We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Golf/Town/Beach”
Review of Cabot Links Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabot Links Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
TORONTO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Golf/Town/Beach”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Family vacation at a golf course, right on! Great sandy beach with lifeguard, enough rocks to keep the kids entertained. The water was surprisingly warm and calm - in and out all day. Don't miss the Burger/Lobster Roll Shack on the beach. The modern hotel was fantastic, the beds were very comfortable with all the right amenities- like the L'Occitane soap/shampoo. Golf Quotes on each door to your room was a fun touch. We ate at the Cabot Public House (with the Kids) which offers casual dining and the Panorama Restaurant (just the adults) which offers great views of the ocean and golf course along with terrific food. The Golf course (Top 100 in the world) was a treat to play, fun par 3 towards the ocean with the wind in your face. The staff are very friendly and on the ball- noticing we were a family of 5, had extra towels to our room without asking. Final word: we would go again!

Helpful?
Thank MIKENANCYToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks for dropping a line and sharing your experience. I am glad you were able to escape with your family and join us in Inverness for your vacation.

I will pass along your feedback to our Housekeeping team on the towels and I am glad you were well taken care of.

Thanks again from bringing your family here and we hope to be a part of many vacations going forward.

All the best,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    59
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
132
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Cabot Links was a very good place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though not luxurious. Meals were good, with a focus on quality ingredients. The location is scenic and beautiful. The primary attraction is golf.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhhhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for joining us here in Inverness. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Cabot Links has awakened the desire to visit the mid and south west coast of Coast Breton. Fine by us as most of the Island's visitors head east. How an abandoned coal mine in Inverness could transition into a beautiful and nature inspired golf course is beyond comprehension. The golf course is a delight for the purists, especially the 11th and 16th holes. We saw pilot whales frolicking off shore while playing the 2nd hole. Even non golfers will enjoy the experience, and plenty to do when the better half, or worse half is golfing, or quasi-golfing like most golf mortals. Sunsets are spectacular. The nearby Margaree harbor area is a must see. Accommodations at Cabot Links are functional, modern, innovative and comfortable. Plenty of choices for food, dining locations, and liquid augmentation. The food, wine selection and ambience was superb. Glenora Distillery is down the road should 'dilution be the solution' requirements go unfulfilled. Customer service at Cabot Links is top notch, and you don't have to stay long to be on a 1st name basis with the wonderful staff. Andrew, the GM, instills this commitment to make all guests feel welcome, and you can see a vision to continually improve the guest experience, which is refreshing. We look forward to returning, and can't wait for the new Cabot Cliffs course to open.

Helpful?
Thank GPR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely words. We are very proud of what is happening here at Cabot and we are happy that we had the chance to share it with you.

I have lived and worked in many places on this beautiful planet and this is definitely one of the most picturesque!

Thanks again for taking the time to write and we will look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Played on a Chamber of Commerce day. What we played is just the start of a second world-class links golf development. Bandon Dunes has replaced Pebble beach as the go-to golf destination of-choice. Now, golfers from the east will have a "close" destination.

Walking only ... and it should be done with caddies ... it has great holes and even greater views. It took several holes to get re-accustomed to links style golf but once in the groove, it was great fun. Hitting two clubs less than the distance to the hole became the plan of choice.

Oh, yes, the halfway house features lobster sliders.

There is a second eighteen under construction ... Cabot Cliffs ... and a plan for an addition to the lodge.

I was visiting friends in the area but access to Cabot is a bit tough. Private plane travelers will need better access than the current choices ... but there is a rumor the developers are looking for land ... there's a lot of land around ... to build a jet port. If that can be accomplished with reasonable landing fees and local customs ... You'll need to make reservations and tee times well in advance.

Only complaint ... we had a 5 1/2 hour round. Some of the people in front of us were ... ahem ...newbies to golf and golf etiquette. Caddies would have helped.

Inverness is a lovely town right on the Gulf of St Lawrence. This development has been a great boon to the town. Houses that were begging for new ownership at any price are now firmly established. All four of our caddies were locals ... two were teachers on summer break.

If you want a top-notch golf holiday that all your golfing buddies haven't played ... this is your place..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCSkier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks for the feedback! I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the course and the views and got a chance to sample the new Lobster sliders - people have been raving about them!

Cabot Cliffs is well underway and we hope to have you take a sneak peak upon your return!

My apologies on the pace of play that day - typically we run around the four hour mark so we will do a better job at pushing things along. Taking a Caddie certainly does help in that regard but I have taken this up with our Golf Operations and we will ensure that things run a little more smoothly next time around.

Thank you again for coming and please drop us a line should you be planning a return visit.

Best regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Golf in the morning with spectacular ocean views on every hole of a classic links course that you would only expect to find in Ireland and Scotland. Followed by an afternoon on a wonderful ocean beach and then dinner sitting outside with an ocean view. All the rooms also have ocean views and are very comfortable. The staff and locals went out of their way to be helpful and friendly - you are made to feel very welcome.

Only one suggestion for improvement - the windows in the rooms with no balcony should be made to open. It was a shame to be by the ocean and have to turn on the air conditioner.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Murray274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to come and join us, and share your experience here at Cabot! Glad you go a chance to spend some time with our amazing staff and it sounds as if you crossed paths with more than a few of the locals! They truly are the nicest people on the planet!

On the window front, we have completed a couple of the rooms but will have everything completed by opening for next season. I completely agree with your feedback and we will fix it up.

Thanks again,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This resort is fantastic! The facilities are top notch, the views are out of this world and the food was excellent. We can't say enough about the staff as well. They treated us so nice even with a bit of a mix up with our reservation. They had booked us on the wrong day (golf tee time and day were correct, room somehow was booked on the previous night) and because of this they upgraded our room and made sure we were happy with everything. The room was amazing, rain showerhead in the shower and a bubble tub! The balcony looked out over the ocean with the most gorgeous view of the sunset.

Golf facilities were excellent although the course is very challenging as it is truly a links course. My husband played 18 holes while I golfed their 5 hole package and then enjoyed the balcony with some wine and a book. It was so nice as I could watch my husband come up number 18 right from our room. Although he didn't use a caddie we saw them around the course and we had a small recommendation that they should be provided uniforms.

Only other recommendation we would make is that the live music starts a bit earlier than 11pm and that the band is vetted before being hired for this exclusive club. We went out to the Public House on the Saturday night as we heard there was going to be a band. They started very late after most resort patrons had left. Also the band didn't have much respect for the resort as they didn't seem sorry they were running behind-lead band member actually ordered a pizza before he played and then requested a takeout box!. Earlier in the day we saw them golfing with jeans and tee shirts which we couldn't believe the course would allow but understood that they were being lenient for this group. Overall we found them very unprofessional and not the right fit for this resort. I think live music from 7-10 is probably something that would be better received.

Overall we loved our stay here and can't wait to go back. If you are a golfer, this is a MUST and is a better experience than highland links (except for the history).

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TBaker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and we are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay. The staff interaction is a big part of the Guest Experience here at Cabot and it looks like you had your fair share of that!! They are a fun bunch!

My apologies on the mix up with your reservation but I am glad you gave us the opportunity to make it right. Thank you for your good nature!!

As for the music debacle at the Public House, I do apologize profusely. As a result of this, we have decided that that band will not be playing here again. We have also decided that dinner music will be played,typically, from 5:30pm to 7:30pm so our guests can enjoy it during the dinner hour. Other late night music starts at 10pm and while we have had some great acts here in the past, many felt disappointed by this one. I heard the same feedback from a few of our guests that were out to enjoy a nice night and I apologize if it ruined your evening. Please join us again and we will make it up to you!

Thanks again for taking the time to describe your experience and I do hope that we get to meet again.

Best,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My best friend and I set off on a Cape Breton golf holiday to celebrate our 60th birthdays. Wanted to do something memorable and adding in Cabot Links was the ticket. Recently rated 82 in the world it lived up to all the hype. Friendly staff, great food, incredible golf course. Take a caddie like I did, it's worth it. Never played a course that has as many memorable golf holes.

Room Tip: If you want a king bed ask for the top floor as some have balconies. We had to have two double beds...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Codkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks for joining us to celebrate your very special occasion with us! Coinciding with our World 82 ranking was a pleasant surprise and I am glad that you found that it lived up to the billing! It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
54.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
27.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
67.3 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
52.9 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
27.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Links Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Links Resort

Property: Cabot Links Resort
Address: 15933 Central Avenue, Inverness, Nova Scotia B0E 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabot Links features 36 holes of exhilarating links golf and one of the best experiences in the country. With two acclaimed courses, 72 rooms of award-winning accommodation at Cabot Links Lodge, 14 Golf Villas and exquisite dining in our three on-site restaurants, Cabot is designed to excite and inspire at every turn. Located on over a mile of sandy beach along the coast of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Cabot Links is Canada's first and only authentic links golf resort. Lauded as a golfer's paradise, the Rod Whitman designed Cabot Links course incorporates the rugged Nova Scotia landscape - dramatic seaside vistas with undulating terrain - and sandy soil. Our newest addition, Cabot Cliffs, is designed by the legendary team of Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw. The official opening is slated for June of 2016 and promises to provide an incredible golf experience, through coastal dunes and high atop the ocean-side Cliffs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing