We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful venue, excellent staff, fantastic food, made for the perfect Christmas wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenbervie House Hotel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue, excellent staff, fantastic food, made for the perfect Christmas wedding”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We considered many different venues for our Christmas wedding on 28th December, we wanted somewhere that looked spectacular, was intimate and had that festive Christmas feeling, good food and great service, and so we finally decided on glenbervie. We most certainly were not disappointed.

From the warm greeting the staff gave us on our arrival to the farewells the next day this was the perfect wedding. The food was exceptional, everyone commented on how tasty the canopies were, the mini burgers in particular went down well, then the beef for the main meal was first class, followed by the rolls and bacon/sausage which were gone within minutes.

The service we received on the day was exceptional. We had several meetings with Shona beforehand who made us feel comfortable and at ease that everything was under control, she listened to our requirements and made sure the day was planned to perfection.

The managers were on hand during throughout the day to make sure it all went smoothly. Our master of ceremonies was Sue who was amazing, she talked us through each stage and was on hand to make sure we were happy with how the wedding was progressing and the drinks flowed at the too table. The Bar staff were all great also.

The drawing room, hallway and reception looked incredible with the Christmas decorations and candles. The rooms were big and comfortable, and we had a turn down service in the honeymoon suite with a jacuzzi ready for us in the room later at night.

All in all this was the perfect venue and we couldn't have asked for anymore from the staff, service or food, we would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stever1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    20
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent Hogmanay at this hotel with a dozen friends for their New Year bash. Price was very reasonable and my expectations were not very high given experiences at other hotels and venues in the past. However this was way ahead of what I expected!

Firstly the welcome was warm and helpful from all of the staff who were clearly well trained and managed.

Next the food was really excellent with excellent fillet steak and a great salmon starter. Soup was a bit glutinous and could have done with half of the chocolate and coconut tart but these are minor points.

Drinks were competitively produced and the DJ played a great selection which had something popular for everyone in a very mixed crowd.

A really excellent night to bring in 2014 so much so that we had to drag people off the dance floor when our minibus arrived at 1.00. Wish we'd stayed until the close at 2.00! Thanks!

Room Tip: Did not stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John2France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

An excellent place for our Christmas Lunch. No pressure to rush the meal. Good service and pleasant staff helped make our day memorable.
No Silver Service....meal already plated....helped keep the cost down to a reasonable level.
The facilities are in a good location although within easy travelling distance from the big centres of population.
Santa appeared with a wee present for every child.....a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have recently been married at Glenbervie house. We had our wedding on the 18th of October so not the warmest time of year but still managed to get some lovely photos in the beautiful and very well kept grounds.
The house itself is gorgeous and the interior is also very well kept. The rooms were all gorgeously set up exactly as I had requested and the full day was flawless thanks to the organisational skills and attention to detail from the staff.
The food was excellent from canapes, to our wedding meal and buffet at night, we could not fault a thing and the service during the meal was perfect.

Overall we had a wonderful day which went exactly to plan and that was thanks to those who were there to over see the day from start to finish. (A special mention to both Shona and Sue for all of there help over the year and on the day, they were absolutely fantastic!!)
All of our guests have commented how wonderful the venue was, how professional and lovely the staff were and how excellent the food was throughout the day. I could not recommend this place enough if you are thinking about having your wedding here.

Room Tip: The Bridal suite is lovely to chill out after an exhausting day and both of the parents suites are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB0489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review regarding your wedding which was held at Glenbervie House Hotel. Sue and the team will be delighted to read that your special day was perfect. I am delighted that although the weather is starting to turn that you managed to get some lovely photos within the grounds. I will pass all of your kind comments on to Sue and her team and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having never been to this hotel was delighted when a friend invited me to her wedding there. Beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds. Staff were very attentive and the day couldn't have been better. The four course meal for the wedding guests was delicious and well presented. Too cold to sit out on the terrace but we braved the cold wind to get some lovely photos of the bridal party.
Didn't see in any of the rooms as was not staying there but the whole interior of the hotel made me wish I had booked a room for the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be beautiful in lovely grounds surrounding it. The team at Glenbervie House will be happy that you had an enjoyable meal, we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again and hopefully next time you will be able to stay in one of the rooms.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzie.
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We held our daughters' wedding at Glenbervie House Hotel in October 2013 and it could not have been more perfect. The wedding party stayed in the coach house the night before, having dinner and a lovely relaxing time. The hot tub being well used
On the day of the wedding, the staff could not have been more helpful. The ceremony was held inside, but the pictures were taking outside in the grounds, which were immaculate. The house itself oozes style and character. The meal was excellent, with a number of our guests raving about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your Daughter’s wedding at the Glenbervie House Hotel. We wish to congratulate the Happy Couple and we hope they had the day they had dreamed of. I am delighted that you and all of the guests enjoyed the meal on the wedding day and also that you found the Coach House to be very relaxing and enjoyable the night before the wedding, it really is a special place to relax before the big day. I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I attended a wedding here in May, I found the level of service to vary hugely depending on who served you, for example the staff serving dinner were excellent as was the food however when i left for the evening with a tray of sandwichs and a botrle of fizz pay for (had not been provided to the bridal party FOC which I was surprised about) no one was at the front desk, then when a member of staff did appear they could not work the computer system properly. I genuinely was tempted to just hand over £10 and leave as I had a taxi waiting and it was beyond a joke. Any staff who take something to do with the front desk and bill payments should be fully trained in an establishment that pitches themselfs so highly. Personally the hotel was too expensive to stay at on the night of the wedding and we had to find alternitive accommodation nearby. Granted this is not the hotels fault, however had I been paying the requested £175 for the night I'd have been rather disappointed. I travel a LOT both for business and pleasure, the rooms were not at all special, the bridal room was nice, if its decor is your kind of thing, however the room directly opposit was rather disappointing, plain and amenities wise rather basic. There was also, as I've read in other comments, a bit of a damp smell in the corridors. It is a nice venue, but for me the farce as i tried to pay my bill so it was not lofted onto the bride and groom the next day really let it down. overall the day felt very generic, however I suppose if the bride and groom had wanted a more personal feel they could have achieved that. I just felt like I was attending wedding number #34 out of #90 they were having that year. Average.

Room Tip: Views of the grounds are every pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Glenbervie House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Glenbervie House Hotel. I have taken on board all of your comments regarding a wedding that you attended at Glenbervie House, and these have passed this on to the relevant team members. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larbert
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk (Larbert) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbervie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbervie House Hotel

Property: Glenbervie House Hotel
Address: | between Falkirk and Stirling, Larbert FK5 4SJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Larbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Larbert
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Glenbervie House Hotel Larbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing