We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CitizenM - Master of transit hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I'll give this hotel five stars within the context of the market it has been designed to service. A short, one to two night, stay in a transit location, ie., adjacent to major transport hub, at excellent value for money. Citizen M full fills those three elements of a transit hotel perfectly. The fact that it has a unique"world of product design" theme is an added bonus.
It goes without saying that the hotel is clean, smartly designed and capably managed by competent staff. To keep things simple here's a bullet point list;
1) Quiet rooms with blackout curtains
2) Excellent proximity to airport, covered 2 minute walk to main terminal.
3) Good supply of luggage trolleys
4) Well appointed and modern common areas, fast free wifi, free use of iMacs and printer
5) First class breakfast and light snacks bar service
6) Extremely comfortable beds and quality fittings throughout.

the only minor complaint I could raise is with the somewhat clunky and intermittent electronic controller for all the in-room services, like, lights, blinds, wake up timer and TV.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,939 - 2,945 of 4,959 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

I chose the hotel because of its proximity to the airport. You walk to the airport and the hotel provides carts for pushing your luggage for the 10 minute easy walk. That's amazing right there isn't it. How many airport hotels are close enough to the airport terminal for you to easily walk to?
The citizenM has blended comfort with high tech design and features. Though you can do a self check in a staff person is immediately there if it looks like you need help.

The rooms are small but amazingly comfortable, efficient, fun, and sensual. The bed is huge - wall to wall. I know that is hard to visualize. Think of a rectangle shape. You enter. To your left is a small hangar fixture for hanging four or five articles of clothing. Next, on your left is the toilet right out there in the open. There are two floor to ceiling semi-circle opaque glass doors that you close when you're sitting on the toilet. Just past the toilet is a small sink that is about 4 feet high. On your right is the shower. Again with the two floor to ceiling semi-circle opaque glass doors that you close when you shower. You have a choice of using a rain fall shower head directly over your head or a hand held showering tool that you can use to direct at various parts of your body. Next to the shower is a tiny desk. Then the large comfortable bed with huge pillows. The flat screen T.V. is mounted on the side wall above the bed. The wall making up the back of the bed is a window that has both shutters that can be opened and closed and a device that can be lowered down to completely shut off all outside sound and light. There is an amazing choice of lighting moods that I never completely figured out. The room comes with an operating manual but since were there only for an evening I didn't read it.

The lounge area in the lobby has a bar, restaurant area, food that is already prepared, computers, and three or four cozy areas where you can watch T.V., read a book, or engage in quiet conversation with a friend or new acquaintance.

I wish we could have stayed here longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachWizard4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed for 2 separate nights at this airport hotel in Amsterdam and found the hotel to be very clean and quite new. The design is very modern and interesting. The self check-in and -out went well, and help was readily available. The breakfast for 9 Euros was too expensive for what it was but the airport has many eating options. I was able to check in online and print out the boarding pass the night before at the hotel. The bathroom pods are interesting and worked well but offer little privacy.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Blueredgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I spent one night before an early flight out of Schiphol. CitizenM hit just the right spot. They are practically Terminal 5. I like that they don't require a shuttle and everything is 24-hour self-serviced. I didn't pay too much attention to where they are exactly, but saw them on the airport map and just headed towards that direction. I could have used one more sign in the terminal that signals 'head out of Terminal 4 and just keep walking along the sidewalk for 2 minutes.'

The room is technology-controlled. I don't think it's suppose to be this way, but it was a pleasant surprise for the shower to come on the moment the doors are closed. There is plenty for lounge areas to suit different needs and moods.

If I had a choice, I'd much rather say at CitizenM than any other brandname hotels for a short stay.

Room Tip: I liked seeing the gates and planes. I added this note in the Preference area when booking and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperiencedForeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The most comfortable bed i ever seen in my life!!! I wish i had such at my home, really!!! Where did you buy your beds from, guys??
Also everything else is just great, room equipment, lobby, bar, lounge zone, wifi in room and everywhere in hotel, TV, free movies.... I really really wish I could live in this hotel forever!!!

Room Tip: Well I'd reccomend room with "city view" because airport side gets some strange airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga_Tuutikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Citizen M hotel at Schiphol was such a happy comfortable place to be that I didn't even bother to go into Amsterdam city to look around when I had a free morning. Instead I enjoyed a perfectly crunchy and soft croissant from the breakfast bar, the good company of the hotel staff and the extreme comfort of my room.
It was pure chance that sent me to the hotel and I feel like it was sent by an angel!

Room Tip: I took what they had since I was a walk-in (no reservation) and was very pleased. Was on 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed at the Citizen M at Schipol airport in July and have to add it as another compelling reason to spend time at Schipol which is already, let's face it a great airport.
It was my first time staying at a Citizen M hotel and I chose it because of its proximity to Schipol (walking distance even with suitcases) and because I was curious to see if this hotel would be an improvement on a similar hotel I'd stayed in recently in Paris, France (http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g187147-d1557727-Reviews-BLC_Design_Hotel-Paris_Ile_de_France.html) which had a similar concept but on a bijou scale.
So, I arrived mid afternoon - the Reception is akin to checking in at an airport (fitting) and the people are very friendly and efficient. The ground floor of the hotel is a huge light filled space with lounges (salons) to either side of the check-in area which is also where the food is available on a self serve basis but excellent freshly made coffee and other drinks are also available to be ordered.
The room was facing the highway which is less optimal than those facing the airport side (ask for one if you there are some available) but the room was seriously cool and I loved it. Why? Well the bed is enormous it takes up half the room (the rooms are little by the way - so don't expect spaciousness!) but soooooo comfortable. Mood lighting, excellent quality plasma TV and great music (good speakers). All my media stuff had a place to plug into at the right height (finally! a hotel that "gets it" - it is no fun scrambling around on the floor trying to wrestle with cables and plugs). The design of the room is a feature in itself making optimal use of what is really a very small space. The toilet and the shower are contained in columns of opaque glass, the column being made of two arc shaped doors (see photo). The shower is a "rain shower" and the shower gels are amazing!. The lighting can be selected based on your mood (party, relaxation etc.) but is overall warm and low key. Under that huge bed lies a huge drawer so you can chuck all your stuff into it and preserve the floor space.
I was joined by my 17 year old son when he arrived from a long-haul flight the following morning and we got a late check out (purchased) and hung out in the room and downstairs in the amazing lounges - drinking coffe, examining the book selections and art and design works downstairs - very chillaxing morning.
Just one MAJOR POINT to bear in mind with this hotel. If you are going to share a Citizen M Hotel room it has to be with someone you are comfortable enough to use the toilet or the shower with nothing but a piece of opaque glass between you and them!

Room Tip: As for a room facing the airport not the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberdeen_13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.8 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: £85 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing