We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Advertising...finally”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quadra Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taku Resort and Marina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“True Advertising...finally”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a wonderful time during our visit and could not have asked for anything more. I can easily say everyone on the resort team was friendly, helpful, and welcoming at all times. Kudos to the crew!

Stayed 2 weeks for a family vacation. There were 3 of us, one was a 12yo. Brought along a 18' fishing boat. We aren't high maintenance travellers, but expect clean, safe, and ease of use accommodations. For us, a well priced safe room with atmosphere wins over a designer appointed 4 star hotel on the crowded strip, so gauge accordingly.

Rarely does a marketing picture for print ads reflect the true atmosphere and quality of the facility, but we were able to walk out our cabin, hold up the ad, and see exaclty the same awesome vista. Sat in the chairs by the waterline and forgot about the 13 hours it took to get there (long drives, 2 ferries). We shopped the other major accommodations on the island while there and Taku was hands-down the most well-kept and acurately represented to the advertising (from what we could tell outside the rooms).

Cabin was well supplied, clean, modern enough, and comfortable. Only challenge was the steepness of the ladder to the loft. But after a long day fishing and being 50 years old, what ladder wouldn't be? The hot tub on site helped. BBQ'd salmon on the grill and a nice glass of wine on the cabin's elevated deck was always better than the inside dining table.

Marina was well maintained, clean, and of higher quality than most. Very reasonably priced. It had everything that's needed except fuel (that's good, as it can be had 3 minutes away at the public dock, and no fuel traffic or smells to deal with at Taku). I felt my boat and gear were safe, which is a very big challenge for me to accept. The paddle boards there for rent looked fun, but we didn't try them.

There's a sufficient grocery store within a 10 minute walk, and a kayak/bike rental business near the resort entrance. The numerous yard carts make getting gear to and from the parking area to the cabins a breeze. Ice was available on-site as was a sufficient laundry area.

Not trying to sell you on it, but I give credit where credit is due.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 is at the end of the property. A bit longer walk, larger and pricier than the other cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Bill,
I believe we met, I was the one who came by to invite your 12yo to watch the outdoor movie. Thank you for your exceptional review. The Taku Crew is very happy to hear how they are doing a great job and how our ads met your expectations.
With the breathtaking views, I find it hard to take a photo that actually does the views justice. Which is why one just has to sit in the ocean front chairs and soak it all in.
After such a long trip for you to get here, I'm glad the ocean could reward you with salmon. Thank you for rewarding us with this great review. We look forward to seeing your family here again soon.
Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First time staying at this resort. Planned the 3 day break with my daughter and three grandchildren ages 1, 2, and 4. When we arrived to stay in the beach house we were told there had been an ant problem but they were addressing it....they did... With great efficiency and the most accommodating way they could for us...the manager and staff went above and beyond to make our stay an enjoyable one...this is a beautiful place with lots to do for children of all ages...we definitely will visit again...Elaine from cape breton, Nova Scotia and my family from Vancouver island

Room Tip: There are a lot of choices depending on what you are looking for....from camping to lavish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Elaine
Your review is greatly appreciated. That's exciting we had a visitor from a town that is possibly the furthest canadian town from us. Thank you for your understanding about the ant situation and we are so glad that it did not ruin your stay. We look forward to seeing your family again soon. As your grandchildren get older, each experience at Taku will create wonderful new memories that will last a lifetime.
Thank you again for taking the time to write the review and for choosing Taku for your family holiday.
Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Quadra Island is very laid back and casual and Taku has nice rooms and setting. However our room is infested with big black ants- everywhere. A definite bummer. What is worse is the lack of attention to this problem and no apology. I guess we are suppose to go with the flow. I still recommend this as a destination but sometimes laid back doesn't cut it especially at peak season rates.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaceman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry for not meeting your expectations. Although our suites are located right in nature an experience like yours seldom happens.

By now you have hopefully received a personal note from our general manager again expressing how sorry we are about not handling the situation better. We did take action as soon as you notified us of the ants but we hadn't communicated the details of our actions to you. We pride ourselves on our guest service and feel very badly that we did not better communicate with you.

We know you traveled a long way to visit Quadra Island so we hope that these unwanted guests did not deter you from enjoying your stay. Again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We rested at Taku for two nights in the way to our sea kayaking vacation with Spirit of the West. Our daughters walked into the cabin, saw the chairs tucked along the shore, one announced that she would like to have her honeymoon here, and the other asked if she could be left at Taku for the week instead of kayaking! I think these words about sum it up - a lovely, quiet, relaxing special place. We just rested, walked up and down the shore, and felt peaceful.

The cabin was nicely equipped with kitchen gear and we spontaneously went to very nearby Heriot Bay grocery and gathered up supplies for a BBQ dinner, next morning hearty breakfast and light lunch. We also walked down shore a but to Heriot Bay Inn for dinner and a breakfast on our way to kayak trip.

A really really really lovely place. Thank you!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank elkhornranchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello!

I hope you had a great rest of your trip with Spirit of the West. The spots you get to kayak to are spectacular.

We're so glad your family loved it at Taku. Your words "lovely, quiet, relaxing" definitely sum it up. Your daughter is welcome to come back here for her wedding too! Thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We love Heriot Bay and have stayed several times at the Heriot Bay marina. When we moored there in 2013, there were so many logs in the marina at high tide in the middle of the night, that I was awakened by them knocking against our boat. So this year, we decided to dock at Taku and we're very glad we did. The docks are in excellent shape (unlike those at the Heriot Bay Marina) and the marina staff is wonderful. It's much more peaceful than being at the Heriot Bay Marina with the BC Ferry coming and going, and getting water and electric to your boat is no problem. It's only a short walk to the grocery store or over to the excellent restaurant at the Heriot Bay Inn. And the moorage rate at Taku is actually a little cheaper than at Heriot Bay Marina. We'll go back to Taku next year!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank fairhaven7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello first time guests to Taku,

We're so glad you decided to try our marina this year. Since we rebuilt our marina in 2007, we've continued to make adjustments to ensure it is a very secure and safe place to moore. It also helps that Rebecca Spit Provincial Park makes a great shelter from wind and is a beautiful backdrop. Having the grocery store and Heriot Bay Inn so close by is a great benefit for all our guests.

Thank you for deciding to try us out this year and for taking the time to write this review. See you next summer!

Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
Taku Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After several visits through the years and more to come, Taku is awesome. Lynden and the Taku Team once again are to be commended for ensuring a superb experience in a spectacular location that never fails to whelm the senses. As seasoned boaters and kayakers Taku offers the perfect departure point for fabulous travels in the Discovery Islands and Inlets. Self contained ocean front cabins with views of Rebecca Spit, Sutil Channel and Breton Isles quickly make you forget the need for television and media devices. Once again, thanks for the hospitality and have a great 2014 season, see you in the fall. Cheers, Walt & Pam (Courtenay, BC) Cabin # 4 / 2 to 8 Jun

Room Tip: Check new 2014 ferry schedule changes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Great to have you back again Walt & Pam! I agree, exploring the surrounding islands is spectacular, especially with all of the wild life flying and swimming around. Shortly after your visit we had a few sightings of a pod of 8 orcas.

Thank you for your "Awesome" review, Lynden and the Taku crew appreciated it. We look forward to seeing you in the fall.

Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have visited Taku Resort twice now (previously in August 2013) and both times it has been amazing. The resort is situated in a quiet corner of Heriot Bay with spectacular ocean views. We were also treated to a variety of wildlife sightings including bald eagles, deer, starfish, seals, and even a family of orca whales! Taku has a wide array of activities and amenities to enjoy. We particularly loved paddle boarding on the calm waters of the bay, relaxing in the hot tub and enjoying a beer on our oceanfront patio. The perfect place for a romantic getaway or to visit with the entire family, there is truly something for everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Christa
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You really timed your stay right if you were able to see a family of orcas! It's a somewhat rare magical experience. Paddle boarding looks more tricky than it really is, doesn't it? It's the perfect way to explore Quadra by water.
We're so pleased that you've enjoyed both of your stays and we look forward to seeing you here again.
Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
14.0 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
49 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
202 reviews
3.0 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heriot Bay Inn
Heriot Bay Inn
#5 of 9 in Quadra Island
112 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gowlland Harbour Resort
Gowlland Harbour Resort
#1 of 9 in Quadra Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taku Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taku Resort and Marina

Property: Taku Resort and Marina
Address: 616 Taku Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent seaside resort with a perfect blend of laidback ambience and luxurious comfort. Enjoy views from all suites and cabins. Our accommodations will meet your needs and budget and all have a full kitchen and balcony. Alternately, there are forested campsites or the excellent marina for you to stay. On-site, you can enjoy cookery courses, the hot tub, tennis, kayaking, basketball and bocce and more. Quadra Island also offers activities such as golf, hiking, art studios and much more. Our professional and attentive staff look forward to hosting you. The complete Discovery Island vacation experience awaits you at Taku Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing