We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun vibe, clean, definitely not luxe but does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This concept hotel is very interesting, with pod rooms that have built in beds and modular walls for the shower/toilet etc.. Modular walls are glass so if you are planning to stay with someone in your room, just be aware that they can see you on the toilet or in the shower unless they leave the room. There is no luxury here, if that is what you are looking for, but it works well if you are catching an early flight. The beds are big but not great if you have a bad back. There is lots of room for lounging in the lobby, as there is none in the rooms, and there is a round the clock "store" of sorts for food and drinks there as well, with hot options at certain times of the day. There is no valet or room service, and you can do self check-in or out at the terminals. The hotel is literally down a short sidewalk from the terminal, with covered walk ways to shelter you from the nearly constant rain in the NL. The kids thought it was fun. Clean and well managed. I wouldn't want to stay there longer than a night. We have two kids and needed two rooms to accomodate the four of us.

Room Tip: As this hotel is for people catching flights at all hours. I would stay away from the elevators an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2esmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,538 - 2,544 of 5,346 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This I one funky hotel. Rooms are small, but very quiet, you do not hear the planes or other guests. Bed is comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The shower and toilet is weird, but very functional. The hotel is so handy to the airport and reasonable, great for an overnight stay. Would use this chain again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bwick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'm not big fan of those staff free hotels, but that one has very good vibe.
Great location next to terminal building - 4min walk, 15min by train the the city centre.
Rooms are very small buy well designed and very functional.
Internet is very slow and is not working properly. I had problems with my key several times. Great view over the taxing planes therefore very quiet room.
I love the lighting system.
TV programs are very poor so free entreatment is not a good option at this hotel

Room Tip: airport view is very spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polandpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's a very stylish hotel, nice location and staffs are helpful and friendly. It's only a bit awkward that the shower is not covered and can be see through. We stayed there one night. Every time when one took shower, the other one had to go downstairs. It's kinda lack of privacy. I would say the citizenM in Rotterdam is a lot better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snow Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great staff, food and design. A two minute walk away from Schiphol Plaza, so it is really easy to get around whether catching a plane, train or bus. It is very comfortable to work in their large living room-like lobby. One downfall is that they do not have coffee and tea in the rooms, you have to buy it on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlprei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Right next to Amsterdam Schiphol airport, perfect for a good rest before a long flight. Quality of the beds are just the best. Very efficient and very clean rooms. Everything is there!
Nice food and drinks downstairs and very friendly staff. I recommend any one travelling from Schiphol or arriving late into Schiphol to stay the night. It is only a few minutes walking distance from the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever experienced.
Under the excuse of being innovative, they have moved the toilet and the bathroom inside the sleeping room, with only a partially covering door.
You are charged a large amount for paying with visa (and this is the only option to pay...).
The staff is underpaid young people, and the level of service reflects this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.8 mi away
Ramada Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: £90 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing