We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service- Great Fishing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was my fist fishing trip at The Clubhouse- West Coast Fishing Club. We had four in our group. We were there in the last week of June. These folks know how to arrange an itinerary and they are very good at it! From booking, pre-travel arrangements (including a suggested packing list) , travelling, lodging, food and drinks, gear , boats and guides,all the way to fish processing- they got it right! The management and staff are simply the best at making everyone feel at home and special. The facilities are excellent. Exceeded the expectations set by their website!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCFC, Guest Relations Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Steph,
We are so pleased to hear your trip exceeded your expectations. We always want to ensure we set up our guests for success – especially when it comes to packing the right layers! Hope to have you back again in 2016.
The West Coast Fishing Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Not your normal fishing lodge. I took my 19 year old son to The Clubhouse for a graduation present. From the first contact though the drop off at the airport everything was handled in the most professional and courteous manner. Having traveled extensively all over the world, this place ranks with the best especially considering the remote and beautiful setting. This lodge is good enough to bring anyone from a client to your wife. Make sure to check out the last minute deals if you are flexible.

Room Tip: Water view is worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCFC, Guest Relations Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Rob,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you and your son had a great time in Haida Gwaii. Hope to see you both again.
The West Coast Fishing Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Every year I go fishing with Westcoast Fishing Club they continue to impress me. This year we enjoyed some of the best fishing in years with lots of fish in the 15-20 pound range (too many to count) along with some in the mid twenties. There were tyees caught but we were not part of that fishing club this year. Again - the staff, food, accommodations and equipment are well above par, I'd say the best in the industry. After an excellent day on the water, you wouldn't think it could get better but it does. After a great spread of appies, a fantastic dinner and drinks with some great guests it all gets capped off with the amazing accommodations for some rest to do it all again in the morning! We'll be back next year and if they keep getting better and better like they have - we might not leave!

Room Tip: An Oceanview room can make your visit that much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Derek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCFC, Guest Relations Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Derek,
We are so happy to hear we leave you impressed year after year. Looking forward to having you back again in 2016!
The West Coast Fishing Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I took my father here for 5 day/4 night fishing trip in June/July and it was incredible on all levels. Pre-trip details were well handled, and the arrival sets the tone for a great trip as staff line up to greet you with handshakes, smiles and amazing food. The lodge is friendly with a diverse set of guests - not the country club types that one might expect at a high end lodge. There are wonderful places to socialize or just sit and read - lots of big comfy chairs, some by fireplace, some inside, some out. Food was inventive and well presented; staff was always eager and happy to serve. The boats were clean and well equipped and the guides were fantastic - on a week that was judged by them to be kind of "meh" we brought home over 200 pounds of fish and released 2 for every one we kept. There were nice touches like a a locker room for suiting up, a catering room where you took whatever you wanted on the boat - fresh fruit, granola bars, nuts, soda, beer, juice, brownies / cookies, coffee / tea etc. And then the "candy boat" (just like on a golf course) comes around to replenish your cooler. One day we were fishing in the pouring rain (but we were relatively dry in our suits) and candy boat came by with a bottle of French wine and hot shrimp and scallop scampi skewers. How perfect is that? Overall a great trip, comfortable rooms, great fishing, a definite bucket list kind of place.

Room Tip: While you do not spend a lot of time in the room, I really appreciated the waterfront room - great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHR_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The most amazing vacation I have had in any country at any time. After my wife successfully battled ovarian cancer earlier this year, we celebrated with a return trip to Langara Island, our favourite place in the world. We caught dozens of fish, wined and dined and slept like the dead in a luxurious room with cotton sheets and duvet. The staff outnumber guests and anticipate your every wish. The boats are all Boston Whalers, safe and reliable. Haida Gwaii is the very best outdoor experience that Canada has to offer. The Clubhouse (and its sister lodge, the Outpost) offer the ultimate marine wilderness experience, but with all the comforts of a five star boutique hotel. We met people from all over North America, many of whom make annual pilgimages here. Lots of familes and friends making lifelong memories. There is not a more unique experience to be had. Thanks to Terry Cowan and the Clubhouse staff for everything.

Room Tip: Opt for the second floor to avoid the creaking footsteps of early rising anglers. Ocean view rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If amazing food, first class service, and world class fishing is not for you, then you should probably look elsewhere. The west coast fishing club has a spectacular reputation for a reason and it is more than well deserved. I was fortunate enough to spend 4 days with my father up at the clubhouse in June. This is the place where memory's are made. Upon arriving to the lodge you descend on what is one of the most undisturbed, serene locations you can find and are immediately greeted by the staff's smiling faces. The level of service is unmatched, you truly feel welcomed into "their home". Never is a glass empty, or does a request go unanswered. Out on the water, our guide (Ian) took two inexperienced salmon fisherman and made us "experts" by the end of the trip. If your considering a trip out to Langara Island, look no further...this is your spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felixdahousecat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had the good fortune of spending four days with the staff of the West Coast Fishing Club. I was blown away by the service and experience at all levels. The lodge is incredible, the staff is a ten out of ten, the guides are the finest in the market, and the fishing is the best on the globe. I caught a 38 pound tyee and will never forget the experience of bringing that fish in with my guide Mike. I have traveled the world and been very fortunate in my life, the time at WCF ranks in my top five and my bucketlist is that much closer to being complete. If you want to experience mother nature at its finest I highly recommend WCF, from the moment the helicopter lands you will never forget your days ahead. Matthew

Room Tip: Bring lots of layers it can be 28 degrees of very very cold on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
0.0 mi away
Northern Shores Lodge
Northern Shores Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sandspit
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westc...
#6 of 26 in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#25 of 278 in Vancouver Island
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hiellen Longhouse Village
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse

Address: Langara Island, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Price Range: £957 - £1,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing