We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rabbit Hole Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Krugersdorp B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We visited the Rabbit Hole in May. It was cold. The place was quirky, in an artistic sort of way - old 33 rpm records as place mats, keys as art, chairs as art, bottles as art. It is contained within high walls, pleasant garden, arty pieces everywhere, lots of trees, a number of rooms, some overlooking a pond in the garden. (The owner is the artist.) The rooms were excellent, almost like the best spare rooms in the house of a favourite house-proud aunt! And they had heating. Not merely gas stoves, but hot water bottles as well. The provisioning of the bathrooms, soap shampoo etc, was hotel standard. But it was the breakfast that astonished. Included in the price of the room one rarely expects too much, but this was way beyond good, it was outstanding. The buffet of fruit juices, fruit, cereals, and breads was extensive, and fresh. The cooked breakfast, English style, was cooked to order, presented impeccably, and made from the finest ingredients. The cappuccino, made by the son of the house, was fresh and delicious. I have never felt so pampered. There were six in our party, varying ages, and everyone gave it full marks. It is also well located, easy to find - GPS know it - and there is a large modern shopping centre and restaurant complex five minutes down the road. (With a good Spur, loved by children!)

Room Tip: Those overlooking the decorative pool are prime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

One of the best guest-houses that I have ever stayed in. The food was great, and the services and friendliness of everybody was amazing. I loved the artistic feel to the place, and finding unusual things everywhere that I looked. It was truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed at the Rabbit Hole Guest house for two weeks and absolutely loved it. The Guest house is run by a mother and daughter, Esma and Rothea who are artists. Every corner you turn, has a quirky statue or piece of art, many of the walls have mosaics, the garden is charming and peaceful. I travelled with my 27 year old son, we were visiting family, but wanted somewhere which was safe and central for easy trips to Johannesburg, Game reserves, the Cradle of Humankind and Sun City etc. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, very clean and there is an excellent free wifi facility in the rooms. The owners are delightful and couldn't have been more helpful, neither could the staff who are all very cheerful. I would describe the place as warm and easy going, but professional. Breakfast was so copious, we missed out on lunch and didn't need to eat again until dinner. There is a resident hen called Henrietta who is very friendly and comes to visit the patios outside the bedrooms. There is a large shopping Mall very nearby, with shops, bars and restaurants, the Guest House is very central to the town in a nice residential area. This is a place full of character and very homely, perfect for people who want to stay somewhere where they are treated as individuals, not anonymous guests in a large chain hotel. For those of us from Europe who are a bit concerned about safety in South Africa, it is perfect. We rented a car from Budget in Krugersdorp which was delivered to the Guest house, plus a GPS so we didn't get lost. Driving around is very easy and the roads are excellent. We went the Apartheid museum in Johannesburg which is an amazing experience, just opposite the museum is Gold Reef City an amusement park with a gold mine you can visit. There is no shortage of things to do, whilst staying at the Rabbit Hole. We loved our stay, would certainly go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zi Nr. 10, als FamZI. geeignet, . Ruhig mit Ausg. zum Garten! Zi Nr 6: DZ dir. am Eing., kl. Terrass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank judithdobrawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ottischorschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hair1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank deRumtreiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krugersdorp
17.2 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
15.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
4.5 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
473 reviews
3.2 mi away
African Sky Guesthouse B&B
African Sky Guesthouse B&B
#1 of 21 in Krugersdorp
42 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Crystal Rose Lodge & Spa
The Crystal Rose Lodge & Spa
#1 of 11 in Krugersdorp
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rabbit Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rabbit Hole Hotel

Address: 33 Viljoen Street | Krugersdorp North, Krugersdorp 1739, South Africa (Formerly Rabbit Hole Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Krugersdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Krugersdorp
Price Range: £59 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rabbit Hole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rabbit Hole is a favourite of many business travelers and also to tourists exploring the many attractions in the nearby Cradle of Humankind.The Rabbit Hole Hotel offers 16 unique en-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your The Rabbit Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rabbit Hole Hotel Krugersdorp, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing