We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plough Inn(Newcastle upon Tyne)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
98
113
56
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
113
56
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgroupon dealpot roastboth nightstrouser presstiny bathroomate hereblack puddingnight staysunday carveryshort breakan evening mealnice roomwarm welcomebreakfasts were excellentscottish borderskeilder water
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Pleasantly surprised by what a great place this is to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, really good food in the evening and at breakfast, and spacious well decorated rooms - what's not to like?
Room 6 is beautifully decorated with a large bathroom and a sofa as well as a king size bed and large telly - just lovely. The locals in the bar are a warm and welcoming bunch and there's so much to do close by you can't go wrong for a weekend here.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the one to go for
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We also arrived Good Friday for the weekend and were allocated Room 3 . From previous reviews I had been anxious but it was in fact lovely. the Shower pod is small and if you were a large person I could see it being difficult. However it was not a problem for us and it was a lovely hot shower. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the food was excellent especially breakfast. We were not disturbed by noise from the bar or traffic. The staff were all delightful. I would definitely stay here again. Its in a very remote area but we prefer this. Great location to explore Kielder and the borders

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just spent a great two nights in a very friendly atmosphere with good staff and very nice rooms. The food was excellent and the service very good. Thank you and we will be back at some time. Would recommend this inn to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Arrived at the Bay Horse on Good Friday evening & was attended to immediately even though the place was busy. We found our twin room compact but spotless, yes we got the bathroom in the cupboard but you have to remember this is a pub not a hotel & any en-suite is better then none at all. But if you are a tall or quite a wide well built person, then I would make sure you have a proper bathroom or you would not get in this one! (lol).
The bar, we found it a bit boring, there was no atmosphere & nothing going on at all even though it was Easter weekend & there is no where else to go with -in walking distance. Its a typical local pub, so if your an outsider that's how you stay.

Didn't have the best sleep because the room was very warm so had the window open, no problem with the noise from the pub but the noise of the traffic which started at 6am. But probably would of been ok with the window closed, so my fault not theirs.

The staff are friendly the food is good, although not a vast choice of menu & a lousy Banoffee Pie. Breakfast is excellent & plenty of it. The place does look a bit dated here & there but everything is spotless! It is in the middle of no where, but there are plenty of places to go & see if you are prepared to travel, or you could just go & get lost in the surrounding countryside which is beautiful.

All in all we had a nice relaxing weekend & would stay again at a push or on another Wowcher deal which we had.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room, but for total comfort room 6 looked very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaclash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The staff are welcoming friendly and helpful. The food especially the breakfast is wholesome and excellent. The premises are clean and the bar in the evening is comfortable with an amiable "country pub" atmosphere and obviously has a strong local patronage. On the first evening (Wednesday) there was noise from the bar that was prevalent in the room, but it stopped at 11.00 pm sharp. It was no more than can be expected, if you choose to stay at a pub or inn. The only issue is that the en suite "bathroom" is a small cubicle containing the toilet, sink and shower. It is like being in a caravan. All in all, though, staying here is a pleasant experience and its situation for the Kielder Forest and Water Park and the Hadrian;s Wall attractions is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toastmaster51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews