We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“entertaining and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
bend oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“entertaining and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've been wanting to stay at this hotel for sometime and the opportunity recently. Very friendly check in staff that was quick and straightforward. Room was fun and my kids enjoyed changing the color of the lights while in the shower. Lots of TV/movie options, comfortable bed and pillows, views of the runway but sound proof. We all enjoyed the various sitting areas in the lobby including the eclectic chairs. Food was good and my kids enjoyed the breakfast. Will absolutely stay again. BTW, the shower doors have to be completely closed in order for the shower to come on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,437
    1,369
    296
    89
    50
See reviews for
348
1,402
824
1,422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ultra modern designer hotel within walking distance of the airport terminal plaza so very convenient.

The room was completely open plan with the shower and WC in the room with the bed. This was OK for a single traveller but there was limited privacy if you are with a companion.

Very high tech features for controlling room atmospheric lighting and the TV etc. Check in and check out by screen. Breakfast is a buffet of packaged meet , bread rolls etc but was adequate.

I would use this hotel again for price and convenience for the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ely
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is a sort of design statement. You arrive and there is no check in desk, but a bank of touch screens. Having said that it was all straightforward. The bar was a central counter which also served food. I went to my room. You encountered the shower and the loo as you entered, with the bed taking the width of the room. A triumph of design, because it meant minimal space use. Everything was electronic, and I was invited to have a tutorial on the room's features. Actually after a flight all I wanted was a beer and bed, and did not want to take an exam on how to operate the lights. I wish I had though because in the morning (try as I might ) I could not get the shower to work. Also the television had a distinct disinclination to switch off. Peppered all over the hotel were little homilies (very much like the sort of crap that Virgin fling at you) and very much like what one would have encountered in George Orwell's 1984. I mustn't be too critical though- the bed was very comfortable, the whole place was immaculate. I particularly liked the public areas which had a variety of styles unlike any other encountered in a hotel and very good. I ordered food, and because they were closing the barman came over and asked if I wanted more. I did- the food was delicious and remarkably cheap. So yes- modern, stylish, clean but could do with a bit more consideration of how the end user is going to use the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlesnfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

PROS:
3 min walk from arrivals plaza
Excellent staff - attention to detail
Easy to check in/check out
Very comfy bed
24/7 food/beverage

CONS:
Could be too challenging for some - check in/out is done via touch screen, remote is used to control number of functions in the room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78NIK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip close to the airport. Location is fantastic for airport and the conference centres nearby - it's just a few minutes' walk from the airport's main pedestrian entrance and can be reached on foot. The rooms are very chic, classy, spotless and have huge and comfortable beds - the chicness was a surprise for a business/airport layover hotel. The food is really good - there's a breakfast buffet with homemade granola in the morning included in the room rate, and a buffet and self-serve cold selection in the evening which is extra, but which was very good also. A great place to bunk down on a business trip and definitely a big step up from the usual dull corporate chains - this place has real personality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_riad_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

In all my trips to Amsterdam, this is the first time I have stayed "on" the airport. CitizenM is a few minutes walk from the far end of the Plaza, the pathway is almost entirely covered. I loved the self-service check-in as it was already getting late it was very nice to not have to muster a smile for a receptionist! NIfty room key doubles as a luggage tag so be sure to keep it! I skipped their breakfast as I knew I could get a croissant, juice and coffee in the Airport Plaza for a better price and not as a pre-packed meal. Wi-fi was fast and free, fluffy bath towels, and decent work surface. My room (432) overlooked the airport and, surprisingly, it was the sound of diesel lorry engines that I could hear in the room, not air planes.

The bed was quite large, but situated strangely, so that you either had to crawl over your partner, or sleep with heads under the window. As I was on my own I could sleep normally but it is worth mentioning the bed is only accessible on one side. The WC and shower pods were well funky, I can see where these could be unnerving if sharing the room, although I did notice a sheer curtain was in place which could be pulled across to help shield view. (Shower was a clear glass pod which was very large and had a rain forest head, as well as a shower wand; the WC had a frosted glass pod enclosure.)

The lack of a place to put my case to get unpacked was a bit annoying, I ended up putting it in front of the room door but, again, had I not been staying on my own this might have been an even bigger issue. The mood pad remote control was easy to figure out, except when it came to switching off the morning alarm... not sure what button I had pressed to select the night before, but I woke up to a fully lit room and the sound of dogs barking and a lady screaming, coming from the TV. Awake, indeed, and fumbling to switch it off! So, not for everyone, that is for sure, but I would stay here again if I needed a quick overnight again and the price was right, but only if I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed together with my girl for one night because we had an early flight. It is like 5 minutes way to the airport. Room was very small but equiped with modern stuff like pods for toilet and shower. Colour changing was a lot of fun for me. We had a view to the airport surface but it was really quiet. Very comfortable beds with extra pillows if you need them. We didin't have breakfast so I can't give you any opinion about it. We will be coming back there in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cezary_Torun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing