We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
One of the best Trout Fishing waters in the UK!

Just had another brilliant day’s fishing at Avon Springs! All three of us caught our limit of fish... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2019
Simon D
,
London, United Kingdom
Good fishing

Me and the farther in law did this. It was a Good day out but we did find it quite expensive for a... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2019
monkeywarr
,
Durrington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 17 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Durrington
from US$215.36
More Info
from US$139.26
More Info
from US$139.26
More Info
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
10
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bays river chalk reared trees uk site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2016

A really good and well maintained trout fishery, good hard fighting fish reared on site, nice surroundings well worth a look if you fly fish.

Date of experience: November 2015
2  Thank colinmY368AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Fished here on and off many times since about 1990 but this was my first visit for quite a few months, so decided to share my experience.

Arrived mid morning and although the sun was shining there was a biting wind from the East, not ideal for fly fishing. However, the beauty of this fishery is that you can usually find a spot with some shelter.

Both lakes are nicely maintained with a good head of strong fighting fish and gin clear water. By lunchtime the temperature was up a bit so sat outside on one of the picnic tables by the river for lunch, very pleasant.

The fishing wasn't easy but I ended the day with four decent sized rainbows, all taken on nymphs fished on a floating line and long leader.

Thanks to Barry John for a great day. I will be visiting again soon!

Date of experience: March 2016
4  Thank bedders2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I have visited this fishery many times over the past 8 years and always had a warm welcome from Barry. Fishing has always been good, with hard fighting quality trout to be had. I note an earlier review which refers to the fishery as an industrial site. It is true that there is some work going on as you near the fishery entrance - that land does not belong to Barry and in any event is neither seen nor heard once in the fishery itself. The only other 'industrial type' work in the fishery have all been improvements made and still being made by the owner. Most visitors would applaud any owners approach of continued improvement for their benefit.
The river is typically Avon, it can suffer from algae bloom and after heavy rain takes slightly longer to clear than its big sisters the Test or Itchen. That is nature at work and nothing that any owner can do about it. As any self respecting river rod knows both skill and nature have to work in your favour to have a successful day on the river - if indeed success is measured in fish caught.
In summation, Avon Springs offers quality fishing in a rural environment that would suit all fishing abilities. The owner has continually improved the fishing and facilities and the combination offered of a lake and river day ticket is a great opportunity available at few locations.
Jim W

Date of experience: March 2016
3  Thank _jameswilson102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

First, I disagree with most that the reviewer from July 2015 mentions.
Turned up here just to have a look around and ended up fishing for stocked Rainbows on a 2 fish lake only ticket and using a small black buzzer, I caught a 4lb fish, then 'pricked 3 or 4, lost 2 and then caught my last fish, a 6 1/4lb fish, the landed fish being in perfect condition and making my arms ache. Great fish from a crystal clear lake.
The Avon looked terrific; clear as the lakes, good flow, and yes, possibly pressured with rods using it in season (out of season right now), and to my mind too expensive but I'm a member of Salisbury so I'm spoilt. Compared to a few miles down the road in Hampshire, cheap!
The site is lovely! Well kept, excellent facilities, quiet apart from the school nearby and BJ and his nephew were excellent hosts, so thanks to them.
Would I go back? Probably not; I prefer fishing the Salisbury rivers and streams, but for this kind of fishing, it's right up there, and if it's quality Rainbows you're after, these are up there.
Del.

Date of experience: March 2016
3  Thank Del R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Been many times to Avon Springs,great day out,beautiful place,excellent facility,gin clear waters,excellent fish,you will not be disapointed.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews