We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”
Review of Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The room was situated over the bar which of course was very noisy and with a shared bathroom. Afterwards I did check the website which does state that a few of the rooms are above the bar and noisy but I wasnt told I had been allocated such a room when I booked. I thought I had been allocated a different room and with en-suite. The double bed was two single's pushed together and the mattresses were in a bad condition and the springs were sticking into our backs all night!

Tha bar was lovely and the staff/locals friendly. The food was very very poor however and below standard of regular pub food and was vey overpriced for the quality!!! £11-15 for a main is day light robbery.

Breakfast was fine. However, to charge £90 for a night and the cost /quality of the food was disgraceful .

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunflower12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    103
    52
    12
    14
See reviews for
25
193
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Lovely hotel, we were met with a friendly greeting from the young barmaid. The room was clean and spacious. We were in the 4poster room, and had a nosey at the other rooms all were different but equally nice. The atmosphere in the bar was friendly from both locals and staff. Beautiful area with nearest village just 4 miles away. All round good value for money, food lovely would definately stay again. One small critisism is that bar shuts at 11pm no late drink for residents :((

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Stayed overnight on a Saturday, bar got fairly busy mainly locals all friendly. My wife and I ordered meals, her chicken was lovely, however my Gammon was off (out of date). Complained and meal was replaced with an apology from the "chef” but still had to pay for it without any compensation. I feel that would have been the least that could have been offered in the light of a spoilt meal, which meant that both my wife and I ate seperately! The room was ok a bit dated, had the four poster room however the bed was very small. The bathroom was odd to say the least; it was a bit like being in a plastic phone box..!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stayed here for an overnight stop. Paid £90 for bed and breakfast. Feel this was a bit steep but matches how much you would pay anywhere in this area. We took our dog with us and she was welcome in the bar and rooms of the bay horse. they were very accomodating with her.
We ate in the bar and the food was FAB - bit expensive but tasted lovely. Would recommend the lamb shank.
The locals were lovely and very friendly - all stopping to stroke the dog and ask where we were from.
We went on two walks while here. The first about a 4 mile walk around the river and through the local fields etc. The secomd up at kielder (a 15min drive away)

The room was ok. We booked the four poster room however the bed was very small. We had a nose at the other rooms and the best by far was the family room at the other end of the corridor. The bathroom was odd to say the least. It was a bit like being on a ferry - a plastic tardis!
The room was very hot and not agreat night sleep however that might have been the snoring coming from my husband and dog!

Breakfast was lovely - Husband liked the sausages which is an achievement in itself.
Overall a nice day and evening in a local inn!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chem_teacher10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We visited the Bay Horse Inn in West Woodburn for lunch. We ordered haggis with an "award winning whisky sauce" which sounded great, and a burger. The burger was pretty bad and was served with baked beans which was odd but the haggis was so revolting we both felt sick after trying it. It was so fatty and the sauce so bad that we had to leave it.

I travel a lot and have visited many pubs, cafes and restaurants and have never felt compelled to write a review about a place until now. It shows how awful the food was. The only redeeming feature about the place was the open fire.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Over-nighted here, great value. Very helpful and friendly staff. Ate in the dining-room, food hit the spot nicely, extensive menu, with lots of local produce used. Public bar has a very good ale selection, friendly locals, and a great jukebox, but it is still a cosy spot to enjoy a quiet drink. A great find!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zedthou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Woodburn
4.3 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
3.9 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gun Inn
The Gun Inn
#1 of 1 in Ridsdale
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brandy Bank Guest House
Brandy Bank Guest House
#1 of 3 in West Woodburn
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Horse Inn

Property: Bay Horse Inn
Address: West Woodburn NE48 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > West Woodburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Woodburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bay Horse Hotel Hexham
Bay Horse Inn West Woodburn, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing