We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub, great food!”
Review of The Weir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Weir Hotel
Shepperton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice pub, great food!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Visited The Weir today for lunch. Bar staff were really friendly & helpful. We sat in the garden while we waited for our food. The wait was quite a while, and sadly the heavens opened. However a friendly face at the door asked us if we'd prefer to sit inside to eat, rather than huddling under an umbrella. He found us a nice table & delivered our food. Lunch was absolutely delish! Not over priced, and on hot plates too. Will definitely be back again for more :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beanie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    40
    11
    10
    22
See reviews for
20
40
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have stayed at The Weir many times now on business. The location, the staff and the food are wonderful!
I don't recognise the place from the couple of negative reviews but some people like a moan!

I hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room and watch the world go by on the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had been out for the day in Windsor and on the way home decided to stop by the Weir where we have been many times before. We were not disappointed and had a relaxing drink by the river. After a walk we returned and had a delicious evening meal. staff helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My friends and I had started using this pub as a regular spot for an evening drink on a Monday after swimming.
Last Monday we were enjoying a drink and snacks, the room was warm and stuffy so we opened a patio door for some air.
After a while a man came outnofnthe kitchen and closed the door and walked off!!!
This man later turned out to be the manager and when we reopened the door we were told 'he could shut the door as it was his pub and he paid the bills!!!!!'
He then continued to be rude and had to be calmed down by his partner.
Not a place we are in a hurry to return too.
However the rest of the staff have always been pleasant and helpful and I would rate them highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon504207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walton-On-Thames hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Great location, which serves the best Sunday roast you can get in any pub. A place you must try. The Sunday roast is slightly more expensive than you would pay in some other pubs. However, well worth the money as the food is fresh and very tasty. It's best visited on a sunny day, so you can sit outside and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Weir is a pub / restaurant that is also a hotel/BB.

The pub is situated literally right next to the towpath and so as you sit there, you can watch the various boats heading up and down the River Thames, which was great for the kids and kept them occupied.

As it was Bank Holiday Monday the place was heaving, not much room at all outside. It was sunny so everyone and his Mother wanted to get some long overdue sun. Buying a drink or ordering food was a bit of a nightmare, the bar looked like Luton Airport just before Easy Jet and Ryan Air open the Check In desks, it was that busy. Its a shame that separate lines for "drinks only" and maybe people that wanted both food and drinks, were not better separated or even customers made aware that this was being done. On a quiet winters day I can understand that this would not be an issue, but on a sunny Bank Holiday.....????

To try and alleviate some of the delay in ordering a "Hog Roast" was being done outside. £5.50 for a pork sandwich, some cole slaw and potato salad, I guess wasn't bad, although there is no way that I would say that it was a large sandwich. We ordered two of these and also a few things from the menu. Admittedly we were "warned" that it would take time for our order to be served, but 1:45 hours after we ordered, even left us wondering what could have taken so long to fry a few Plaice Goujons and some chips?

A separate drinks "Tent" had also been put up in the garden but as far as I could see, that was primarily for the various real ales that the pub serves.

As a few people have already mentioned, prices are a bit on the high side for pub grub. £6.50 for a baked potato and £9-£10 for a burger did make us wonder a bit. On the other hand, I can't emphasize what a lovely place this is to come and sit outside and watch the world go buy on the river. A live blues band added to the great atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinkydinkpinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for a pint was greeted by an obnoxious landlord who's first words we are all full up go away. After we explained we only wanted a drink not food we were ushered to a table and were told it was free until one.

As there was spilt drink on the table my wife used a paper napkin to wipe the table .mr obnoxious grabbed the box of cutlery and napkins and told my wife off as these were for the the next customers. Defiantly should not be in the pub trade or anything to do with customers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Grumpygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walton-On-Thames
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
2.3 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Anchor Hotel
The Anchor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunbury - Kempton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weir Hotel

Property: The Weir Hotel
Address: Waterside Drive, Walton-On-Thames KT12 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Walton-On-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Walton-On-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Weir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Weir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weir Hotel Walton-On-Thames, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing