We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenbervie House Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 Star Experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed over at Glenbervie on 26th May for a wedding for which I was maid of honour .. Five stars is not enough to describe Glenbervie House Hotel. The location itself is remarkable , very easy to access but secluded enough that you have total privacy. The venue and surrounding are out of this world and the House itself is breath taking, an added touch is the peacock who lives in the grounds. The weather was glorious so the red carpet was rolled out for the wedding party arriving and this added a special touch to the day. The wedding itself was held in the drawing room, over looking the gardens and despite there being over 100 people at the wedding there was plenty of room for everyone and at no point did anyone feel crowded. After the ceremony people mingled outside and at the bar while the furniture in the drawing room was changed around so the guests has comfy armchairs to sit on , this was done quickly , efficiently and with no disruption at all to the guests. The wedding breakfast was delicious , all food was served very quickly and was piping hot on arrival. The plates were cleared at a good speed between each course and at the end of the meal. Between the meal and the evening guests arriving the guests were invited to go to the drawing room or outside to the patio while the reception room was made ready for the night guests. Again this was done quickly and with minimum disruption the the guests. The thing that really made this day go so wonderful were the staff at Glenbervie .... I cannot praise them highly enough. Despite having a wedding on the day before they allowed us to leave our luggage there ready for the next day and they allowed guests to check in early on day of wedding . They were on hand to help with anything and everything and nothing at all was too much hassle. They were very non intrusive but always nearby when needed. Shona helped the bride plan the day and I know she was wonderful in soothing a very stressed brides nerves. After the wedding a few of us staying in the hotel were not quite ready for bed and a special mention has to be made for William, who was working overnight , he was wonderful in allowing us to sit downstairs in the drawing room , providing drinks when required, providing sandwiches and just generally chatting to us. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and clean and breakfast the next morning was great with a choice of continental or full cooked breakfast. All in all Glenbervie House Hotel was a wonderful choice for the wedding and I cannot recommend this venue enough., Thank you for making a special day that little bit more special.

Room Tip: Room number 7 has ceiling to wall glass windows and the most amazing view in the place !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. We are delighted with your comments regarding the wedding that you were part of and we are pleased that you had such an enjoyable day. At the Aurora Hotel Collection we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service, and I shall pass on your lovely comments to the Glenbervie House Hotel team especially Shona and William. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    21
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
43
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had out wedding here on 6th May 2013 and expected a few hitches, but happy to say that there were none, and if there was no one noticed. We had afternoon tea served to our guests before the wedding service to stave off hunger. (I had a champagne afternoon tea in the bridal suite with my bridesmaid while getting ready and watching the guest arriving, it was lovely). The evening meal was fantastic and the waiting staff could not be faulted, very polite, quick and professional. Following the meal staff had the dinning room turned around for the evening entertainment in no time at all.... Breakfast was outstanding.
Well done to all the staff and a big thank you to Shona who made sure that all the details for the day were in order.

Room Tip: We didn't like the glitzy style of the Bridal Suite so gave it to our best man and his partner w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
First of all congratulations! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your Perfect Day. We were extremely pleased to hear that your day went so smoothly and that we ensured that you had the best day of your life! I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here at the end of Jan 2013 for my sister's wedding. I found the staff to be friendly, welcoming and attentive. I loved that we had exclusivity of the hotel for the weekend. Our room (10) was large, bright, spotlessly clean and comfortable. No complaints at all. Breakfast was excellent and freshly prepared to order. Only the availabilty of a continental breakfast lets it down but then they were only catering to our family. I agree with others regarding the bar prices, they are shockingly high. However do what every other Scot does at a wedding and take a hip flask! My sister provided bottles of juice for the children and these were kept behind the bar and dished out when they wanted them.
All in all the day smoothly, to time and staff were always on hand to ensure that we were ok.
I dropped a star because we weren't able to book in advance to stay the Fri night just incase the hotel recieved a wedding booking. In the end the hotel was empty the night before but we still couldn't book a room? Still if you like tradtional, decked out in tartan type hotels then you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experiences of Glenbervie House Hotel. We are extremely pleased that you sister chose our Hotel and that it was a day enjoyed by all. I have noted the point you raised regarding your Friday night stay and the drinks prices and will forward them to the General Manager. However, over all it sounded a fantastic weekend. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have had the pleasure of attending Glenbervie House on two occasions for weddings almost exactly a year apart at the start of December both times. The house was decorated in the most beautiful Xmas decorations and was oozing with elegance. On the most recent occasion we had the pleasure of staying overnight as well. GH is very comfortable, easy to access and a great choice of venue for people travelling from every location. The food is fantastic and drink selection is very good. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and elegant. Only a couple of minor complaints- If you pull up in a car and have to walk across the chipped road it is very dirty so beware! I also have to agree with a recent review where it states that the bar prices are inconsistent. And the bar staff aren't very good at making cocktails. Great place though!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrymac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of a wedding at Glenbervie House Hotel. We were extremely pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us and that on your second visit you were able to experience staying over in such a beautiful property. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Attended a wedding here. I agree that it is a nice venue but felt that the attitude of the manager was to make as much money as possible out of the bridal party and guests.

Some of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful whilst others left a lot to be desired.

Bar prices were expensive and the cost of a glass of white wine varied during the evening between £5.75 and £7.50 for the same wine and same size of glass.

My daughter couldn't stay in the room she had booked as her three year old autistic child was unsettled. They still charged full price for the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hutchbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
As you can imagine, I was very disappointed to read the review of your experience at Glenbervie House Hotel. At the Aurora Hotel Collection, we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on Isla.Kerr@aurorahotelcollection.com or 0844 800 4000. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed one night for a wedding and was glad to leave the next morning as the hotel had a damp MUSTY smell throughout the hotel.We found room 5 very cold with one small heater to heat the room and as for the bathroom a small towel rail to heat a large b/room.To boil a kettle you have to take it to the opposite side of the room and boil it on the floor due to lack of wall sockets.During breakfast we had to ask for orange juice and make your own toast and never at any time was asked if we wanted a pot of tea or coffee.We found the staff not very helpful as everything seemed an effort and frighten to ask for anything.I would not rate this a 4 star hotel as i have stayed in better 2 stars !!

Room Tip: dont stop keep driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wignelson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
As you can imagine, I was very disappointed to read the review of your stay at Glenbervie House Hotel. At the Aurora Hotel Collection, we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on Isla.Kerr@aurorahotelcollection.com or 0844 800 4000. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The Glenbervie provided the ideal location for our daughter's wedding on 9th of March 2013. From the first meeting we knew we had made the right choice. This is a beatiful building with excellent overnight accommodation. My daughter was offered every courtesy and the whole process of planning was flawless. When we arrived on the day, all our requests and wishes were fulfilled beyond our expectations. The tables and decor were all as my daughter requested and the meal was perfect. The staff were professional and courteous. All their hard work meant the Bride and Groom could relax and enjoy their perfect day. As Father of the Bride I cannot thank all the staff enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of Glenbervie House Hotel. We were absolutely delighted to read your comments about your daughter's wedding. It is such an important day for everyone and we feel very honoured to have been a part of such a wonderful event. I look forward to sharing this great feedback with all of the team. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of the Aurora Hotel Collection very soon. Kind Regards Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larbert
3.9 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
4.8 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
317 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbervie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbervie House Hotel

Property: Glenbervie House Hotel
Address: | between Falkirk and Stirling, Larbert FK5 4SJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Larbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Larbert
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Glenbervie House Hotel Larbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing