We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
263
80
24
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
80
24
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great golf pro shop golf course bandon dunes golf experience public house two courses bucket list the pub cape breton floor to ceiling windows nova scotia world class golf panorama restaurant north america tee times heated floors
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Cabot Cliffs and Cabot Links are two of the most beautiful golf courses we have ever seen. The layout of the land made us feel as if we were in Scotland. The resort cottages were very modern and offered a view of the golf course. Attention to every detailed was considered with the layout and furnishings. In the afternoon we enjoyed walking down to Inverness beach which was covered in sea glass and rocks. The beach offered amazing views. We did not swim, because the water was a little cold for us, but others were taking a dip. We would recommend this location to golf groups or families who love golf as much as ours.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GaylonandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your experience.
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and that you took advantage of the beautiful Inverness beach as well.
We hope you will be back soon!

Best regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stayed in a "fairway" room, on the golf course level. Very comfortable, well appointed, great bed/pillows.
Loved both golf courses, each different in own way, spectacular views. Cliffs teeing grounds and greens very hard - but assume that will change as course matures.
Had wonderful caddie, but overall caddie operation is work in progress. Not enough "A" caddies, and even short on "B" caddies. Can't imagine playing courses, at least for first time, without a guide. Not sure if Cabot can learn from Bandon, but might consider it, if not already doing so.
Glad to have new practice range at Cliffs - even if you have to take a shuttle over from the resort, you take a shuttle at Bandon too. Helpful to have all client-facing staff be aware of practice range hours. We arrived Monday afternoon, and went over there. Not told closed for maintenance Monday afternoons (and one other day) until arrived at Cliffs pro shop to get balls.
Food in Bar and Panorama excellent; staff very pleasant and hardworking. Panorama is a special treat - not only the view, but the food is a cut above what I expected, and the service is excellent. Try the lobster ravioli!
Glad to see what appears to be greater presence of women than at Bandon! Not sure why that would be...but great news. Only downside, for me, is the supply of "small" shirts was limited - at mid-season, this is disappointing. (Perhaps staff buy all the smalls, and leave the med/large/XL for the guests?) On the positive side, merchandise offering for women relatively more interesting than when I was at Bandon four years ago.
I would definitely go back.

Room tip: Our "fairway" room was just by Links' first tee - it was fine.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marywR866FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to drop us a line!

The caddie program is certainly a work in progress with our golf resort growing so rapidly. We are constantly recruiting more caddies and our program continues to build year over year. We will pass along your feedback regarding the practice range hours to make sure all of our staff is aware of the opening an closing times moving forward.
We are so happy you noticed our high percentage of female golfers as this is something we are very proud of. We strive to make our golf resort welcoming for all, with special touches such as our royal blue tee boxes for beginner golfers and those who do not have the length for the other standard sets of tees.
We have passed your feedback along to our proshop regarding the clothing sizes.
Thanks again for your great feedback, we hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Just returned from a weekend on Cabot Links and Cabot Cliffs. As Gary Player says about the World Golf Hall of Fame, "If you love golf, you have to go". I have played the original Links course several times now, and it is fantastic - true Links golf like one would find on the very best courses in Scotland, such as Turnberry, Royal Dornoch, etc. However, this was my first time teeing it up on The Cliffs and I would say it is even better than the first course. In my golf travels, I have never seen anything like he back 9, and particularly the final 4 holes, on this track! It is very challenging and absolutely beautiful, with big par 5's opening up to the Atlantic Ocean, a par three that is all carry over the ocean in the fashion of Cypress Point, a drive-able seaside par 4 that offers up plenty of risk/reward, etc. All things considered, it is a course that will certainly challenge you both mentally and physically, while showcasing the rugged beauty of the Cape Breton coastline. A good caddy is a big asset and can help you maximize your overall Cabot experience. Having said that, the resort is very busy and demand is presently exceeding supply of both caddies and pull carts, but these are minor growing pains and the Resort will no doubt address these things in short order. I have eaten in both the Public House and the Panorama Restaurant and the food in both locations is excellent. The rooms are modern and very comfortable with great beds and showers, two essentials for golfers who sometimes do 36 holes per day. Cabot Links is truly transforming Inverness and the West Coast of Cape Breton, and the owners should be commended for building 2 superb and unique courses and a top-notch resort. Everything has been done so well here, and that is why the place is one of the hottest spots in the golf world! A special mention for Joe Robinson and Director of Golf Ted Stenhouse. Both are consummate professionals who work very hard to ensure guests have the best possible experience at Cabot. Good luck and God Bless Cabot Links!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mnickers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you for visiting us and for your kind words!
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here at Cabot and we hope you will be back again soon!

Best regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed one night in the Cabot Links Resort. Even though we didn't go to golf, it was definitely worth the money to experience the beautiful views and sunset from our room. What a unique resort, beautifully maintained, with huge luxurious rooms. After a long trip through Nova Scotia, this last stop for us was a wonderful way to end our trip.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thanks for stopping by and for sharing your experience!
We hope you will be back soon.

Best regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

A great golf location and people know about it so plan ahead. We called at the beginning of February for three nights in August. Last available 3 night stay was mid July. Plan your golf and dinner in the Panorama Room at the outset if you can. We got great tee times.
Golf is the primary thing here, but if you are just driving the Cabot Trail and don't mind spending a little money then this certainly is the best place in the area.
Don't pay too much attention to the town. There are some iffy buildings just outside the hotel but they may not be there long. The main rooms are on two floors in new buildings. Rooms are modern and very nice. They were upgrading the tvs as we were leaving. Weather is variable here. On the walkways outside the upstairs room there is no protection from the rain and the rain puddles on the walkways downstairs. Umbrellas are available in the rooms. We did not see any elevators and the stairs are a good climb if that makes a difference to you. All rooms appear to have the same excellent view but some have balconies. Villas available too. You are right on the course.
Separately we have reviewed the courses (spectacular), restaurants (very good) and driving the Cabot Trail (do this at least on the west side). There are not many amenities on Cape Breton..a 3+ hour drive from Halifax Airport and there are limited gas stations if you are driving. So if you 1. see a gas station and 2. it is open and 3. you think you might need fuel sometime then stop.
This is a wonderful (although growing) place and we had a great time.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SWFSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, General Manager at Cabot Links Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your experience!
We are so glad you enjoyed your golfing and dining experience here and that you found some time to explore the island as well.
We hope you will be back soon!
Best regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews