We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning venue”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenbervie House Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning venue”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wedding reception here in 2008 absolutely beautiful. Private picturesc secluded grounds, great for weddings. Rooms are amazing, jacuzzi bath. Would highly recommend. Staff were brilliant. Reception drinks out on terrace if weathers good over looking Glenbervie golf course. BBQ available. Decor is traditional yet modern . Pure luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Glenbervie House Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found all of the team to be helpful and pleasant. The team at Glenbervie House Hotel will be very pleased and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    20
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

What can I say ,this is a top class wedding venue , food great service great and staff work very hard to give you a great service.
We stayed overnight ,we were delighted with our room, family room with one king and two singles ,flat screen tv , fridge with complimentary soft drinks , tea and coffee facilities . Bathroom spacious with walk in shower .breakfast very good and plenty off it.
Hotel settings is lovely and the patio area is used for barbecue weather permitting ,but didn't happen for us as was raining but would be lovely on a hot summers night.

Room Tip: From what I seen all rooms big and spacious .so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbles1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time at a wedding that you attended there. Glenbervie is a fantastic exclusive wedding venue and the team were very happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Having considered several Scottish venues for our wedding in July of 2013, we decided on Glenbervie as it's location suited both sides of the wedding party, it looks stunning and, on the day, it would be exclusively ours. We visited the venue on an open day and were given a full tour of the hotel and the coach house and it is stunning - a great mixture of modern luxury and traditional style. The coach house is pretty special and offers spacious, and stylish additional accommodation a few hundred metres away from the main hotel.

We worked with Shona who guided us around the hotel and helped with our plans. We found her to be pleasant and professional and as long as both parties exchange information and expectations, there really should not be any issues. The venue contract for the booking seems a little formidable as it is used for corporate events as well as private functions, but we were relieved to find the staff were flexible with terms and allowed us to change some items with no fuss at all.

Although well versed in hosting weddings, we at no time felt as if we were on a wedding conveyor belt - and this was certainly the case on the day. The speed the staff do the turn-a-rounds is amazing and the venue looked just as we had hoped for our event. We were able to view every room prior to our booking and although the room layout plan we were given, to help with our allocation of guests, suggests some rooms are small, this is not the case. The plan is rubbish, the rooms are great!
The choice of food and drinks packages is extensive and you can mix and match as you please. There was never any pressure to upgrade, but advice was given as to what works best. Two small points here - the hotel charges for a menu tasting night which we thought, given the amount of money the hotel would be getting for the booking, was cheeky and we did not take them up on this offer. The other point was the high percentage of guests the hotel insisted we catered for at the evening BBQ (around 90%) although, on reflection, this cost is probably to cover the high number of staff that were there on the day to assist with the smooth running and efficient service. That being the case, it was money well spent.
The staff had an excellent "can-do" attitude and went out their way to help guests - providing extra sun shade and ensuring everyone was well fed and watered during the day.

The food was excellent - the evening BBQ was raved about too! However, breakfast is a little informal. This is due to the lack of a designated breakfast area and the need to turn the room around for the next event, however a little more thought could go a long way here. The service was good and the food was good but it just felt a little too informal and "make do". Or maybe that was due to the hangovers...

We had fantastic weather for our wedding and the venue really had a chance to shine - the outdoor seating area proved to be a perfect size. In terms of value for money - the venue is expensive but the level of service we received was excellent. The room prices are a little dear, especially if you are asking any guests, outwith the bridal party, to pay for their stay. Maybe the venue hire costs should be a little higher and the room costs lower? The cost of the coach house seems high initially, but it breaks down to a reasonable cost per room if you manage to occupy all of the bedrooms.

All things considered, I would heartily recommend Glenbervie as a wedding venue. The staff ensured our wedding was stress free and flowed well and our guests all enjoyed the venue.

Room Tip: I noticed another reviewer mentioned a "damp smell" at the venue - we never found one trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nmack75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your wedding at Glenbervie House Hotel. Firstly congratulations to you both on your wedding. We were delighted that you chose to hold your wedding at Glenbervie House and we hope it was the magical day that you dreamed of. I have passed all of your comments on to the team at Glenbervie House and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I recently viewed this hotel for my wedding and after reading reviews I had high expectations. On driving up to the hotel the grounds and hotel exterior were beautiful, a picture perfect setting. However on entering the hotel there was a smell of dampness throughout. The ceremony room was nice but unclean in places. The reception room and bedrooms were lovely but also had a damp, musty smell. Extremely disappointed as I was keen to have my wedding here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mill132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your visit to the Glenbervie House Hotel. Having read your comments I am sorry to learn that your experience did not meet your expectations. I will pass all of your comments on to the team at the Glenbervie House Hotel. Kind Regards Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Was a guest and my nephews wedding here, stunning grounds and beautful building externally. Staff worked hard but bar service during the day between the wedding service and the food being served was not soo good. The meal and service in the evening was very good and generally a very nice experience, views from the bedrooms were stunning - deer and peacocks outside in the morning. Very good location for driving or for getting back on main line trains.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Glenbervie House Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay at your nephews wedding. I will pass all of your comments on to the team at the Glenbervie House Hotel and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. Wedding faultless, beautiful location, no complaints. Rooms pleasantly decorated once you get over the smell of dampness in the corridors, no shower caps in room. Apparently this hotel is not open all year round which may account for the damp smell. £175 double room bed and breakfast, shocking !!!!! Sister hotel Airth castle has a more favoured rate for clients attending weddings. Breakfast was probably the worst yet, poor show for what is classed as a 5 star hotel. 2 cereal bowls consisting of fresh fruit and we had to ask for coffee, tea and toast, not just once I may add.! We also had to ask for napkins. We got the feeling that they didn't bring too much in as no one else was coming in to stay. As someone who has stayed in numerous hotels and rarely reports the down sides, always remaining upbeat, I have to say this was the most disappointing so far.

Room Tip: If at a wedding or function then stay near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience of staying at the Glenbervie House Hotel. First of all, may I offer our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I am concerned about several of your comments, which have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant Department Heads.

Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on laura.barry@aurorahotelcollection.com. Kind Regards, Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We got married here in June and I loved everything about it. The service was fabulous and the grounds were stunning. The staff were great and always made sure that we were looked after and that the guests were well fed and that their drinks were always topped up.

The staff and in particular the waitress, Lisa made sure that when we were getting our photos taken that there was a tray of canapes and champagne for us. I think this was a great touch as I know many people, who when they were the bride and groom they missed out on the food and drink reception as they were getting their photos taken. Glenbervie made sure that this did not happen and we were well looked after all day.

The guests all seemed to love it and there were many comments about how much food and drink they got. Everyone loved the meal and complimented the food.

The room was fabulous and breakfast in the morning was lovely. I really cannot fault a thing, we had the best day of our lives here and just wish we could do it all again!

Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marzipan8804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
What a lovely review - thank you for your kind comments. We wish to congratulate you and your new husband. I am delighted that your wedding at Glenbervie House Hotel was the wedding that you dreamed of. At the Aurora Hotel Collection we pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service and we are very pleased that you found all of our team to be helpful and friendly on your special day. The team at Glenbervie House Hotel will be very happy that you and your guests enjoyed the day and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larbert
3.9 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
4.4 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
715 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbervie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbervie House Hotel

Property: Glenbervie House Hotel
Address: | between Falkirk and Stirling, Larbert FK5 4SJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Larbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Larbert
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Glenbervie House Hotel Larbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing