We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon surprise!”
Review of San Marco - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
San Marco
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Afternoon surprise!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have lived in the area for 4 years and can't believe we never knew San Marco was there. We decided to try it one lunchtime and was very pleased we did. We received a very friendly greeting and was seated on a corner table by a window overlooking the garden which made a great setting for me and my partner. We started with a glass of prosecco while we looked through the menu. It has a wide choice of food that I am sure everyone could find something they liked. I had prawn cocktail which was nice and for main I had the special sea bass which was delicious nice and simple but perfect for a lunch. My partner had the saltimbocca which again was really yummy! We both had such a lovely time and found Marco so friendly and welcoming. I have been recommending this restaurant since then. We had such a lovely lunch and was exactly what we were looking for and will definitely be going back. They have a set menu available as well for £13.50 which is really good value especially for the quality of the food you get. Would really recommend this restaurant for all occasions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oh Dear Marco”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We are regular visitors to this resturant.

However, on a recent visit it was extremely cold inside. we and other diners asked if we could have the heating on but Marco appeared to not be listening. Although our meal was really nice it was spoilt by the artic conditions all radiators were cold and no other means of heating was used which spoilt the whole evening. I undersatnd that times are really hard for resturants etc but treating customers like this will not have them banging on the door to get in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Infraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Italian food at its best”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We are lucky enough to be able to walk to this lovely Italian restaurant. Marco takes pride in his restaurant, which is how real family businesses should be run and knocks spots off all these chain restaurants locally which in fact Walton has loads of and none of them any good!
I enjoyed my starter and main course of goats cheese salad and gnocchi and my husband had a really tender steak.
Marco recommended a lovely bottle of red wine to us which was a fantastic choice.
Atmosphere relaxed and typically Italian. Keep up the good work Marco, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MazSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice local restaurant”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The usual italian menu but with a giant welcome. We always have a lovely evening here. Pasta etc is good, I am not a fan of meat dishes in Italian restaurants with the usual bowl of veg and saute potatoes but the pasta and fish here is always good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We found this place by accident and we were delighted with our meal. The restaurant is beautifully decorated - muted pastel colours with ceiling lighting and lots of large pot plants. It has a view of a garden out the back.The menu has starters - hot and cold -, pasta, meat and fish dishes (no pizza) plus daily specials and a special 2 course lunch and evening menu. My veal was probably the best I have eaten and the swordfish had a lovely sauce. We both had zabaglione for dessert - delicious and obviously made to order as it was warm. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Marco also viewed

Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing