We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gowlland Harbour Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic vacation”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent last week at the resort and had an absolutely fantastic time. The property is set above a private alcove in Gowlland Harbour which offers privacy as well as gorgeous views. Several independent beach houses dot the property in addition to the main lodge and conference center.
The grounds are wonderfully gardened and the rooms and facility are clean and modern. Service was perfect and the food is to die for. It's simply the best Quadra Island has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GowllandHarbour, Owner at Gowlland Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic vacation experience with us! We are delighted you found the service perfect and the food to die for! It means a lot to us. We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed the privacy our Resort offers and the gorgeous views of the harbour. It really is a spectacular spot. We make a concerted effort to offer the best Quadra Island has to offer but it's always nice to hear when our guests feel we've achieved that level of hospitality, too. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    20
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
52
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just came back from a wonderful weekend at GHR.
Service was excellent and the hotel was very accommodating to all of our needs.
Super friendly staff - made us feel like we were part of the family - the head chef even fried up some the rock cod my son had caught -
We had a fishig charter arranged by the hotel that was first class. The guide was very knowledgeable and easy to spend time with - my 12 year old was thrilled with his first ever Salmon. In fact he has convinced me to make a return trip at the end of August.

The hot tub and sauna were great-the homemade muffins and breakfast in the morning was a perfect touch.

Can't wait to come back next month.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GowllandHarbour, Owner at Gowlland Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for the review, John! Your group was a delight to host and it was great seeing the smiles on the kids' faces after fishing. Priceless! We look forward to seeing you again in August and aim to make it as memorable a holiday then, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just coming home from the Best surprise Birthday weekend ever!
Arriving to my favorite escape destination to discover 18 of my friends and family had made it there before me left me speechless.
With separate cottages for each family and the main lodge for smaller groups, the resort was a perfect accommodation for a larger gathering with differing needs for the myriad of amenities offered.
In the 3 days, we enjoyed a fabulous full day of salmon fishing with Sonny Boon of Boonies Charters.
Sonny could not have made the day any better, his skills and personality, coupled with his comfortable and spotless boat (and excellent satellite radio) made for a perfect day taking in the rugged west coast splendor and competing in a serious girls against guys fishing derby.
The Resort organised a whale watching excursion for 12 that the kids were still talking about 2 days later .the 4 hr trip included an extremely knowledgeable guide who entertained as well as informed. The kids were thrilled by the ride through the rapids, an up close encounter with a beachcombing bear and a cruise with a pod of curious dolphin.
The breathtakingly gorgeous resort grounds proved to offer something for everyone including a putting green, an Oceanside fire Pitt, a huge dock for fishing and a calm pristine cove for kayaking and beachcombing.
As if this all wasn't enough, Marianna, the extraordinary chef and hostess gave us a culinary experience we may never be able to top.
Incorporating our freshly caught rock cod, Chinook, and Dungeness crab, Marianna daily creations were beyond Devine.
Even though we managed to stay up late and get up early, our heavenly bedroom accommodations left us feeling refreshed and wanting to stay forever. Waking to the sound of the ocean and seagulls never gets old.
Leaving this morning was the only hard part of the whole weekend.
The Gowlland Harbour Resort has firmly planted itself on the top of our families favorite escape destinations.
If you are looking for a one of a kind West coast experience to create those perfect memories of a lifetime, treat yourself just once and you will be hooked!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GowllandHarbour, Owner at Gowlland Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are so happy that your surprise birthday was a huge success for everyone but most importantly, you! Your family and group of friends who flew in from all over were a delight to host. We know we have a little slice of heaven here but it makes our day when our guests feel the same way. So glad that while you were here you experienced a ton of fun West Coast activities like fishing, wildlife tours and hanging out by the water. Next time, we'll get you all up on paddle boards, too!

PS: Many thanks to the organizer of your surprise party for choosing Gowlland Harbour Resort as the place to celebrate a special date with good friends and family. We are honoured!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just returned from a wonderful extended weekend stay at the Gowlland Harbour resort and it was our first time visiting Quadra Island. What an experience! We stayed in one of the rooms within the main resort building as part of a deal we purchased through BC Ferries. The room was clean and cozy, with a very, very comfortable bed! Other than that, pretty standard room. After having seen the other vacation rentals on the property (and their views!), I think we would definitely opt for one of those in future - I think we would have appreciated the kitchen and balcony that the beach house suites had, for example! We happened to be staying at the resort with very few other guests though, so it really felt like we had our very own grounds to explore and enjoy. In fact, we were encouraged to wander the property and make full use of it's amenities, such as their dock, hot tub, sauna, and fire pit! We didn't get to the hot tub and sauna, but loved to wander the property and my fiance would fish off the dock, which was also a great stargazing spot when it was clear out. All the staff were so warm, helpful and knowledgeable to boot. In particular, Lynne was very friendly and knowledgeable. She even stopped by at the end of her day to chat with us. Loved it!

All in all, I would definitely come back for food and accommodations at the Gowlland Harbour Resort! Quadra Island has become a very special place to us now.... getting away from it all to relax without losing out on modern conveniences and luxury!

Room Tip: In future, I would stay in one of their suites instead of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyoto
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the properties overlooking the bay, as we were a party of seven. It was very comfortable and well equipped and very clean and there was a bowl of fruit and bottles of water provided, as well as the usual toiletries, coffee and tea.
Everyone who worked there were pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The hot tub was very hot and the sauna was nice but it did not have an internal timer.
We had a very pleasant evening dinner - the food was freshly cooked and we each had different food and all enjoyed it.
We had a four year old in the group and he was asked what he wanted to eat and this was cooked for him. They don't have an actual child menu. The hotel was very child friendly.
We went salmon fishing and were lucky enough to catch fish which the kitchen was happy to fillet and we were able to bbq it outside our house.
We were provided with an iron when we asked for one.
There was a dock where you could watch wildlife and the owner was very knowledgeable and told us what we could see and all about the island. We saw seals, bald eagles, deer, sea life a snake and humming bird - the otters weren't about.
Would we stay again - yes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hurricanekatrina_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GowllandHarbour, Owner at Gowlland Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and found it idyllic and peaceful! Gowlland Harbour is a great spot to relax and watch the wildlife, from the eagles that soar down from the tree tops to the seals in the harbour, and the many deer who are like family on the property greeting guests each day. Hopefully next time you'll get an otter sighting!

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying here with children, as well. Even though we don't have an official children's menu, our Chef loves create something in the moment that is yummy and kid-friendly. Her straw fries -- which came about from a child asking for french fries -- are still a huge hit. They continue to be a secret special order but for some reason they have a growing following!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Dee and Warren, Nancy and I received an invite from the manager of Gowlland Harbour Resort to visit for a dining experience at their Resort. We both operate B&B's at Royston in the Comox Valley and were looking for an opportunity to visit Quadra Island.
After touring around the island we walked onto the large outdoor deck and were greeted at a restaurant door by both the front desk managed and the head Chef and resort Manager.
The rest of our experience was exceptional. As we are from the Comox Valley our expectations
on food and dining out are very high, Gowlland Harbour met and exceeded these. Food portions were generous, delicious and presented in a most professional manner. Service was also very courteous from our knowlegeable server.

The dining area and Hotel itself are both West Coast decor and timber construction of exceptional quality throughout. While we would like you to stay at Royston House or Willow Guest House in Royston, you should spend a few days enjoying this exceptional resort in the wilds on Quadra Island.

Room Tip: How about a honeymoon suite overlooking the Gowlland Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GowllandHarbour, Owner at Gowlland Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, Ross! It's high praise considering you come from an area with a number of great restaurants, as you mentioned, so we are pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations! Glad you came as a group to enjoy and hope we see back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here in April for 2 nights on a Spa Pkg. This is a gorgeous property, with house rentals available in addition to the 9 rooms. The food is delicious, salads are so good and mains are beautifully presented. Valerie, our server was excellent at her job, we were lucky to have her both days. My only issue was the 2 hour massage, booked for 3pm on our last day. The girl was 25 minutes late, gave a mediocre massage, and did not make up the time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurallee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GowllandHarbour, Owner at Gowlland Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We're very happy your stay in our hotel, and your meals and service in the dining room were excellent! Our chef and staff aim to offer a premium experience for each guest -- from the details of your room to the beautiful presentation of your food. Thank you for booking a Spa Package with us, although we're very sorry to hear your massage was not the level of service you expected. We have spoken with the masseuse and have sent you a follow up email directly. Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review. We so appreciate the feedback so we can make adjustments at our end to ensure all of our guests have a seamless experience and level of service throughout their visit. We hope you'll return for another stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
288 reviews
4.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
355 reviews
1.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#1 of 9 in Quadra Island
214 reviews
3.1 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
94 reviews
2.4 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowlland Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowlland Harbour Resort

Property: Gowlland Harbour Resort
Address: 823 Gowlland Harbour Road, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking oceanfront. Peaceful surroundings. Spectacular wildlife. Experience the magic of Gowlland Harbour Resort and boutique hotel, a world-class private retreat perfect for your next family holiday or romantic getaway. Nestled on 20 acres of lush coastal landscape, less than two hours by plane from Vancouver, BC, Gowlland Harbour Resort is the location for truly memorable vacations. Located on picturesque Quadra Island, BC, the Resort’s cozy rooms, ocean views and quiet lookout points and beach offer abundant opportunities for rest, relaxation and connecting with nature.You will be enchanted by the features of this extraordinary West Coast location, with its year-round opportunities for hiking, kayaking, whale watching, salmon fishing, biking and golfing (we even have our own professional putting green on site!). Make the most of your stay with the property’s massage room, sauna and well-equipped fitness room that has floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the harbour.As well, our restaurant is run by our wonderful chef who makes everything homemade and focuses on locally-sourced ingredients. She will tantalize you with fresh, beautiful meals and decadent desserts. Most of our menu is also gluten free! If you’re looking to host a family reunion, team-building workshop or health retreat, you can book the entire resort—exclusively for you and up to 32 guests. Regardless of what brings you here, we’ll work with you to create a custom-tailored and unforgettable stay.Gowlland Harbour Resort — where wild West Coast beauty meets natural elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gowlland Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing