We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let the dices roll”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Goodwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel is well situated and you are not exposed to all the normal city noise. It is near the airport with good connectivity to every directions that you may choose. As it situated near the casino you have the advantage of visiting it if you prefer. The restaurants in the casino caters for a variety of tastes and you can walk to it.

The rooms are comfortable with all the necessary amenities. I had a room facing the courtyard and it can become noisy if there are a couple of people sitting there. The staff are professional and all your questions are dealt with effeciently. The breakfast room has a lovely view of Table Mountain and you really enjoy it with sucha view. the choices ate breakfast are vast and worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuscany987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for your comments - we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Location: Out of town a little, out by the casino resort area. Tons of on-site secure parking. It seems a good location for travelling around the Western Cape area. Nothing much other than other hotels and the Casino are within walking distance.

Accommodation: I didn’t stay here, we used their business meeting facilities as my hosts often use the place for conferences and the like. I can’t describe the guest rooms but all the public areas and the meeting rooms etc. were maintained to an excellent standard and were of a very good specification. The place has a lovely spacious and airy feel to it. Everything was spotlessly clean, I’m not OCD about that sort of thing but the place was so obviously spotless it made an impression!

Dining: we had lunch here a few times and there is a delightful bar/café dining room just past the reception. It is airy and open plan with a lovely open view out from the conservatory end. The food was delicious. I had their sandwiches each time and these were made from quality ingredients and a good balance of flavours. Service seemed a little slow but we were tending to eat a little out of peak times which may explain that.

Other facilities: There is a small fitness room, and WiFi is chargable.

Service: Service was to a good standard. They forgot to bring the teas we had booked for a meeting on one occasion but other than this they seemed approachable, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akku_Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thanks for your review - next time you visit, please come and stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel is part of the Grand West Casino and so about 10 miles drive out of the city center. I stayed on business for 3 days and it was generally a very decent hotel, with the one draw back of being out of town. On the other hand there are lots of restaurants available as part of the casino and if you have a car it is a 15 minute drive down the Highway.

The rooms themselves are very good and well maintained, with good facilities - although not luxurious. The breakfast buffet was very good with a lovely view of sunrise over the side of table mountain. The reception staff were friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thanks for your review of our hotel - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The City Lodge GrandWest hotel is located at the GrandWest Casino in Cape Town so if you are intending to see a show (Dralion by Cirque du Soleil) there it is the perfect choice as you can just walk to the show avoiding the parking chaos when the show is over. There are many fastfood outlets at the Casino like Spur, Debonairs, Nandos, KFC, Milky Way as well as restaurants.There is also a Nu Metro cinema and Ice Skating Rink.
The rooms at the City Lodge are clean and good value for money. The bathroom is large and clean with a bath and shower. The tvs are small and old and should be updated to LCD. There is a safe and plenty of hanging space.The beds are comfortable. Good service from Reception. The garden and pool area are well maintained and usually very quiet. There is 15 mins free wifi every day, you need to get a password from Reception to get an extra 15mins if there is a special on. There is a small gym, a vending machine and Ice machine near Reception.
When arriving at the casino entrance there is a separate lane for the City Lodge where you receive a parking ticket. When leaving the casino area you need to get the staff at Reception to validate your ticket so you do not have to pay.
When booking your room you should request a non-smoking room otherwise you may get a Smoking room. The rooms are not very soundproof and you can hear housekeeping in the corridors in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdwfanPe_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your extensive review of our hotel - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for one night after a very long drive from Joberg. It was nice to have a comfortable room, bath tub and cable TV after roughing it for the past 3 weeks. Food and beverage was excellent and proximity to the restaurants and Casino was convenient and a nice addition to the accomodation. All staff were great and could not help enough to make our stay memorable. Although it was at the top end pricewise, it was worth the money for a short stay. Staff helped up get set up for a night at the sister property, City Lodge, at the airport, prior to our departure to the US. I would definately recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

We are glad you enjpyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at City Lodge Grand West, the staff where very friendly and efficient. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing with views of table mountain. It was great to be so close to Grand West casino with it being just in walking distance. We had an amazing time and will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777SarahS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at the City Lodge after attending a show at GrandWest. It was really good value. The staff was warm and friendly and extremely helpful. The room was impeccably clean and the bed very comfortable. The aircon was welcome due to the hot weather. This hotel is close to the GandWest Casino, where there are some stunning restaurants and also the arena, where shows are held. They are also a short shuttle drive away from the Cape Town International Airport

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodwood
2.2 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
4.3 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
4.5 mi away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
5.5 mi away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The New National - Lodge & Conference
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel GrandWest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel GrandWest

Address: 1 Jakes Gerwel Drive, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Goodwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Goodwood
Price Range: £73 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel GrandWest 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lodge GrandWest is themed on the original Cape Dutch style of architecture and is 20 minutes from Cape Town's international airport, the city centre and the V and Waterfront. The hotel is part of the GrandWest Casino Resort, boasting a cinema complex, ice-rink, restaurants, bars, gaming tables and slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel GrandWest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Grandwest Hotel Goodwood
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest Cape Town/Goodwood, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing