We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is the best hotel I've stayed in, clean, spacious, fabulous spa and pool. Food was lovely. To get to dam square we got free shuttle bus to the airport and a train to amsterdam central, it took 15-20 mins and cost just 7.80 euros return. Much cheaper and quicker than a taxi. The beds are very comfortable and rooms are very quiet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger_AMS, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

First I would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to give us feedback regarding your stay at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. We have passed on your enthusiastic review to all departments concerned. We hope you will be back and are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for a conference and found it mainly up to standard. Could locale for airport. Cleaning not 100%, found cleaning cloth one day and bin not emptied the other. Bar and restaurant service v v slow. 90 mins for a main course. Rooms comfortable and well appointed with tea and coffee, mini fridge and iron and board, all in all satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We were looking forward to staying at this hotel, but we must admit that it turned out to be quite disappointing. As we were traveling with the entire family and required many rooms we contacted the hotel directly around two months before arrival. The purpose of the trip was to celebrate my dad's 87th birthday.
We arrived a little later than noon on Thursday and expected a smooth check in so that we would have time to do other things in the afternoon. We had been in contact with the hotel the day before arrival to make sure that everything was ready and in order. NOTHING was ready and the check in was everything but smooth. We had booked the king suite, the junior suite and two other rooms. As we are a family we wanted to be as close as possible to each other. We were given rooms in two different towers - although we were told on the phone that we would be on the 6th and 7th floor in the same building. The guy at the check in was slow and probably quite inexperienced. After talking to the manager we finally got the right rooms and got a voucher for free drinks we could enjoy at the bar due to all the trouble. The check in took more than an hour in total.
We have had several incidents with keys that didn't work causing much frustration. This seems to be a problem for many guests - especially in the elevators where keys are required to access the guest floors.
Tonight on my fathers birthday we went down to the bar to get our drinks, which we assumed to be drinks of our choice - that wasn't the case!! We could not get a cocktail as wanted, but only a choice of beer, wine or soda. Not exactly what we had understood from the conversation with the manager. We decided not to get the drinks - since we couldn't get the drinks we wanted.
The cleaning hasn't been impressive - when arriving we found a sock from the previous guest in one of our rooms..
There's no turn down service, which is custom at most 5-star hotels. That is a bit disappointing.
We are only halfway through our stay. Hopefully we will not experience more inconveniences, but as of now we are not too optimistic.
The rooms are, however, nice and so is the fitness and spa area.
The hotel is located a bit far away from the city and not too close to the airport either. It requires a lot of transportation time, which is necessary to consider, when planning a trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenschristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger_AMS, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

First we would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to give us feedback regarding your stay at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. It is with this information that we are able to further improve our services.

Regarding your comment on the check-in and room allocation, we would like to apologize for the miscommunication concerning the requested rooms on the same floor.

We would like to inform you that our hotel is a 4-star property and our services are adjusted to this level.

Hopefully you have enjoyed the complimentary dinner we have offered you during your stay to compensate for any caused inconvenience. We are very sorry for the fact that we were not able to meet your expectations. With this response we would like to offer you our sincere apologies. Your comments were shared within our organization to prevent situations like this from happening again in the future.

In closing, we thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future again and to have the opportunity to prove we are able to offer excellence on all aspects of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Chose to stay at this hotel as couldn't beat the price for a top quality hotel. We wanted 4 star rating
And hotels of this quality in centre of amsterdam were expensive. The price was really good value and a hotel of equal quality would have cost more than double the price in centre of Amsterdam.
It was close to airport with a regular free shuttle and in a quiet location. It is easy to travel to centre of Amsterdam with fast train servive from airport. Just a shuttle bus to airport and then 10 mins to centre of amsterdam. Hotel spotless and with 2 excellent restaurants. Rooms very comfortable and spacious. There is also a forest just close by for a nice walk if you want some peace.
We would recommend this hotel for value and quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizandmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Steigenberger hotel over a long weekend where we wanted to experience a bit of Amsterdam. On a tight budget, we chose to stay here for approximately £150 for three nights, which certainly couldn't have bought us the same quality in the centre for ONE night.

There is a very easy shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel that leaves every half hour or so and we had no trouble getting on this at the various times of day that we needed it. The hotel did also offer buses into the centre if you needed them, but as this one was free, we preferred to use that and then get a train from Schiphol to the centre which only took 13 minutes or so. You should do your maths though, as each day of travelling in cost about 16 euros for two people to get a return ticket. If you were a large group, the cost of a family room centrally might well be cheaper.

We very much enjoyed the bar and friendly staff in the hotel, particularly the pool table and snacks on offer. There were many food options but we didn't have any meals there so I can't really comment on the quality - it looked good though! Similarly, there was a spa and pool area that looked lovely although we didn't actually use it. The nicest thing about staying here is that it had a nicer range of guests than what we encountered centrally - no large stag/hen groups or antisocial people, more families, couples and people on business.

For the price, our room was fantastic and very clean/spacious. We would absolutely return here if we wanted to do a similar trip. One thing to keep in mind is that there is nothing near the hotel. No shops, (one bar opposite but odd opening times - no weekends) so you'll need to be prepared or pay for things at the hotel. A strong 4/5.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is very clean, with large rooms. He breakfast was outstanding. The is also a free shuttle bus to the airport, which is very close by. Would definitely stay here again. It is near the airport which was what I needed, however if you want right in e middle of Amsterdam of a weekend you might want to go into the city. It is perfect if to need accommodation near the airport!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
6.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
2.4 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stationsplein-ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Green Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Spa Hotel in Schiphol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: £75 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing