We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stonehenge Inn and Carvery
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stones Hotel(Salisbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhouse Motel(Cholderton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Manor Hotel(Cholderton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
113
71
27
34
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
71
27
34
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselection of vegetablesloyalty cardthe publovely mealsunday lunchcomfortable stayan overnight staystonehengexmasensuitesalisbury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Used as a base whilst visiting family in Trowbridge and Larkhill, very helpful and co-operative with our late arrival on the Friday night. Had already informed that son was based at Larkhill and would arrive before us, he was given room keys and instructions which was very useful as we didnt arrive until after midnight. Breakfst was delicious and plentyful before we went off to Trowbridge for the day. Arrived back in time for drinks in the bar and live band entertainment. Rooms were clean, spacious and extremely comfortable, brew making facilities and tv provided. Sandwich and crisps were left in rooms on Friday night and much appreciated after long journey. Breakfast was of same high standard on the Sunday. I did observe one or two teething problems with some equipment but I believe this is only related to the recent re-furbishment and will soon sort themselves out as the place settles into a routine. I highly recommend the Stonehenge Inn and Carvery as a place to stay and intend to use it again as a base when visiting family. We found all staff extremely friendly and helpful and would like to thank them for a stress free weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayeM8861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Stonehenge Inn and Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for the great feedback - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Liz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The pub was built by my wife's family and everyone said it would never work because of it's location. I have always been fond of it but for a very long time it has fallen on bad times. It was with pleasure that we learnt that it was renovated to coincide with the new Stonehenge visitors centre and last week we took some family to lunch. We like a good carver y because of the no nonsense approach to having a meal, this one was excellent and the Inn will do very well.
Our waitress Danielle was very good and priceless when our granddaughter was taken ill with a toddler sickness that had been brewing all morning. There is lots of space in the restaurant and I hope to take a large party there in October as we visit the stones, it will compliment a perfect day.
ChesterW

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHESTER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Stonehenge Inn and Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. I would be intrigued to know more about the history of the pub. I am glad you liked our carvery concept and look forward to welcoming you back in October.
Liz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Called in on way to visit family, en route to Bournemouth. Had a lovely Carvery, there was delicious choice of meat and good range of vegetables, and service was second to none. Strongly recommended. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Stonehenge Inn and Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Great review - thank you. I am glad the service was excellent as well as the food. We are striving to make our new pub a place were you feel extremely welcome.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Wanting to break our journey from Bucks down to Devon, we pulled off the A303 in search of somewhere to have lunch. We found one pub which looked nice but was closed, & the asked a chap in the street if there was anything else, He directed us to The Stonehenge, & we're very glad he did. From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel welcome with a very enthusiastic greeting. The interior looked nice, having recently been refurbed, but as the sun was shining we decided to brave the breeze & sit outside in the lovely courtyard / garden area to peruse the menus (having chosen from a good selection of beers & some truly yummy bottled fruit juices - loved the apple & pear!). One of us decided to eat from the massive selection on the carvery, & the other ordered from the menu - so the waitress told us she would give us a "2 minute warning" before the menu meal was about to be served so the "help yourself" from the carvery could take place & we could eat at the same time. We got the 2 minute warning OK, but then the other meal failed to arrive. Fortunately the chef took the trouble to come out & ask if we were enjoying our meals (!) so the error was quickly rectified, & the member of staff concerned came out to own up & apologise in person - which we appreciated! Both meals were very good - : the goats cheese & beetroot was a delicious combination of textures & flavours (although it would have been easier to eat on a flat plate rather than a bowl, no matter how much prettier it looked served that way!); the meat from the carvery was moist & tender, & the selection of vegetables varied, good quality & interestingly prepared (lots of herbs from their own garden - which also formed a very pretty part of the outside decor) We also felt the prices represented good value, & overall it was a very pleasant experience - hopefully we will get to stop again next time we are passing this way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaz_n_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Stonehenge Inn and Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Fantastic feedback - thank you. I am really pleased you were directed to our pub and hope to welcome you back again next time you are passing. Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and grandmother attended the stonehendge inn and was greeted with a warm smile and friendly staff our waitress for the stay was Sian. An excellent waitress who found nothing to much trouble my grandmother is in a wheel chair and this young lady offered to take her to the toilet for me which was very helpful as I was a bit uncomfortable going in to the lady's myself. The food was also exeptionly good lots to choose from we had the carvery the Yorkshire pudding were were really light and fluffy and the menu had something for everyone. I would like to say well done to the owners for having very polite helpful staff and great chef's thank you for a pleasant meal

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Taffynaffy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Stonehenge Inn and Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a lovely review for us. I am pleased the staff were helpful and that you enjoyed the meal. Thank you. Liz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews