We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a one night stay to attend a wedding near by. Excellent value for money and lovely staff. The location is perfect. The surrounding area is beautiful and the scottish border and so much more are not far away.
Will be going back to this very welcoming inn for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Florence2345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stopped when using a voucher deal which gave everything it promised. Having read other reviews I realised that the ensuite shower room was petite and it was, but it functioned well. The only concern was when using it after a short time after it had been used for a shower. Tip: pull back the curtain for more (elbow?!) room.
The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room well decorated. The breakfasts were superb. Meals, including pizzas were availble through out the day. The pizzas were reasonably priced, the other meals a bit on the pricey side, but the B&B deal was very cheap, so understandibly they had to make their money somehow.
Nicely located for touring (not too much to do in the immediate vicinity). I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I together with our Westie dog spent three enjoyable days at the Bay Horse. On arrival we were met by Sarah who made us feel at home at once. She was typical of all the other staff and the owners of the pub who went out of their way to make guests feel welcome. Our room was of a good standard and what one would expect of a coaching inn. It was clean and comfortable with the usual hospitality tray and one or two nice little extras like a trouser press and hair drier.
Breakfasts were of a high quality, nicely served and in a pleasant pub dining room. We also enjoyed two lunches during our stay and the Sunday lunch was very much in demand by both locals and visitors.
The local people who frequented the bar went out of their way to be friendly as did other visitors to the pub. All in all, a very enjoyable experience and we hope to revisit this delightful area in the not too far distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A midweek booking with groupon. We were shown to our room and for the price we paid I was not dissapointed. The 'pod' bathroom is similar to a caravan/areoplane toilet and more than adequate. When I first opened the door there was a slight musty smell which either dissapeared or we got used to it, it wasn't a problem. The room was very warm but again during the mini heatwave there was little that could be done, certainly not the hotels fault.
The breakfast was lovely served between 8 and 9. We had several drinks in the pub during our stay and enjoyed a pizza outside in the sun. On leaving we were asked to pay the bill! This was a surprise as we had paid for everything as we went. The matter was sorted it was due to the barmaid at the time not giving us the receipt and leaving it behind the bar. This said we really enjoyed our stay at West Woodburn. The little post office in the village did the nicest ham and cheese sandwiches I've ever tasted. Nearby Bellingham is well worth a visit and a walk along to Hareshaw Linn ( approx 2 hours) a must.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pammy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal in this beautiful, and rarely visited , part of Northumberland. The location is perfect for walking in the quieter parts of Kielder forest and also for access to the more popular parts of Hadrian's wall. Our room (no7) and large bathroom were very clean and comfortable, although we were caught out as there was no shaver socket in the bathroom. We ate in the bar on the first night and we were surprised at the cost of the food for a basic menu. My husband enjoyed his steak and ale pie but my salmon was very small and bland, followed by a very disappointing bread and butter pudding. The staff are very friendly and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent 2 days at this beautiful inn. Staff very friendly and could not do enough for you. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was absolutely ideal yes small but you can see they have been added to the rooms to make them modern rather than alter the oldness of the rooms. I would much rather have private facilities than have to share which is what you get at this lovely olde world place. The food was wonderful breakfast and dinner the sticky toffee desert is to die for mmmm. I would recommend to anyone as the perfect place to stay and I will defiantly be going back jenny from Thurrock in Essex.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here in July our second visit and it was excellent.Staff couldn't do enough for us from check in till check out they were so helpful.Our room No 6 was perfect,huge comfy bed lovely en-suite,can't fault it in any way.Breakfast was well cooked to order and quickly served.We ate both nights in the bar Menu great choice good selection of wines and again service was great.Locals were friendly and helpful Lyyn was friendly even though a couple of other diners were loud and somewhat rude.We look forward to staying at The Bay Horse again soon .

Room Tip: Try for room 5 or 6 for larger en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfr4449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Horse Inn

Address: West Woodburn NE48 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > West Woodburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Woodburn
Price Range: £68 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Horse Hotel Hexham
Bay Horse Inn West Woodburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing