We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenbervie House Hotel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having never been to this hotel was delighted when a friend invited me to her wedding there. Beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds. Staff were very attentive and the day couldn't have been better. The four course meal for the wedding guests was delicious and well presented. Too cold to sit out on the terrace but we braved the cold wind to get some lovely photos of the bridal party.
Didn't see in any of the rooms as was not staying there but the whole interior of the hotel made me wish I had booked a room for the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be beautiful in lovely grounds surrounding it. The team at Glenbervie House will be happy that you had an enjoyable meal, we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again and hopefully next time you will be able to stay in one of the rooms.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    20
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lenzie.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We held our daughters' wedding at Glenbervie House Hotel in October 2013 and it could not have been more perfect. The wedding party stayed in the coach house the night before, having dinner and a lovely relaxing time. The hot tub being well used
On the day of the wedding, the staff could not have been more helpful. The ceremony was held inside, but the pictures were taking outside in the grounds, which were immaculate. The house itself oozes style and character. The meal was excellent, with a number of our guests raving about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your Daughter’s wedding at the Glenbervie House Hotel. We wish to congratulate the Happy Couple and we hope they had the day they had dreamed of. I am delighted that you and all of the guests enjoyed the meal on the wedding day and also that you found the Coach House to be very relaxing and enjoyable the night before the wedding, it really is a special place to relax before the big day. I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I attended a wedding here in May, I found the level of service to vary hugely depending on who served you, for example the staff serving dinner were excellent as was the food however when i left for the evening with a tray of sandwichs and a botrle of fizz pay for (had not been provided to the bridal party FOC which I was surprised about) no one was at the front desk, then when a member of staff did appear they could not work the computer system properly. I genuinely was tempted to just hand over £10 and leave as I had a taxi waiting and it was beyond a joke. Any staff who take something to do with the front desk and bill payments should be fully trained in an establishment that pitches themselfs so highly. Personally the hotel was too expensive to stay at on the night of the wedding and we had to find alternitive accommodation nearby. Granted this is not the hotels fault, however had I been paying the requested £175 for the night I'd have been rather disappointed. I travel a LOT both for business and pleasure, the rooms were not at all special, the bridal room was nice, if its decor is your kind of thing, however the room directly opposit was rather disappointing, plain and amenities wise rather basic. There was also, as I've read in other comments, a bit of a damp smell in the corridors. It is a nice venue, but for me the farce as i tried to pay my bill so it was not lofted onto the bride and groom the next day really let it down. overall the day felt very generic, however I suppose if the bride and groom had wanted a more personal feel they could have achieved that. I just felt like I was attending wedding number #34 out of #90 they were having that year. Average.

Room Tip: Views of the grounds are every pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. I have taken on board all of your comments regarding a wedding that you attended at Glenbervie House, and these have passed this on to the relevant team members. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wedding reception here in 2008 absolutely beautiful. Private picturesc secluded grounds, great for weddings. Rooms are amazing, jacuzzi bath. Would highly recommend. Staff were brilliant. Reception drinks out on terrace if weathers good over looking Glenbervie golf course. BBQ available. Decor is traditional yet modern . Pure luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Glenbervie House Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found all of the team to be helpful and pleasant. The team at Glenbervie House Hotel will be very pleased and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

What can I say ,this is a top class wedding venue , food great service great and staff work very hard to give you a great service.
We stayed overnight ,we were delighted with our room, family room with one king and two singles ,flat screen tv , fridge with complimentary soft drinks , tea and coffee facilities . Bathroom spacious with walk in shower .breakfast very good and plenty off it.
Hotel settings is lovely and the patio area is used for barbecue weather permitting ,but didn't happen for us as was raining but would be lovely on a hot summers night.

Room Tip: From what I seen all rooms big and spacious .so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbles1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time at a wedding that you attended there. Glenbervie is a fantastic exclusive wedding venue and the team were very happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Having considered several Scottish venues for our wedding in July of 2013, we decided on Glenbervie as it's location suited both sides of the wedding party, it looks stunning and, on the day, it would be exclusively ours. We visited the venue on an open day and were given a full tour of the hotel and the coach house and it is stunning - a great mixture of modern luxury and traditional style. The coach house is pretty special and offers spacious, and stylish additional accommodation a few hundred metres away from the main hotel.

We worked with Shona who guided us around the hotel and helped with our plans. We found her to be pleasant and professional and as long as both parties exchange information and expectations, there really should not be any issues. The venue contract for the booking seems a little formidable as it is used for corporate events as well as private functions, but we were relieved to find the staff were flexible with terms and allowed us to change some items with no fuss at all.

Although well versed in hosting weddings, we at no time felt as if we were on a wedding conveyor belt - and this was certainly the case on the day. The speed the staff do the turn-a-rounds is amazing and the venue looked just as we had hoped for our event. We were able to view every room prior to our booking and although the room layout plan we were given, to help with our allocation of guests, suggests some rooms are small, this is not the case. The plan is rubbish, the rooms are great!
The choice of food and drinks packages is extensive and you can mix and match as you please. There was never any pressure to upgrade, but advice was given as to what works best. Two small points here - the hotel charges for a menu tasting night which we thought, given the amount of money the hotel would be getting for the booking, was cheeky and we did not take them up on this offer. The other point was the high percentage of guests the hotel insisted we catered for at the evening BBQ (around 90%) although, on reflection, this cost is probably to cover the high number of staff that were there on the day to assist with the smooth running and efficient service. That being the case, it was money well spent.
The staff had an excellent "can-do" attitude and went out their way to help guests - providing extra sun shade and ensuring everyone was well fed and watered during the day.

The food was excellent - the evening BBQ was raved about too! However, breakfast is a little informal. This is due to the lack of a designated breakfast area and the need to turn the room around for the next event, however a little more thought could go a long way here. The service was good and the food was good but it just felt a little too informal and "make do". Or maybe that was due to the hangovers...

We had fantastic weather for our wedding and the venue really had a chance to shine - the outdoor seating area proved to be a perfect size. In terms of value for money - the venue is expensive but the level of service we received was excellent. The room prices are a little dear, especially if you are asking any guests, outwith the bridal party, to pay for their stay. Maybe the venue hire costs should be a little higher and the room costs lower? The cost of the coach house seems high initially, but it breaks down to a reasonable cost per room if you manage to occupy all of the bedrooms.

All things considered, I would heartily recommend Glenbervie as a wedding venue. The staff ensured our wedding was stress free and flowed well and our guests all enjoyed the venue.

Room Tip: I noticed another reviewer mentioned a "damp smell" at the venue - we never found one trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nmack75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your wedding at Glenbervie House Hotel. Firstly congratulations to you both on your wedding. We were delighted that you chose to hold your wedding at Glenbervie House and we hope it was the magical day that you dreamed of. I have passed all of your comments on to the team at Glenbervie House and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I recently viewed this hotel for my wedding and after reading reviews I had high expectations. On driving up to the hotel the grounds and hotel exterior were beautiful, a picture perfect setting. However on entering the hotel there was a smell of dampness throughout. The ceremony room was nice but unclean in places. The reception room and bedrooms were lovely but also had a damp, musty smell. Extremely disappointed as I was keen to have my wedding here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mill132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your visit to the Glenbervie House Hotel. Having read your comments I am sorry to learn that your experience did not meet your expectations. I will pass all of your comments on to the team at the Glenbervie House Hotel. Kind Regards Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larbert
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk (Larbert) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
#4 of 10 in Falkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbervie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbervie House Hotel

Property: Glenbervie House Hotel
Address: | between Falkirk and Stirling, Larbert FK5 4SJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Larbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Larbert
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Glenbervie House Hotel Larbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing