you soon...
Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in a Cabin on the beach for 4 nights. Wish we could of stayed much longer. The check in was easy and relaxed and our time there was very well enjoyed. The cabin was located right on the water and was so relaxing and peaceful. We enjoyed hiking up the beach and our daughter loved to play on the kids fort. Cant wait to return again. :))

Room Tip: The beachfront cabins are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Great to hear from you bettyburns.

Many share your same thoughts on how perfect the Beachfront Cabins are, they are our most popular especially with young families like yours. It's precious to see kids exploring the beach and know they are safe.

Thank you for the fantastic review and the perfect marks across the board! The staff were delighted to hear about it. We hope to see you again as well.

Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I spent two weeks in cabin 5 over Christmas and it was nothing short of magical.
The cabin was warm, well stocked and had all the comforts you would want while maintaining the feel of getting away from it all.
We had a big bonfire down on the rocks during low tide that was amazing and followed it up with a soak in the fantastic hot tub above.
I have also stayed in the same cabin alone for a week long writing retreat. Again the experience was amazing.
Quadra has enough amenities and activities to keep anyone comfortable and busy or if you choose so, simply enjoy some lazy days lounging around.
I highly recommend a paddle or take advantage of a hot yoga class.

Room Tip: The Cabins are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hello Richard,

Your winter sunrise photo is stunning! Taku and Quadra certainly have a lot to offer that time of year and the peacefulness is very magical with the crisp air and snow capped mountains in the distance. Thank you for your winter time review. We're so glad you had another great experience.

Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have stayed here several times before and it was great as always. I love the privacy of the treehouse, the well-equipped kitchen, the tv that swivels toward kitchen or the bed and the view over Rebecca spit. I also appreciate the casualness of the place, that the room is left open for us with the key on the table or on leaving I can just ask them to send me the bill. The location is also convenient with the grocery store or the Heriot Bay Inn within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your review Deb!

We're so pleased that you make us one of your special destinations. The Tree house is certainly a unique suite and is very popular. I agree, it's wonderful how Lynden and staff have such a professional service level yet keep things at a very west coast tempo, easy and welcoming for guests.

See you again soon,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed in a Terrace Studio for 2 nights while touring Quadra Island. Our room was very clean and spacious with a deck which was great to spend time looking over the water and watching the stars. The owner was very friendly and helpful getting us checked in. The kitchen facilities are also very complete for cooking our own meals. We would definitely stay here again on another visit to Quadra Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Hello Elaine

It was my mom Fei who checked you in. She loves meeting the guests and getting to know them all. In our 30th year running the resort, we are so proud of being able to provide this hidden gem to guests. We are also taking this year to start a cookery and marine tours. Our new website highlights all of these new programs.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review it contributed to us winning the Tripadvisor 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as Top 25 Bargain Hotels in Canada. An award like this is extremely helpful to our small family business.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
www.takuresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed in a Terrace Studio for three nights, ideal size for two. Resort has lots of choice with Cabins and larger suites, Beach House contains two large suites that would be the newest of the accommodations.

All have kitchenette equipped with all necessary utensils so all you need to bring is your food and condiments if you're cooking in house. Coffee maker and coffee is provided, they also provide filters if you bring your own coffee. Gas BBQ's are at all except Terrace Suites. We found our room very clean and well looked after. The fresh cut flowers were a beautiful touch.

This property is absolutely gorgeous with great views of Drew Harbour and Rebecca Spit, lots to do and is a great place to bring children. Ownership has fully achieved their dream of creating a place that is perfect for family and friends get togethers.

As others have mentioned, a grocery/liquor store is within easy walk and carries all one would need, includes deli with pre-cooked selections. Heriot Bay Inn is equally close and has pub and full dining room adjacent to the Cortes Is Ferry dock.

Property has a marina with great docking facilities and electrical hook up and also have canoes and kayaks you can rent if you are experienced. Otherwise there is an outfitter at the resort entrance who can take you on guided tours (they have bike rental to).

Can't say enough good things about management & staff, very accommodating, friendly and professional.

If you require the Hotel experience then I would suggest Taku may be too rustic for you otherwise but if you don't mind cooking yourself and/or walking or driving to eat out then this is the best place on Quadra as far as we are concerned.

One suggestion - a gas BBQ situated on the grass area at the back of the Terrace Suites for common use by those suites would be a nice addition. Stone house is a bit distant and requires charcoal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Your great review earned us the Tripadvisor 2013 Award for Top 25 Bargain Hotels in Canada. It is also very rewarding to all the staff to read your review that acknowledges our efforts at providing a resort for family and friend get togethers.

We will certainly look into adding a gas BBQ at the Terrace Suite level, a great suggestion!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
14.0 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#9 of 16 in Campbell River
49 reviews
3.0 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
395 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heriot Bay Inn
Heriot Bay Inn
#5 of 9 in Quadra Island
112 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gowlland Harbour Resort
Gowlland Harbour Resort
#1 of 9 in Quadra Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taku Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taku Resort and Marina

Property: Taku Resort and Marina
Address: 616 Taku Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent seaside resort with a perfect blend of laidback ambience and luxurious comfort. Enjoy views from all suites and cabins. Our accommodations will meet your needs and budget and all have a full kitchen and balcony. Alternately, there are forested campsites or the excellent marina for you to stay. On-site, you can enjoy cookery courses, the hot tub, tennis, kayaking, basketball and bocce and more. Quadra Island also offers activities such as golf, hiking, art studios and much more. Our professional and attentive staff look forward to hosting you. The complete Discovery Island vacation experience awaits you at Taku Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing