We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very practical for the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Goodwood
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We were there for two days, before leaving South Africa. It's not great to visit the city, but absolutely close to the airport.
They were very helpful and because we continue sleeping even with the phone call, they came to knock on the door to be sure we were OK"
Only bad thing, noise isolation. First night, a saturday, a child was running in the hallway at 11pm and it was like it was in my room...

Room Tip: Not too close to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MChouinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for your comments - we hope you enjoyed your stay in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Road Lodge is within walking distance of the terminal and all rental car return sites. The rooms are adequate for an overnight or extended stay. Although there is no restaurant on site, fast food is available at the nearby BP service station/quickstop and there are vending machines in the lobby. Reasonably priced restaurants of all variety are available in the airport terminal. Unlike airports in the states, food and beverage at the airport does not cost an arm and a leg. Staff were courteous and helpful. Although the lodge is located on a major road, it was quiet and traffic did not pose a problem. This is a sister property to the upscale City Lodge and Casino located a few miles away and staff were helpful setting up a reservation for the evening prior to our departure from country.

Room Tip: Due to the reasonable price and proximity to the airport I would recommend an advance reservation to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you so much for your comments . We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again at one of our hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Close to airport.
Friendly staff on arrival and helpful.
Good value for money.
Clean rooms.
Closest place to eat is the airport.
Good value for one or two night stop over.
Perfect for business trips.
Will definitely return to hotel when I come for business.
Next door to quick shop.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpallettiZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

If you are arriving inbound late at night this is an easy safe option only 2 minutes from the arrivals hall.
Having stayed here before and found out there is no lift ,we opted for a ground floor twin room number 10,a twin because it gives you more bed space,the so called doubles are miniscule.
Breakfast is a no no ,much better to get something on the road at a farm stall if travelling away from Cape Town.
This hotel is only a 1 night hotel,a stop gap,but certainly safer than driving towards Somerset West at midnight and we are seasoned travellers but we are not that brave.
The room had air-con ,tv,shower but no frills,at a no frills price.
Would use again in similiar circumstances.

Room Tip: ground floor a must to save dragging suitcases up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean/bManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here the night before a flight from CPT, and the location and price are good. But, I have to say, I was trapped in the bathroom when the door wouldn't open, and had to yell to people passing by in the hallway to get help. It took over half an hour for the hotel staff to open the door, and it was quite frightening to be stuck like that. The manager was somewhat apologetic, but there was no compensation offered. Given that the walls were solid concrete, if nobody had heard me the only other option would have been to plug the drain and run the shower to flood the floors below me.

Otherwise it was fine :)

About a 10 minute walk to the airport, breakfast was available for 60 rand, rooms was small but clean and adequate, 505 rand for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks for your review. While we asre glad you foound our airport hotel convenient, we are sorry about the bathroom door situation you describe - we will look into it to make sure it can never happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at the road lodge en route to Paternoster. It suited our requirement for a quick overnight stay. The rooms are very basic but clean. Stay here if you need a place to frshen up and sleep over.Practical and convenient. They gave us a complimentary muffin on our departure :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This IS a Transit hotel. It is not a place where you should complain about for access to Cape Town. We had to check in a 15:00 PM for an early flight. After reading the Trip Adviser reviews, we assumed the worst,
Really underestimated. Clean, QUIET, Friendly and very close to the airport. The Desk suggested we should not walk to the airport but it really was well lighted and could be done in about 15 minutes.
Totally under estimated. Breakfast looked quite good although we had to leave prior to service. Shuttle was great. Will return any time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodwood
5.8 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
4.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The New National - Lodge & Conference
6.4 mi away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
12.3 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#114 of 201 in Cape Town
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Airport Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Airport Cape Town

Address: Adjoining BP service and Filling Station. At Cape Town International Airport, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Goodwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Goodwood
Price Range: £32 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Airport Cape Town 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated within the airport precinct, the 90-room Road Lodge Cape Town International Airport provides convenient budget accommodation for travellers arriving in and departing from the “Mother City”. Cape Town’s CBD is just minutes away via the nearby N2 motorway and the Western Cape’s winelands and other hinterland attractions are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Road Lodge Airport Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Road Hotel Cape Town
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town Goodwood, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing