We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friends wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenbervie House Hotel
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Friends wedding”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Beautiful hotel in beautiful grounds. We attended a friends wedding here and couldn't fault an entire day!! Secluded and private yet within walking distance of the town centre and other accommodation.The staff were working like trojans discreetly in the backgound and the silver service was just a joy to watch, they should be and more than likely are very proud of the young staff working with them, to bring a wonderful day to the wedding couple.Food was second to none and will be remembered, weather helped and we spent a lot of time enjoying the terrace in the evening as it was too hot inside, close to Glasgow/Edinburgh/Stirling but lovely and quiet. Wonderful day just wonderful

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    21
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
43
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Glenbervie house the night of a family wedding. The hotel s beautiful. The gardens stunning and the whole ambiance terrific. The rooms were spotless and well decorated. The bathroom modern and clean. Great wedding. Great day. Great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your stay at Glenbervie House Hotel. We were delighted to read your comments regarding your friend’s wedding that you attended. I am extremely pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at Glenbervie House Hotel and that you an enjoyable time at the wedding. I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team at Glenbervie House Hotel who will be very pleased. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Over the last year I have been to two sets of friend's weddings here and have found it to be a wonderful place to spend the day. The staff are very attentive, polite and accommodating, the hotel itself is packed with period charm, is comfortable yet spacious and the grounds are second to none. The times I have been here the couples have been lucky enough to have had some really great weather and have got to make the most of the outside areas which overlook the grounds. It's nice and quiet but at the same time very close to either Glasgow or Edinburgh. I didn't stay the night either time but can certainly recommend the daytime facilities for anyone considering the hotel for their wedding. The food was excellent and the hotel really does make every effort to ensure the day is memorable for the guests but especially for the couple.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilliamBurgoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. We were delighted to read that on both occasions of visiting, you had a pleasant and enjoyable time. The Glenbervie House Hotel is very beautiful when the sun comes out and I am very glad that both weddings that you attended managed to get nice weather. I will pass on your comments to the team at the Glenbervie House Hotel who will be very pleased. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed over at Glenbervie on 26th May for a wedding for which I was maid of honour .. Five stars is not enough to describe Glenbervie House Hotel. The location itself is remarkable , very easy to access but secluded enough that you have total privacy. The venue and surrounding are out of this world and the House itself is breath taking, an added touch is the peacock who lives in the grounds. The weather was glorious so the red carpet was rolled out for the wedding party arriving and this added a special touch to the day. The wedding itself was held in the drawing room, over looking the gardens and despite there being over 100 people at the wedding there was plenty of room for everyone and at no point did anyone feel crowded. After the ceremony people mingled outside and at the bar while the furniture in the drawing room was changed around so the guests has comfy armchairs to sit on , this was done quickly , efficiently and with no disruption at all to the guests. The wedding breakfast was delicious , all food was served very quickly and was piping hot on arrival. The plates were cleared at a good speed between each course and at the end of the meal. Between the meal and the evening guests arriving the guests were invited to go to the drawing room or outside to the patio while the reception room was made ready for the night guests. Again this was done quickly and with minimum disruption the the guests. The thing that really made this day go so wonderful were the staff at Glenbervie .... I cannot praise them highly enough. Despite having a wedding on the day before they allowed us to leave our luggage there ready for the next day and they allowed guests to check in early on day of wedding . They were on hand to help with anything and everything and nothing at all was too much hassle. They were very non intrusive but always nearby when needed. Shona helped the bride plan the day and I know she was wonderful in soothing a very stressed brides nerves. After the wedding a few of us staying in the hotel were not quite ready for bed and a special mention has to be made for William, who was working overnight , he was wonderful in allowing us to sit downstairs in the drawing room , providing drinks when required, providing sandwiches and just generally chatting to us. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and clean and breakfast the next morning was great with a choice of continental or full cooked breakfast. All in all Glenbervie House Hotel was a wonderful choice for the wedding and I cannot recommend this venue enough., Thank you for making a special day that little bit more special.

Room Tip: Room number 7 has ceiling to wall glass windows and the most amazing view in the place !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. We are delighted with your comments regarding the wedding that you were part of and we are pleased that you had such an enjoyable day. At the Aurora Hotel Collection we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service, and I shall pass on your lovely comments to the Glenbervie House Hotel team especially Shona and William. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had out wedding here on 6th May 2013 and expected a few hitches, but happy to say that there were none, and if there was no one noticed. We had afternoon tea served to our guests before the wedding service to stave off hunger. (I had a champagne afternoon tea in the bridal suite with my bridesmaid while getting ready and watching the guest arriving, it was lovely). The evening meal was fantastic and the waiting staff could not be faulted, very polite, quick and professional. Following the meal staff had the dinning room turned around for the evening entertainment in no time at all.... Breakfast was outstanding.
Well done to all the staff and a big thank you to Shona who made sure that all the details for the day were in order.

Room Tip: We didn't like the glitzy style of the Bridal Suite so gave it to our best man and his partner w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
First of all congratulations! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your Perfect Day. We were extremely pleased to hear that your day went so smoothly and that we ensured that you had the best day of your life! I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here at the end of Jan 2013 for my sister's wedding. I found the staff to be friendly, welcoming and attentive. I loved that we had exclusivity of the hotel for the weekend. Our room (10) was large, bright, spotlessly clean and comfortable. No complaints at all. Breakfast was excellent and freshly prepared to order. Only the availabilty of a continental breakfast lets it down but then they were only catering to our family. I agree with others regarding the bar prices, they are shockingly high. However do what every other Scot does at a wedding and take a hip flask! My sister provided bottles of juice for the children and these were kept behind the bar and dished out when they wanted them.
All in all the day smoothly, to time and staff were always on hand to ensure that we were ok.
I dropped a star because we weren't able to book in advance to stay the Fri night just incase the hotel recieved a wedding booking. In the end the hotel was empty the night before but we still couldn't book a room? Still if you like tradtional, decked out in tartan type hotels then you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experiences of Glenbervie House Hotel. We are extremely pleased that you sister chose our Hotel and that it was a day enjoyed by all. I have noted the point you raised regarding your Friday night stay and the drinks prices and will forward them to the General Manager. However, over all it sounded a fantastic weekend. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have had the pleasure of attending Glenbervie House on two occasions for weddings almost exactly a year apart at the start of December both times. The house was decorated in the most beautiful Xmas decorations and was oozing with elegance. On the most recent occasion we had the pleasure of staying overnight as well. GH is very comfortable, easy to access and a great choice of venue for people travelling from every location. The food is fantastic and drink selection is very good. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and elegant. Only a couple of minor complaints- If you pull up in a car and have to walk across the chipped road it is very dirty so beware! I also have to agree with a recent review where it states that the bar prices are inconsistent. And the bar staff aren't very good at making cocktails. Great place though!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrymac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of a wedding at Glenbervie House Hotel. We were extremely pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us and that on your second visit you were able to experience staying over in such a beautiful property. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larbert
3.9 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
317 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbervie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbervie House Hotel

Property: Glenbervie House Hotel
Address: | between Falkirk and Stirling, Larbert FK5 4SJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Larbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Larbert
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Glenbervie House Hotel Larbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing