We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dense”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,417 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
“Dense”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Citizen M at Schiphol feels very dense with people when it is almost full as when we stayed there. It is conveniently close to the terminal, the about 200 meter walkway is mostly covered against rain. Only the Sheraton hotel is really inside the terminal, but that is more expensive.

We had a trainee team of staff being trained by the regular staff, this added to the feeling of density and busyness, although they all were very well intending.

Rooms are container sized but arty and very effectively designed. Free Wifi was slow in the evening, fast in the morning.

Room Tip: Airport view is nice, you can see the planes moving around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,488
    1,390
    303
    90
    53
See reviews for
354
1,436
833
1,449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

OK citizenM at Schiphol is not a Sheraton or a Hilton nor does it pretend to be. However, for the price, it offers a superior R&R experience for transit air passengers. The facilities, with food and beverage outlets, lounges, WiFi, and great staff, put it in a league that is hard to match. The rooms, whilst minimal, offer a large bed, cleverly designed shower and toilet facilities, TV, WiFi and a fast elevator service. The best airport hotel that I have discovered in this wide world

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSSIETRAVELADVISER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Pros: this place is very convenient and have reasonable rates. It has stayed clean through the few years since my first stay here. Staff are very friendly and professional. Breakfast is good.
Cons: not a place for a family, unless your kids are still very young. Not fond of €19 charge for early check in -- after a sleepless >10hr flight that arrives at 9am, you're left with no choice but pay.
It is a neat experience to stay in this hotel. It is comfortable and perfect for a quick stay by the airport. They provide good rates and service worthy of returning to this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeeWeeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is located across the parking lot from Schiphol airport. No taxi required, a luggage cart is nice to have if you have more than one bag. The lobby and restaurant areas are cool, hip, trendy in a red and black scheme. Lots of guests hanging around using their mobile devices and chatting. I arrived early from a transatlantic flight and they let me check in to my room right away. I then went back to the airport and downstairs where the train station is located and took the train into city center. It was really easy. Came back out to the M for a good night's sleep, a great shower and breakfast the next morning, then I was off on my next flight to Africa. Book directly on the hotel website, it's really simple.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagpackedletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Another great stay at a Citizen M hotel. It's just a stone's throw away from the airport building and train station. Fantastic rooms, with free wifi and all the mod cons, and amazingly very very quiet for being so near the runway. Staff were very nice and attentive, especially the two who made our cocktails at the bar. Wish all hotels were as good as Citizen M !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
245 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This concept hotel is very interesting, with pod rooms that have built in beds and modular walls for the shower/toilet etc.. Modular walls are glass so if you are planning to stay with someone in your room, just be aware that they can see you on the toilet or in the shower unless they leave the room. There is no luxury here, if that is what you are looking for, but it works well if you are catching an early flight. The beds are big but not great if you have a bad back. There is lots of room for lounging in the lobby, as there is none in the rooms, and there is a round the clock "store" of sorts for food and drinks there as well, with hot options at certain times of the day. There is no valet or room service, and you can do self check-in or out at the terminals. The hotel is literally down a short sidewalk from the terminal, with covered walk ways to shelter you from the nearly constant rain in the NL. The kids thought it was fun. Clean and well managed. I wouldn't want to stay there longer than a night. We have two kids and needed two rooms to accomodate the four of us.

Room Tip: As this hotel is for people catching flights at all hours. I would stay away from the elevators an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2esmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langford, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This I one funky hotel. Rooms are small, but very quiet, you do not hear the planes or other guests. Bed is comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The shower and toilet is weird, but very functional. The hotel is so handy to the airport and reasonable, great for an overnight stay. Would use this chain again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bwick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing