We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Krugersdorp!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Krugersdorp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bankenveld House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 21 Krugersdorp B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2013

After a bumpy start related to lost bookings and difficulty contacting the owner after arrival, Karen sorted everything out and deserves a full 5 star rating.

This is an absolutely amazing house with very well equipped rooms. There is a great garden to sit in and enjoy a drink as well as a spacious deck from which you can look out over the African landscape. It is close to the Sterkfontein caves and the cradle of humankind. From here you can also do a day trip to the Pilanesburg (Sun City) for some great game drives. If you choose to sit back and relax at the B&B, you can do that also.

The breakfast served was the best from any B&B we have experienced in South Africa. Karen's cooking is up there with some of the best of chefs. Bankenveld is also located close to good dining options for dinner - ask Karen about Tony's grill and spaghetti house which is great.

If you like dogs, then you'll love the 3 resident Dauschunds will make your stay. They aren't noisy or intrusive, just awesome.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank lbizarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Bankenveld House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

Lovely hostess and host, very accommodating. The booking process was professional. The food option was delightful and creative. We enjoyed the breakfast, lunch and supper options which were served in different locations each time. We stayed in the Luxury room, whereby the room gives the name justice. Even though we stay in Johannesburg, this place was easy to get to and allowed us to have a relaxing and peaceful weekend away. Worth every penny and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to go for the Luxury Room which has a lovely porch and view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPK-RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We were warmly welcomed into a very cosy, spacious and quiet house with a nice garden- much space for our children to run around or to take a sun-bath on one of the terraces or at the pool. An extra matrace for the two girls was added to our room. Each breakfast of our 10-days visit we were spoiled differently. There was even freshly baked German bread -just as we're used to in Germany. Our personal taste was of great importance. We experienced very friendly service!

Room Tip: The luxury rooms facing the North-side have a sunny, nice view
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bankenveld, Owner at Bankenveld House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

The Bankenveld House team are so glad to have happy and satisfied guests! We believe this is why enjoy our Bed and Breakfast so much. It was a great pleasure to have Dimitry and his family here with us and we wish them a wonderful stay in South Africa - herzlich willkommen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and me stayed in this wonderful B&B for one night in May 2012. The owners, Karen und Tiene, are most welcoming and pleasant hosts. Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. There is free W-Lan, which we appreciated, because we were traveling with our IPad. The Cradle of humankind, a world-heritage site, is well-worth seeing. The museum at Maropeng as well as the Sterkenfontein Caves are most interesting. Breakfast was very delicious: Eggs, cooked as you like, fresh fruit, jam, cereals, ham, cheese. And Tiene even baked us some fresh bread, which was very, very good and a welcome change to the ever present toast! It was a great stay and we would have loved to spend more than one night at Karen's and Tiene's.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

You couldn't do better if you had booked a suite at a luxury hotel! Then add in a very warm, personal welcome from Karen , Tiene and the dachshunds. Top that off with a delicious home cooked dinner and an enormous fresh and healthy breakfast taken on the stoep.All overlooking the interesting and evolving gardens with the Cradle of Mankind on the horizon. A wonderful and memorable last night in South Africa.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailing-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bankenveld, Owner at Bankenveld House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you so much,for your feedback Rayno! We love what we do and it is so great to hear you are a satisfied and happy guest. We hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We discovered this little gem by accident whilst looking for a place to saty over night after a wedding out in the country. What a wonderful find. Karen added a personal touch that is often lacking in other places. The room was clean and etremely comfortable with all the luxurious extras including a jacuzzi bath, filter cofee maker, egyptian cotton bedding and a country breakfast fit for a king.

Room Tip: At only R100 more, it is well worth it to request a luxury room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaKillops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

If you want to discover what South Africa holds for its visitors go to Bankenveld House. You'll find a beautiful landscape, a home that embodies the traditional and very modern South Africa, healthy meals you won't find in restaurant, and this very special couple who in addition to their wonderful hospitality will share with you enlightened insiders' views of the country. Don't worry about the place being a little bit out of town: Karen and Tiene will find you nice and affordable touring and shuttle services. I should stop there otherwise some may think this is written as an advertisement. No, let me add one last piece: prices are more than fair.

Room Tip: Rooms for all tastes
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solointana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krugersdorp hotels
0.0 mi away
African Sky Guesthouse B&B
African Sky Guesthouse B&B
#1 of 21 in Krugersdorp
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aviators Retreat B&B
Aviators Retreat B&B
#11 of 21 in Krugersdorp
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rabbit Hole Hotel
The Rabbit Hole Hotel
#2 of 21 in Krugersdorp
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No8 Guest House & Serviced Apartments
0.0 mi away
Gute Nacht Guest House
Gute Nacht Guest House
#10 of 21 in Krugersdorp
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Loft Guest House
The Loft Guest House
#9 of 21 in Krugersdorp
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankenveld House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankenveld House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Michael Road | Chancliff, Krugersdorp 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Krugersdorp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Krugersdorp
Price Range: £32 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankenveld House is a family-style bed and breakfast situated in Krugersdorp near Lanseria Airport and the Cradle of Humankind. Four luxurious en suite bedrooms with beautiful leisure areas and peaceful aloe-garden where the singing of sunbirds, barbets and Grey Louries and stunning view entice and invigorate visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bankenveld House Bed & Breakfast Krugersdorp, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing