We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gowlland Harbour Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Visit”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Hello from Dave and Krislynne! Thank you for the wonderful food and hospitality during our Orca Camp visit. We wanted very much to stay a few more days!

I can't recommend you enough. If it didn't take 12+ hours to get there we would probably visit once a month.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kms1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    20
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
52
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have travelled to BC from Sydney Australia. We stayed 4 nights at the Gowlland Harbour Resort as part of our Wildcoast Adventures Orca Camp package.
We were so pleased with this accommodation. The rooms were spacious with modern clean bathrooms. The location of the resort is just stunning. With direct views of a pristine lake and set amongst some large shady trees. The resort also has a hot tub & sauna on the balcony with beautiful water views.
The staff were very attentive and were willing to help with any requests we had.
Gowlland Harbour Resort is well known for their gourmet food and it really lived up to its reputation. Head chef Marianna along with her talented team prepared some outstanding meals for us. Both at breakfast and dinner. The dishes were always fresh and full of flavor.
They also now have a new private beach house close to the water so it really does suit couples and larger groups.
We will definitely come back here next time we travel to Canada!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Logi_Nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My son and I stayed here prior to an Orca trip. The room was unremarkable but reasonable, small but with beautiful water views. It's a shame it was a double rather than a twin, but I didn't make a special request in advance. The property generally is lovely, with perfect island scenery, super-quiet, and otters, mink, deer, eagles and seals all putting in an appearance. Dinner was definitely the high point - not just the amazing views, but truly excellent food. The availability of almost everything on the menu with gluten-free, dairy-free options was a great start, and Marianne was extremely helpful in tailoring the dishes for our specific requirements. Quite delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbirdmanvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staying here was simply incredible, the view was breath taking! The resort itself was gorgeous! Customer service amazing! Food was delicious! Cleanliness was spot on! I don't have one bad thing to say, this place is a gem that I will continue to go back to! Thanks Gowlland Harbour!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtnayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I highly recommend Gowlland Harbour . The food was wonderful , the newly opened Beach house with 2 decks so close to the water gave a perfect vantage point to see the Eagles swooping in to hunt . In the morning we would set crab traps and the kids would scream with delight at the end of the day when there were crabs waiting .
Marianne the chef was so gracious in preparing our catch and we had the best time fishing for salmon and kayaking- .leaping dolphins followed our boat! Recommend highly !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritzygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent one night here before our orca camp trip. This hotel is on a lovely bay and has a great atmosphere. Our room was very small (#1) but had water views. The surprise was the quality of the food. Our seafood dinner was excellent in every way!!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view but maybe a bigger room than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
America, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one short night in their brand new beach house as part of our amazing, 5-day Island Joy Rides bike tour. We pulled up to the deck at Gowlland by water taxi, bikes and all, and were led to our 2-bedroom, 3-bath, plus living room, kitchen, sitting room, and giant wrap around deck with stunning water views. The mattresses were luxurious...always a treat. There are a few things it needs that time and more guests will help them realize. For us, these were a designated router for the beach house because the wifi does not work there at all with the signals from the router in the main building, little items in the kitchen like a bottle opener and ice in the freezer, and a telephone so you can call up to the front desk and ask to have these brought down instead of having to hike up to the main building.

The dinner prepared and presented by Chef (and property manager) Mariana was superb. We so enjoyed learning about the foods we would be eating from her. In the morning, breakfast on the deck was perfect and the fresh popovers, with butter churned onsite, delicious. In fact, the fresh breads at dinner as well were a stand out.

Quadra Island was a very special place for our family from the DC area to visit and your by bike. Gowlland is a shining star on Quadra. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerMaryland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GowllandHarbour, Owner at Gowlland Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Sounds like you had a wonderful foodie biking trip here on the West Coast with Island Joy Rides! Yes, it's true that our chef churns her own butter and her baking is a delicious fresh treat! Thank you for your kind words and review. Our Beach House is a new addition to our vacation rentals and since it doesn't have a full kitchen, it is missing a few items that we greatly appreciate you noting so we can add those helpful items to the suite right away. We apologize that you had issues receiving a strong wireless signal and are looking into how we can improve that. We hope to welcome you back, in future, if you return to Quadra Island for another holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
261 reviews
4.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
319 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
392 reviews
3.1 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heriot Bay Inn
Heriot Bay Inn
#5 of 9 in Quadra Island
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowlland Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowlland Harbour Resort

Property: Gowlland Harbour Resort
Address: 823 Gowlland Harbour Road, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking oceanfront. Peaceful surroundings. Spectacular wildlife. Experience the magic of Gowlland Harbour Resort and boutique hotel, a world-class private retreat perfect for your next family holiday or romantic getaway. Nestled on 20 acres of lush coastal landscape, less than two hours by plane from Vancouver, BC, Gowlland Harbour Resort is the location for truly memorable vacations. Located on picturesque Quadra Island, BC, the Resort’s cozy rooms, ocean views and quiet lookout points and beach offer abundant opportunities for rest, relaxation and connecting with nature.You will be enchanted by the features of this extraordinary West Coast location, with its year-round opportunities for hiking, kayaking, whale watching, salmon fishing, biking and golfing (we even have our own professional putting green on site!). Make the most of your stay with the property’s massage room, sauna and well-equipped fitness room that has floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the harbour.As well, our restaurant is run by our wonderful chef who makes everything homemade and focuses on locally-sourced ingredients. She will tantalize you with fresh, beautiful meals and decadent desserts. Most of our menu is also gluten free! If you’re looking to host a family reunion, team-building workshop or health retreat, you can book the entire resort—exclusively for you and up to 32 guests. Regardless of what brings you here, we’ll work with you to create a custom-tailored and unforgettable stay.Gowlland Harbour Resort — where wild West Coast beauty meets natural elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gowlland Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing