We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Museum”

Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Haida Heritage Centre is a wonderful combination of excellent architecture and a marvelous site reminiscent of a Haida village.

The "frosting on the cake" is a truly amazing collection presented with great skill and fine design covering the rich history and stunning art of the Haida.

Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaidaHeritageCentre, Visitor Services Coordinator at Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Haida Heritage Centre! Haawa/thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Most people fly in and out of Sandspit for their trip to Haida Gwaii. It is highly recommended that you spend several hours at the Heritage Centre outside of Skidegate (a short ferry ride across the inlet from Sandspit). If you do it before your trip you'll probably spend half a day there. If you do it afterwards you may spend longer. It puts so much of this lovely place and its culture and history into perspective.Some people recommend a visit on either end of the trip. As someone said - don't miss it.The cafe has some great seafood chowder! Wonderful collection of books and crafts for sale in gift shop.

1  Thank lorrainetSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaidaHeritageCentre, Visitor Services Coordinator at Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Yes, haawa/thank you, it is very important to spend time at the Centre on either end of your trip. When you visit the HHC at the end of your trip it really wraps it up in a beautiful way. Haawa/thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We recently visited the Haida Heritage Centre and couldn't get over how beautiful the scenery they have. From Cohen's Pole Tour to his Haida Song and Dance Performance, we couldn't get over how knowledgeable and presentable these young gentlemen were. My wife and I will definitely be returning next year.

Kudos HHC!

Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaidaHeritageCentre, Visitor Services Coordinator at Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Centre! Haawa/thank you for stopping by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If you are interested in Haida culture (or even if you are not) this is a place NOT TO MISS! If you are NOT interested, give it an hour or two, if you ARE interested, as we were, give it 4 or more hours.

The exhibit space is huge, and strung out, so it just seems to go, and go, and gooooo....

Plus they give at lest three, escorted, tours each day: Weaving, canoes,and totems. We didn't have time to wait for the weaving tour (though we're sure it was excellent), but the two that we did experience (totems and canoes) were very well done by an experienced and knowledgeable guide

All of the tours are included with the basic admission to the site. Each takes about 35-45 minutes, and they are spaced at 2 hour intervals. We got there an hour before the first (canoes) and stayed until well after the second (totems). We were there almost 5 hours, and still felt, well, almost rushed, to see it all. A beautiful site with really interesting guides. Don't leave Skidegate without visiting. Oh...lovely looking meals, too, though we had eaten just before we arrived so didn't partake. The fresh-baked bread look and SMELLED glorious!

Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaidaHeritageCentre, Visitor Services Coordinator at Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

It's great to hear that you enjoyed two of three tours offered at the Centre! Haawa/thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent much of our first day on Haida Gwaii at the Haida Heritage Center. We couldn't have chosen a better place to start. We were given an informative introductory talk and slide show by a member of the park staff, took an interpretive tour of the totem poles that have been erected outside the Center, and visited the large shelter where Haida artist Jaalen Edenshaw and an assistant were carving a totem pole to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the agreement between the Haida Nation and the Canadian government to protect Gwaii Haanas. Under the shelter there are also three Haida canoes, including the Lootaas (wave-eater), designed by renowned Haida artist Bill Reid.

Afterward, we spent a couple of hours touring the museum, which is world-class caliber. The exhibits cover the history and culture of Haida Gwaii and the Haida people. We could easily have spent twice as much time in the museum and probably still not have seen everything of significance in the collection. The didactics we well done, and the presentation of the objects was highly professional. We learned a tremendous amount in a short period of time. Our visit to the museum and cultural center vastly enriched the rest of our time on Haida Gwaii.

Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaidaHeritageCentre, Visitor Services Coordinator at Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Centre! We hope you make it back to Haida Gwaii to see the Legacy Pole raised in Gwaii Haanas! Haawa/thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay also viewed

Queen Charlotte City, Graham Island
Port Clements, Graham Island
 
Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands), British Columbia
Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands), British Columbia
 

Been to Haida Heritage Centre at Kay Llnagaay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing