We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
One of the best Trout Fishing waters in the UK!

Just had another brilliant day’s fishing at Avon Springs! All three of us caught our limit of fish... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2019
Simon D
,
London, United Kingdom
Good fishing

Me and the farther in law did this. It was a Good day out but we did find it quite expensive for a... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2019
monkeywarr
,
Durrington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 17 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Durrington
from US$215.36
More Info
from US$139.26
More Info
from US$139.26
More Info
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
10
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bays river chalk reared trees uk site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I visit this location a couple of times a year. It is a well run fishery the staff are always pleasant and helpful. The river is a real gem of a southern chalkstream with a good head of quality Grayling and wild brown trout. Had a thoroughly enjoyable day and will be back before the end of the season .

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank KnowlesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We had travelled three hours from Wales through driving rain and squalling winds. On arrival we had a warm welcome from the owner, offering us tea/coffee on arrival. The facilities are good - tidy toilet and a canteen area and weigh room. You can also put your catch in the fridge throughout the day. I had heard via Trip Advisor that facilities were 'excellent' so I was expecting perhaps a tackle shop, etc. However, each fishing bay has a bench to sit on while you're fishing and most of the bays allow a decent back-cast. The main lake is around five acres with excellent water clarity and, as a result, weeds are prolific around the shallows. You'll need to cast out over these (around 15-18 yards). A bit disappointed with the second smaller lake as the weed growth here makes fishing almost impossible. The weather put the fish on hold for a good three or four hours, but when the sun broke out the lake came alive with all anglers taking good fish. My bag was around 12lb for four fish and my brother took some good rainbows with the best being just under four pound. Good, clean, fighting fish with full tails and in cracking condition, but it was noticeable that some heavily diseased fish were lurking around the shallows and need to be removed. The rainbows here are chalk-stream quality and taste good - so all in all this is a fishery worth visiting. I would have scored higher if the smaller lake was fishable.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank GrizzlyBear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

A beautiful setting just off the A303 although you'd never think you were that close as it was so peaceful.
A bit tricky to find but well worth it as the fishing was a delight.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank topconker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Most strange experience - too easy in the morning. Caught 3 fish to 7lbs 6oz in a crazy 45 minutes - including loosing 5 others one of which the knot came undone (eye sight not what it was). Rested for awhile and chatted with my friend until lunchtime. After lunch - just couldn't get a take. My friend didn't manage a fish all day. Saw plenty in the morning but melted away later and the wind came up.

Facilities very good, toilet very clean. The owner one of the friendliest I have ever met. Complimentary tea and coffee.

The fishing platforms and banks perfect on the first lake. The second lake could do with having the weed removed. Not that it was crowded but I did like the fishing platforms. The advantage being that it gave clear guidance as to how close to fish to the next person. Many a venue I have caught a fish only for someone to come and stand within just a few feet. The water is crystal clear. When there isn't a ripple easy to stalk the larger fish.

The only downside for me was that behind some trees there is a sports centre and there was lots of cheering which was out of place in such an idealic setting. Mid week though all one would hear would be the birds and splashing of trout.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank ReadingTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Well looked after fishing complex. Shallow, clear, chalk bottom lakes with good fish some of which are quite large. Well tended banks with good fishing platforms and seats. The option to fish the Avon if you book through Fishing Breaks. Friendly owners too.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews