We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English country charm at its finest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Tytherley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farthing Corner Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 12 September 2012

15 minutes off the A303 takes you into a pastoral delight. Picture perfect thatched cottage/house set in lovely gardens with immaculate lawn and bountiful herbacious borders. Beautiful back garden leading to pond which must be gorgeous in the spring with bluebells. Chickens pottering around the back and producing excelent eggs for breakfast.
Inside the rooms are cosy, tucked upstairs. Comfortable bed and a good bathroom down the end of the hall. Good towels and bathrobes. Copious hot water, good shower and an inviting tub. Good selection of books to browse if you are staying for a while.
Downstairs a very nice dining and sitting area. Large communal table which sparks good chats with a suprsiing mix of guests. Liz produces a huge and excellent breakfast. She is a warm and knowledgeble host. Our only regret was that our stay was so brief. We ate at the local pub; fine but would try Liz's cooking next time. This would be an excellent place for a relaxing weekend with Winchester, Salisbury, Romney and Stonehenge all within 15-30 minutes.
Excellent value. We paid more for much less elsewhere on our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Farthing Corner Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

We couldn't have asked for more from our 3 night stay for a nearby wedding.
A fantastic breakfast at whatever time we wanted was usually finished off with a long chat with Liz. She is well travelled and the common areas of the house are interspersed with trinkets and interesting paintings.
We stayed in the 'garden room' which came with kettle, tv, choice of dvd's, and a very comfy bed. There was a curtain missing from over the glass door at the front but a well-positioned towel kept out the morning sun.
Overall, happy with the accommodation, and the house and gardens are beautiful; the view finished perfectly with the chickens running around!

Room Tip: Give Liz a phone and she will sort you out.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregorstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Tucked away in north Hampshire, this is the ideal place to relax. Liz is a great host, friendly warm and welcoming. Her house oozes country charm from the thatched roof to beamed ceilings and chickens roaming the drive. Our room was a delightful mix of olde-worlde and modern appliances ( but no TV ) and was extremely comfortable. We could get internet connection and used the laptop to catch up on events. The real winner for us was the "breakfast platter". Breakfast included everything you could want and if you like your full English you won't be disappointed. Within striking distance of Bournemouth, The New Forest, Winchester and Salisbury we found it a great location - a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Farthing Corner and the chats with Liz. A very different and enjoyable experience. Lovely room and breakfast and a great pub just down the road for an evening meal. Thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking to stay near Salisbury or Winchester.

Room Tip: The large room with ensuite was just great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda-LJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I came to London for work, and we were so please when we escaped the city to stay at Farthing Corner with Liz. The whole stay was completely relaxing and comfortable. The huge, comfortable bed was an oasis in itself. Liz was a lovely host, very helpful and friendly but also let us to ourselves so that we could explore the countryside. There are some great places to eat, shop, hike and explore nearby. Liz has a beautiful house, and there are tons of interesting things tucked in every possible nook.

If we have the opportunity we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I spent three nights here in 15th to 18th October 2011. We stayed in the large double en suite bedroom with lovely views over the garden. Liz made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent - most probably more than we should have eaten, but too good to leave. If you want to stay in an old historic and characterful thatched cottage in a quiet location you will do no better. It is convenient for trips out to the New Forest and to various places of interest. Well done Liz.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Such a wonderful place to stay. The breakfasts were lovely. The large room so comforting. Location is peaceful and full of great little walks.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Farthing Corner Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthing Corner Bed & Breakfast

Address: Farthing Corner Dean Road, West Tytherley SP5 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > West Tytherley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Tytherley
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing