We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was a good place to stay; not any more”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Charlotte City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dorothy and Mike's Guest House
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Was a good place to stay; not any more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The location is good and some of the rooms are quite pleasant. Thus, I returned four times. On the first stay Mike was very helpful. On each of the successive stays he has not been available and the service has declined. There were errors in their reservation system even though they were "confirmed" in advance. In one case I had to find another place to stay with no notice. In the other cases I was moved from room to room. Given that my reservations were made months in advance, it is not clear why I needed to change rooms every night. Perhaps this was done to increase the occupancy rate for the less desirable rooms that do not have a private bath.

Room Tip: What ever room you choose, there is no guarantee you will get the room that you reserve. If you rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biztraveler05340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    11
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We started off in the Sageflower Suite...which we loved! My husband and I were travelling with my mom and the suite was a nice size for the three of us - we loved the view! We weren't sure of our plans upon getting to the island so we only booked for a couple of nights. Fortunately Mike was able to accommodate us a couple other times and we stayed in By the Sea and the Woodland Cottage. We would happily stay in any of the three places again.

We didn't see much of Dorothy, but had chats with Mike daily. He was always kind and willing to solve any logistical questions we had. The morning of our departure we found some canned salmon beside our door, courtesy of Mike; no fanfare, a quiet smile, and a matter-of-fact demeanor.

Quite simply, we can't wait to go back for another visit...

Room Tip: The Sageflower Suite was our favourite because the view is stunning! Be sure you like cats...they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've stayed here twice over the years in my two times to Haida Gwaii and both times found this place charming and comfortable. I most recently stayed in a detached cottage. It was fairly new and had lots of room. The full kitchen is great. Comes with everything you would need to make your own meals. (This is not a B&B.) There's a barbecue, lots of deck space and patio furniture. There's a washer and dryer also for any laundry you might have. The place was clean, except the towels were kind of smelly. The shower is fine. Each bedroom has its own little flat screen tv. There is also wifi included. (My bed was too soft for me.) The main house has a separate room as a cat shelter, so you can visit with kittens and cats. There are a few house cats around that greet you when you come home, but they do not enter the houses or cottages. The place is located on a very steep hill, so be prepared. The place is close to the restaurants and shops, all within walking distance down the hill. Nice garden. Great views.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed a total of 4 nights, 2 in the upstairs Kumis room and 2 the loft room above it, both with ensuite bathrooms. Open & airy. Comfortable beds and a wonderful shared space with a great library of books on local culture, facilities for making coffee, tea & light breakfast. It was perfect for us to stay and wind down after a 4-day Moresby Adventure tour and then again after camping up at Agate beach. We are allergic to cats so were concerned when we found out that this is a cat shelter. But they are kept in a separate room so didn't bother us at all. Nice to be able to walk to the little town of Queen Charlotte (although the hill is quite steep) and sit out the deck sipping a beer or taking a sauna at day's end. Mike is very friendly. Didn't see much of Dorothy.

Room Tip: Kumis Room is the best in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

If having a friendly and welcoming host is important to you, or if you want a host that will provide you with recommendations on what to do in the area, take a pass on this establishment. The rooms were clean and cozy. The room downstairs is dark and does not have a view. The Sunflower room has a deck with a nice view of the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sloesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Really terrific place to stay on wonderful Haida Gwaii. Really helpful hosts , lovely room with view of the pacific and very nice en suite bathroom. Loved the kittens next door in the cat sanctuary wanted to take them all home. Great facilities but this is not a B&B go to queen B'sfor breakfast - lovely!!
We were particularly fortunate to arrive on the IslNd the week end of the pole raising and pot laitch.
We had the most amazing experience and in the words of the Governor we'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank champagnecatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights recently in one of their suits - both the sunflower and sage suites were very pleasant and comfortable. What we really appreciated was the helpful manner of the hosts when our plans had to be slightly changed at the last minute (due to another organization changing our dates!) As veterans of B&B's all around the world, this is the type of thing which sets B&B's apart from clinical hotels - and Dorothy's & Mike's passed with flying colours! Thanks so much guys for a great stay and all your help.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank freedom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dorothy and Mike's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorothy and Mike's Guest House

Property: Dorothy and Mike's Guest House
Address: 3127 Second Ave, Queen Charlotte City, British Columbia V0T 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) > Graham Island > Queen Charlotte City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Queen Charlotte City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing