We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spot”
Review of Blue Vista Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mayne Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Vista Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We rented one of the studio cottages in August 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the cottages are very clean and have everything you need, including a kitchenette and porch. The prices are very reasonable for the service and amenities. It is a short walk from the resort to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BasedinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2011

Between the Blue Vista, The Wild Fennel and Linda's Bakery, I had to rip my kids off the island. This place is a a total breath of fresh air! Our cottage was spotlessly maintained and had a handy kitchenette. We got stuck missing our Ferry (which is a bit tricky to time sometimes...) Carmen was kind and really helpful. The island itself is for people who want to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet. Tide pools to ponder, beautiful trails to walk through, beautiful views and yummy places to eat in between... We'll be back!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rroy1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We rented the Kingfisher cottage at Blue Vista for 2 nights. We were given a courtesy ride to and from the resort to Village Bay ferry terminal thanks to Carmen and Andrew our hots at Blue Vista. We had a great time there and were taken care for really well by Carmen. The resort is self-contained and has all the comforts one can think of and my son thoroughly enjoyed the play area outside the resort. Since it it at the opposite end of the island from the ferry terminal we made sure we had stocked ourselves with food and cooking supplies. The cottage was cozy and had all the amenities including free Wi-Fi. A short walk took us to many beaches and we enjoyed hiking in Bennet Bay and had beautiful views of Georgeson Island. The best part about Mayne Island is that it is untouched by hotel and restaurant chains and is very rustic and beautiful. Its is a pity that visitors flock to Victoria and miss out on the more scenic and beautiful Gulf Islands. I would highly recommend Blue Vista.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevelling_Macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The Blue Vista Resort offers guests a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere to get away from the day to day hustle of city life. The resort and its fully stocked cabins are well maintained and very clean.You could eat off the floor of the cabins! The service we received at Blue Vista was top nouch! Carmen went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed throughout our stay. She's was also a great travel guide, pointing us in the direction of all Mayne Island's tourists spots.

Mayne Island is absolutely beautiful with several amazing tourist sites to vist, especailly the Japanese Garden!

Thank-you for such a memorable stay!
Kim, Scott & Maddy (the dog)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberlyrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

The cottages are really cute. The rooms are very clean. We had a nice fireplace in our cottage. The showers are awesome (very strong power) but we were the only ones at the resort one day yet ran out of hot water. The cottages also have kitchens, which is important because there are only two eateries on the island. There are two supermarkets, so stock up and cook food yourself. This place is close to the beach, which is nice for beachcombing or fishing (not swimming). It's also close to a national park reserve, with nice views of the gulf. It's a very short hike. This is the quietest of the Gulf Islands. We wanted quiet, but we went in the off-season to a quiet island. Wow! Talk about quiet. There is NO nightlife. Also, be careful about the season. We went in May which is still the rainy season. It rained nearly the whole time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We decided to stay on Mayne Island during the Olympics but didn't want to bring our car over from Vancouver. We called Carmen, the new owner, and she happily agreed to pick us up from the Ferry Terminal on Mayne. It is a short ferry trip from the Vancouver terminal but check the departure schedules to make sure it fits in your schedule. Upon arrival we spotted the Blue Vista Resort truck and a waving Carmen - nice reception! She gave us a tour of the island and some brief history before arriving back at the Resort. The resort itself is a combination of stand alone cottages and duplex style cottages. It is at the end of a road so traffic is almost non-existant which makes for a very quiet and relaxing stay. Come to think of it, the only delay on the road was a Great Blue Heron who wasn't in a hurry to move! Our cottage was in the duplex style - very warm, cozy and inviting. The suite was spotless and ready for us. It had all we needed - king size bed, tv, fireplace in the sitting room, kitchenette and big bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, lots of blankets for curling up in front of the fireplace and lots of towels in the bathroom. We appreciated the cleanliness of the suite. At night on the deck we could hear the sea lions across the road in the cove and in the morning we awoke to deer grazing in the yard outside our door. The bird feeders on our deck were really a nice touch to bring nature closer yet. Loved the bird songs from the forest. We went for a walk across the road to the cove/beach and really enjoyed the sights and sounds of the ocean. This is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Quiet, charming and very enjoyable. When it was time for us to go, Carmen took us back to the ferry terminal (a very short car ride from the resort). Carmen went out of her way to make sure we had all we needed for our stay. Great personal service - hard to find nowadays but here it was - thank you! I highly recommend Blue Vista Resort for your next visit to Mayne Island!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We went last year in October 2009 to Mayne Island and stayed in the "Blue Vista Resort ",which was recommended by some friends of ours.We where pleasantly surprised at the nice cabins.Some bigger,some smaller,they all looked very clean and where newly decorated.And there is no smoking in the cabins,which is great.We had one of the bigger cabins and felt right at home.The kitchen had everything you need,the furniture and the bed where very cozy and comfortable.The new owner, Carmen Pearson,is a very pleasant and in every way very helpful Lady.Since it wasn't to busy,at that time, she drove us around and showed us all the beautiful places,the beaches for swimming,or if you just like to collect seashells,you can do that too.We went to the Japanese Gardens,which where amazing,and there is also a unique Restaurant and a grocery store close to the resort.There are also beautiful walking areas,we went wild Mushroom hunting,which we eat with our steak on the b.b.q,they are also supplied..This is a place for young and old,lots to do if you like,or just sit quiet and read a book. We liked it so much,that we are taking our company from Germany in May for few days.We are really looking forward for some fun days.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huntingboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Vista Resort

Address: 563 Arbutus Dr, British Columbia V0N 2J0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Mayne Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6km from ferry, in the Bennett Bay area. Quiet, peaceful, nestled amongst towering fir trees and brushed by ocean breezes is Mayne Islands year round cottage resort. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced accommodation. Nine cottages including studios, one bedrooms and two bedrooms all with large kitchens and full bathrooms. Many with fireplaces. Near National Park and beach. We help arrange ferry pick-up, kayak tours and rentals and bike rentals. Ideal for quiet retreats, family vacations and groups. Dogs welcomed in certain cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Vista Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing