We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice Of Golf heaven!!!”
Review of Cabot Links Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabot Links Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A Slice Of Golf heaven!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cabot Links for three nights, Aug 6-9. The golf course is spectacular as is the view from every room!! We found the experience to be one of the best golf vacations we have had. The room was clean, modern and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and shower perfect after round of golf. Our caddie Eddie was a joy!!! He offered great insight which enhanced our golf experience. The dinner venues varied as to sophistication... we had a great dinner at the Pannorama dinning room and on another occasion was equally satisfied with the Public House. One draw back, the bar stools are very uncomfortable. No-one was sitting at the bar until all of the other seats were taken. We like to sit at the bar and have dinner but opted not to. The general manager, Andrew, was always around, very visibie, and very quick to meet any special requests. The staff was at reception and the pro shop were very accomodating. We changed our reservations (came early and left early) with no problems. We can't wait to come back especially because another 18 holes will be completed in 2015!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks again for joining us here in Inverness. It sounds like you had a great time here in Cape Breton and we are glad you made the trip!

I am happy that I got the chance to meet you and more importantly, that you got to meet Eddie! We have many great Caddies here at Cabot and it sounds like we paired you up with the right one!

Thanks again for coming and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    64
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
140
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in July and found this place exceded our expectations. The rooms and bathrooms are very modern and the views of the Sea and Golf Course from every room are fantastic!! The city of Inverness is very small and somewhat weathered but you can see that they are on the upswing as this hotel will bring in International clients to play the Links Course's The food in both pub resturants at the resort were excellent , we did not eat in the fine dining area as it was sold out and over booked both nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobNaplesFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for joining us here in Inverness and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time. Our deepest apologies for not getting you into Panorama. It's a very busy spot but we endeavour to have our guests eat there and try to accommodate regardless of business volume. Please get in touch upon your return and we will make sure you are well taken care of!

Thanks again for visiting and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a great stay at the Cabot Links hotel in July. The room was very well appointed with comortable beds & bedding, Nespresso machine with real cream in the fridge, great L'Occitance bathroom amenities, etc. Hubby golfed the links style course and loved it, despite losing a few of his ProV1's ;). We ate at the Cabot Bar, and really enjoyed our fresh fish, and local selections.

One very minor complaint is that the rooms, despite having large panoramic windows that look out over the course and the water, give no access to the beautiful west side. It would have been nice to have a door that opened to the view and/or some small chairs to watch sunset outside. I think only 2 units per building had balconies, so the majority of guests don't have access (perhaps the hotel wants to keep people out?). We just took our wool blanket outside and had a bottle of wine on the grass in front of our window while watching the gorgeous sunset, but I imagine that's not ideally what the hotel wants the blankets used for. Was a great idea though, and 2 other couples ending up joining us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_14_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for making the trip to Inverness and for staying with us here at Cabot. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the restaurants, both of which we take great pride in.

On the balcony front, we have 5 different room types of varying rate here at Cabot, our most luxurious of which comes equipped with the private outdoor space. We found that while many do prefer a balcony, others choose our introductory category or Deluxe category and hit the beach or the boardwalk during sunset hours. That said, I am glad you had the great idea to use the blanket from the room to lounge outside. Sunset around here is always a magic hour so I am happy that you got to enjoy it.

One of the big things that we pride ourselves on here at Cabot is that we want our guests to enjoy themselves to the fullest. In short, we try to say yes to everything. If sitting on one of our blankets outside with a nice bottle of wine is how you would like to spend the evening, than that is exactly how we want you to spend it. Thanks for sharing what sounds like an incredible evening and thanks again for spending it here.

Best regards,
Andrew


Was a great idea though, and 2 other couples ending up joining us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cabot Links with our 8 year old son for two nights. We had originally only planned on staying one night and then continuing on to Baddeck but loved The Cabot so much we changed our plans. We are not golfers but greatly enjoyed the spectacular ocean views and sunsets from our room or while enjoying dinner and drinks on the deck of the Cabot Bar which is where we ate dinner both nights simply because the food was good and watching the golfers come in to the 18th green right next to the deck was enjoyable. It was the perfect place to watch the sunset from as well.
Our room was on the main floor with two double beds. We would have preferred a second floor king room and would have put a roll-a-way in but the hotel was full so we took what was available and still enjoyed the stay. The extras like the Nespresso machine, free water, robes were all appreciated.
We walked to the Inverness Beach from the hotel, (the reception desk says it is a 7 minute walk - not so, more like 20 minutes), but worth it. Each morning I ran along the boardwalk built between the golf course and the beach and it was amazing. After a morning run grab a fabulous coffee at the Downstreet Coffee Company on the main street. Great baked goods and healthy to go choices.
We chose to do a day trip to Baddeck and the Alexander Graham Bell Museum which worked out amazingly. Early drive there, a tour of the museum and Baddeck then on the return stop at The Dancing Goat in Margaree for great lunch. Then drove to upper Margaree to hike the Egypt Falls Trail which was perfect; back to The Cabot in time for dinner. The next day we checked out and continued on to Cheticamp and the Skyline Trail in the National Park.
I would agree with other reviews posted that this hotel is truly the only "luxury" accommodation we found on Cape Breton. Other hotels were just not comparable. It is not really a "kids" hotel but the proximity to the beach as well as the free wi-fi made it work for us and our son.
While staying at The Cabot we realized many of our golfer friends would love this place - they have shuttle service to the airport and it is a spectacular course.

Room Tip: Second Level Rooms have the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for joining us at Cabot and I am glad you enjoyed your stay here in Inverness. It looks like you got to hit many of the great spots around town, including the Inverness Beach - it's a magical place and one that is relatively undiscovered!

We are working on some great things for our younger set here at Cabot so please get in touch with us if you find yourself in the area again. We'll have some amazing beach activities, fishing, paddle boards and if there are any aspiring golfers, our teaching pros can give them a few tips as well!

Thank you again for coming and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Best,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great sites, neat gift shop, friendly people! Rooms are elegant, staff are the most friendliest people in the world. The play of golf is different which makes for a fun game and the site is breathtaking.

Helpful?
Thank Mama D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We certainly take great pride in where we work and operating here affords us the opportunity to work with some of the greatest people in the world! We've had a very busy season here at Cabot and it has been amazing to see our staff rise to the occasion!

Thank you for taking the time to commend their efforts and I do hope we see you again soon.

Best regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here with friends to catch up and had a lovely evening. The scenery is absolutely spectacular and service impeccable!

Helpful?
Thank dinnisHalifax_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for coming and we're glad you enjoyed your time!!!

Best regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First piece of good news , if you have been away from home for any length of time , is they offer FREE TELEPHONE CALLS to anywhere in North America - as well as free Wi-Fi . Makes being away from family a whole lot easier . Food was generally okay . We ate at Pub of Cabot and the Public House . Did not have the opportunity to dine in the resort's fine dining restaurant . The Pub of Cabot is a nicely appointed roadhouse style environment used mostly by the Resort guests . The Public House is much more casual and attracts many of the 'local' folks . Also has live entertainment . The staff at the entire resort were courteous and well trained .The rooms were very contemporary and well appointed with very nice views of the golf course and the ocean . The only negative - and it is a big one - is the sound proofing between the floors . Our group had 3 rooms on the 1st floor of this two floor resort .Each of us complained about the noise from above . I suggest if u stay there u request an upper level floor . The golf - it is a true links course . Challenging ! Interesting ! Fun ! I would recommend you take advantage of the caddy service as there are a number of tricks to playing this course that only a caddy would know . Also , the direction between holes is not as clear as it should be .Summary - worth the price of admission and definitely on our revisit list .

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor . Much better views plus you won't have to contend with the noise co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. While noise is not typically an issue here at Cabot, I do thank you for your feedback and we will be sure to right that if we can. Please do not hesitate to get in touch prior to your return and I will ensure that we have you taken care of.

Thanks again for joining us and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
54.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
27.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
53.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.5 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
52.9 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
27.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Links Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Links Resort

Property: Cabot Links Resort
Address: 15933 Central Avenue, Inverness, Nova Scotia B0E 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabot Links features 36 holes of exhilarating links golf and one of the best experiences in the country. With two acclaimed courses, 72 rooms of award-winning accommodation at Cabot Links Lodge, 14 Golf Villas and exquisite dining in our three on-site restaurants, Cabot is designed to excite and inspire at every turn. Located on over a mile of sandy beach along the coast of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Cabot Links is Canada's first and only authentic links golf resort. Lauded as a golfer's paradise, the Rod Whitman designed Cabot Links course incorporates the rugged Nova Scotia landscape - dramatic seaside vistas with undulating terrain - and sandy soil. Our newest addition, Cabot Cliffs, is designed by the legendary team of Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw. The official opening is slated for June of 2016 and promises to provide an incredible golf experience, through coastal dunes and high atop the ocean-side Cliffs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing