We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
59
3
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
3
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh apple juicefarthing cornerfull englishcooked breakfasttrimmingsensuitewedding
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

A wonderful B & B in Wiltshire's Test Valley,with an extremely warm welcome from Liz Dowding. Our double room was large and comfy ( as was the bed!) - loved the fluffy bath robes for guest use also. The rpivate bathroom was very well appointed. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the scrambled eggs were the best we have tasted for years. Local amenities include many good local pubs and Salisbury, Avebury within easy distance. We can highly recommend this B & B and hope to return .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and me are very frequent travellers to the UK and we always stay with the better B&Bs and then often visit National Trust places. Although we are Dutch, we are members of the NT since over 25 years.
This B&B ranks in the top ones we have had and we will certainly be back. When in England you do as the English is the slogan of Liz when it comes to breakfast. A simple toast and jam or cereal is frowned upon. That apparently is for folk from the continent who do not know better.... Here is the real stuff and cooked by Liz to perfection. She also is a great hostess and very knowledgeable on the whole area of Wiltshire and Hamshire and no doubt many other counties. Having worked for a multinational, english is my second language but I told Liz she spoke it very clearly and it was easy for us to understand her. With some accents this is more difficult than with others. You ask Liz yourself where she grew up to acquire such an old 'BBC' accent.
The B&B was exactly as advertised, the area beautiful and there are many interesting places to visit. Very convenient to have a friendly country pub closeby (600m, I measured it with my car...) At night it was completely quiet and one sleeps very well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We would defy any number of Michelin starred chefs(including Heston) to equal the breakfast provided for us by Liz at Farthing Corner. Each ingredient was hand picked,some home produced,and all was cooked and presented with such finesse that we were gasronomically stunned with admiration.

Room Tip: Our double with ensuite was spacious and luxurious,far better than the standard provided by most top notch hotels.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

After a family wedding we can genuinely say that staying at Farthing Corner was like home from home.We had a warm welcome from Liz the owner, nothing was too much trouble, indeed she went out of her way to accommodate us.
This 15th century thatched house is set in an idyllic location with surrounding private woods, the ambience of the house is very warm and cosy. The rooms are very clean and comfortable,the bathrooms modern & well appointed. Breakfast was generous & well cooked. Everyone in the family group would love to stay there again & would definitely recommend Farthing Corner to other family members & friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zephyr782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Clear directions and warm welcome with a cup of tea brought to the room. Comfortable bed and sumptuous breakfast. Can't be faulted.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews